We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Small island located middle Choa Phra Ya River”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Koh Kred

Koh Kred
Book In Advance
More Info
$165.20*
and up
Koh Kred Nonthaburi Tour from Bangkok
Ranked #105 of 530 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Small island located middle Choa Phra Ya River”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Ko Kred or Kred Island is a small island located in the middle
of Choa Phra Ya River, Nonthaburi Province ..not far from Bangkok

You can go by river boat or road it take 1-2 hrs from Bangkok.

I

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roundshadyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    81
    31
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
217 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Visit here if you have no other plans.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I went to Koh Kred in March, The weather was so hot that I had to return to pier. Perhaps it was the wrong time to visit this little island in Chao Phraya river outside Bangkok. It would be more fun if you plan to go in late July - January, then you would get the full benefits to enjoy here. otherwise it gets very hot. It's very easy to get to Koh Kred, its situated in Nonthaburi province and the easiest way going there is by a boat. Take a boat with orange flag and drop at Nonthaburi pier.( It should take your around 50 minutes to get there. then if you can take an other long tail boat if your pocket allows you. the long tail boat would cost you more than 1500 baht, it would take you many places around Koh Kred, but I don't support this idea.

So, instead I took a bus from outside pier and you can request anyone there to let you know which bus goes to pier to Koh Kred, then you can get to the bus and the bus would drop you at the last bus stop, from there you can hire a motorcycle taxi, don't pay more than 10 baht to take you to the pier. there a boat would be wait for the passengers to take them across the river, don't pay on the boat, once you get off the boat on the other side, then you have to pay just 4 baht ( at least I had to pay 4 baht at that time).

There you are, no you can walk around, you can hire a bicycle but we didn't as it was very hot at time. there are many temples and shops.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Baloch101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice trip out of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Would recommend you go there earlier in the day as the island gets very warm. You get to experience all sorts of local transport to reach Koh Kret. Take an orange boat to N30 Nonthaburi (15 THB). Taxi to Koh Kret pier ( 105 THB) , small boat to go across the island (2 THB) . We didn't hire a bicycle ( 40 THB) but chose to walk instead. On the way out, we rode motorcycle pillion ( 10 THB) to the main road. Crossed the main road and waited for Bus 32 . Turned out to be free ( Thais get to ride for free but tourists may be charged . In our case, there was no bus conductor on board ). Bus 32 stops on a main road which you cross and walk all the down to Nonthaburi Pier. Along the way, lots of foodstuff on sale which were cheaper than Bangkok city. Overall, it was a very interesting experience for a day in the life. The island itself is quite small and the Mon pottery factory was fairly interesting with a 100 year old kiln. We were there on a weekday ( thursday) and most of the shops on the island were closed - which suited us fine though. Nice, quiet and peaceful. On weekends ( Fri-Sun) , there would be more activity. Everybody on the island were very friendly and we enjoyed our trip there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eeky888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
219 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“It isn't worth the trouble to get there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

First of all : how to go to Koh Kred ? I took the orange flag boat to Nontaburi (last stop) 15 THB. At Nontaburi pier, I took a taxi to the temple Wat Sanam Neua (I asked a Thai to write the temple name in thai for the taxi driver). It cost me 100 THB. The pier is behind the temple, you pay the crosssing (2 THB) when you arrive in Koh Kred.
I rent a bike to visit the island. It is a pleasant ride during week days. But during week ends, this pleasant ride can turn into a nightmare. 2 km before returning to the pier, you arrive in a crowded market with no way to escape. So you spend 1 hour or more to go through this crowded market. By the way, it is not interesting at all and far away from the pottery industry.
I advise you to go there on week days, avoid week ends and bank holidays.
The island in itself is not exceptional and that isn't worth the trouble to get there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hikingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice get a way place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a nice get away from Bangkok place. It's better if you rent a bicycle to ride around the island. The island has more Thai tourist than non-Thai.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Q_Norachaipeerapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh Kred also viewed

 

Been to Koh Kred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing