We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and convenient place to stay”
Review of Babylon Bangkok

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Babylon Bangkok
Ranked #89 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you are planning to spend much time at the Babylon complex it makes sense to stay at the hotel. I booked a room (forgot which category) which was a little on the small size. Actually no place to put a suitcase. I had trouble with the card key and the hotel upgraded me to a much nicer (and larger) room. The settings are comfortable, the breakfast is nice and an opportunity to meet and chat with fellow travelers. The service is generally good, although during the holidays the staff can get somewhat busy and can be overextended by need farang such as yours truly. I would certainly consider staying there again.

Room Tip: I think the "deluxe" rooms are a bit small and you might be better off with the barracks i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 345 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

On the advice of a friend and after receiving a brochure of this facility, I was assured it was a first class B&B as well as a bath house but staying in the garden should be my choice, I did this for 9 days and found it very bad and little about it was enjoyable.Upon check inn no info on the facility. After finding our suite, there was no room directory of services or map of property. To enter the main 7 story bldg, you had to obtain a pass, then a locker and key with towels and only one visit per day allowed free. It was beautifully decorated with statues and art, but it ends there. A great fitness center and pool, but not open till after noon. The "Fine Dinning" in the brochure was a pool side dinning room only serving dinner where guests were in towel only. We were the only ones dressed. There is no menu, rather you point to one of several items on display. One visit to deliver your order and the fine dinning is over. Of the 70 advertized rooms, all but 13 are in the bath house and are about sex only.Finding a nearby store or restaurant is a five block walk in high heat. If your about bathhouses,a great review,if about a B&B stay elsewhere.No hotel billing is permitted if you eat or drink, cash only! Suggestions to treat hotel guests better fall on deff ears. Mgt looked like a 12 year old and told me they were not a 5 star hotel, but they are not even a 2 star hotel.The TV had only one english HBO channel that was not often available, plus CNNor BBC.The beautiful garden was closed to guests 24/7. Guests were there for sex, not friendship or conversation.

Room Tip: If you want a hotel with reasonablly good service and ammenities, don't stay here! If you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MelPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Nobody booking to stay here will be under any doubt about the demographics of the clientele. So Babylon should be judged against other over-priced gay hotels rather than other Bangkok hotels. All gay hotels are over-priced. It's what you pay for your ghetto.

So, as a hotel it's mid-range. Great, friendly, staff (at least they were to me but then I smile a lot and am friendly towards them). Rooms are nicely furnished with quality furniture. The mini-bar is well stocked and reasonably priced. Free tea/coffee just outside. I stayed in a garden room which didn't have much to do with the out-of-bounds garden but did have its own en-suite. The barracks rooms share showers.

All the hotel facilities like the swimming pool, masseurs, restaurant etc. lie behind the entrance to the extensive men's health spa which is open to outside paying guests and is where most of the hotel photos are taken. Entrance is free for hotel residents.

Wifi was weak in my room at the end of the garden and the communal buffet breakfast was fine but only fine. Omelets and thai curry were the main highlights. Oddly, the coffee from the machine was an additional charge. I don't know why they bother doing that.

So, good staff, decent quality, over-priced for Bangkok but all gay hotels are, and - as someone else has pointed out - the main attraction lies around the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Everyone was so friendly! Thai smiles everyehere. I stayed in their basic barrack type room. Even though it was really basic-no t.v, fridge, I still had a good time. If I stay there again, I'll probably splurge for one of their suites which are ten times better.

Room Tip: Enjoy the community style breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank U99A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed two night 3 days at Babylon. Took a barrack room with two beds. The beds are good and internet is good too. It is fun staying here and cruising around in the common areas. If you want a good sleep it is quite difficult as one is distracted, feeling always on the hunt... A mix of clientel from young fit to older. Communal breakfast tables are a fun way to make friends and the complimentary entry to babylon pool, gym and sauna is probably one of the main reasons you would stay there.
Location wise you always need to take a taxi or a motortaxi unless you are prepared to always do the 15 minute walk to the main shopping area and metro station. You can get a much nicer hotel for the same price in BKK but then you are not really coming here for the nice hotel, you are coming here for the action! If you especially like asian boys then you will love it here although there is a nice mix of nationalities for everyones tastes.

Room Tip: I have room 506 and it was near the bathroom:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sbobwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at BVLGARI Garden Suite. the surrounding of this hotel the gardens, the pool area were amazing. the room itself was slightly small but ok but the lounge area and ther garden made up for it. The bathroom looked tired and for the prices they charged per room it could have been in a better shape. the wifi was to a good standard. the pool area was good and clean. the staff were lazy and were on there phones instead of looking out for there customers!! again we found the staff ignoring there customers at the restaurant, reception, and the sauna. the breakfast area and breakfast itself was ok nothing of a wow factor the website of the hotel that it makes it out to be. Like previous reviews i would agree there is only one thing this hotel has got going for itself and that is the sauna and the reason why people come. myself i would rather stay at another hotel where i will be treated well, will get more for my bhat and just come here for the sauna but not stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank t a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Poor experience. Staff are lazy and not interested.

This place is more about the sauna and less about looking after their guests.

Didn't respond to emails in timely manner and didn't send my airport transfer as requested.

Expensive rooms have hair dryers but no irons and fittings are looking tired and worn.

Avoid

Room Tip: Don't expect great service from hotel staff. The massages and day spa are best thing about this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank nomadman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Malaysia Hotel
Malaysia Hotel
#396 of 890 in Bangkok
298 reviews
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
#227 of 890 in Bangkok
1,269 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#15 of 890 in Bangkok
4,443 reviews
Silom
Furama Silom
Furama Silom
#229 of 890 in Bangkok
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babylon Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babylon Bangkok

Address: 34 Soi Nandha, South Sathon RoadSoi 1, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3 star — Babylon Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Babylon Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing