We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:45 AM - 1:00 PM, 1:30 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Brilliant! If you want to do a cooking course in Bangkok pick this one.

A fantastic morning spent at a local market in Bangkok, followed by cooking and eating some... read more

Reviewed October 25, 2022
rebeccat616
,
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
via mobile
I am now a Thai chef!

Such a fun day! Chef Joe reviewed each recipe, demonstrated preparation so we could each taste and... read more

Reviewed September 8, 2022
Macoretta2018
,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 254 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bangkok
from $71.33
More Info
from $36.58
More Info
from $34.24
More Info
from $28.53
More Info
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
162
61
17
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
162
61
17
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local market market tour prep kitchen cooking course thai chef dish
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 254 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

Not a class.

Im so sorry that I would need to give one star. Blue elephant is a famous restaurant that I have been. It has always been in my pocket list that I wanna learn how to cook Thai food at Blue elephant.

Things that I didnt like:
To be fair that this is my 5th times doing cooking class and Blue Elephant is double of the price compared to the others. I was expecting more.

I did the afternoon class with 4 dishes.
Eggplant salad:
They grilled the eggplant for us already, so we were just cutting the herb and put them together...
Beef in green curry:
Now, “curry paste” is always the “do it yourself” part at other Thai cooking classes.
At blue elephant, they provided us the pre-made Green curry paste that made by them...
Grilled fish:
Teacher prepared the sauce for us already, again we were just chopping herbs and assembled the fish and foil and the leaf together. If you know how to build lego, you can do it.
And again, they grill the fish for us.

I would agree if this is called “Thai cooking look and cut class”.
Very disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank Selinang39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
naamwaan, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Elephant Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

We are very concerned by your message, which departs from most of the feedback we get on TripAdvisor. Our goal is to let students take part in a real cuisine workshop.

And most do—whether they themselves are chefs at another restaurant in Thailand or elsewhere in the world—alongside our clients who want to partake in our culinary expertise.
We checked with our Cooking School chefs and learned that there was some miscommunication on the day you came.

We sometimes have different requests from Cooking School students. On very rare occasions, our students may have a busy schedule seeing the sights and want an accelerated course. Others feel they are not up to the tasks of preparing each ingredient in a dish.
In both cases, the school’s Chef designs the course according to their needs. This situation is however quite atypical and clearly did not meet your expectations

We are not certain why our Chef did not understand this in your case and are very sorry. We would be very pleased to see you again and offer you a new Blue Elephant cooking class in Bangkok or Phuket.

Please make an appointment for your free class, referring to this message by writing to Cooking.school@blueelephant.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019

My girlfriend and I spent three weeks in Thailand, and were originally planning on taking a Thai Cooking course in Chiang Mai but it didn't pan out. So before flying into Phuket my girlfriend found and booked with Blue Elephant Phuket, I can honestly say I'm glad she did! It was such a fun learning experience and Chef / Instructor Molly and Chef / Instructor Noppanun were wonderful hosts, along with the rest of the staff assisting with the class!

We did the morning class, which made a trip to the local markets to pick up some of the ingredients for the dishes we'd be making. Chef Molly gave us an awesome run down of each ingredient, explained the differences in the basil used, showed us an immense about the various and all with a hilarious wit and fun attitude!

After the market we headed back to class, we sampled the various fruits and other Thai dessert goodies we had picked up from the market. Chef Molly began the class by making red curry paste and a fish souffle (Thai HOT!) then you head off into the kitchen adjacent to the classroom to attempt your hand at the dish she made.

Overall if you're a foodie and aspiring chef (even if you're not) this is a great experience with a fun staff and the food is delicious (as long as you make it so! ;))

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank cinteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
naamwaan, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Elephant Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2019

It's so good to read you're very happy your friend signed you up for the Blue Elephant cooking class in Phuket.
Our leaders Molly and Nopparun also appreciated your presence.

Visiting the local market is an important part of the program. Especially so that our chefs can give you an overview of each ingredient.

And yes, our Chefs have humour and like to see you smile.
Practice is the most important here but also a good mood. Essential ingredients for the success of the recipes of our Master Chef Nooror.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019

We did a morning class with market tour. At first, we were concerned, as it looked like quite a few people were to be in our class. We were not sure how the experience would be - if there would be enough cooking stations, etc. We started with a market tour - very informative and really liked seeing the preparation of curry pastes. When back at the Blue Elephant for "class" we started in a classroom with a cooking demonstration and ingredients explanation by the Chef. It was great - prepared us well for our move into the cooking area where we each had our own station to make each dish. The staff was attentive and helpful as we made our way through each course. Each time, you went back into the classroom for overview and demo. Then, into the kitchen to cook each course. It was a great way to spend a day - the highlight of our time in Bangkok!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
naamwaan, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Elephant Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2019

Thank you for stating: "The highlight of our stay in Bangkok ... Most Organized Cooking Class We've Ever Taken"

Yes, our Master Chef Nooror likes the best organization in her restaurant and cooking school ..
We all at Blue Elephant love the creativity and recipes of Master Chef Nooror!
Probably one of the reasons why our restaurant and the cooking school have an excellent reputation.

The cooking school of Blue Elephant is just opposite the BTS Surasak station and occupies a whole floor of our building that is more than a century old.
A large space that allows everyone to comfortably take the theoretical classes and then easily move to practice with the Chef in the specially equipped kitchen.

The cooking school is open 7 days a week.
For each course 4 to 5 recipes and dishes are prepared.
The program is different every day, so some of our students sign up for several classes in order to learn more about Thai cuisine and perfect their techniques.

At the end of the course you will receive a selection of Blue Elephant products including our curry paste.
Our staff is very attentive to guide you during the whole course, we know you very much like Thai cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018

We booked this class on Cookly along with other classes in Bangkok. We liked the extras like the apron and cookbook. We also bought some blue elephant ingredients.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank gilda335
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pierre S, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Elephant Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Master Chef Nooror likes the best organization in her restaurant and cooking school .. We all at Blue Elephant love the creativity and recipes of Master Chef Nooror! Probably one of the reasons why our restaurant and the cooking school have an excellent reputation. The cooking school of Blue Elephant is just opposite the BTS Surasak station and occupies a whole floor of our building that is more than a century old. A large space that allows everyone to comfortably take the theoretical classes and then easily move to practice with the Chef in the specially equipped kitchen. The cooking school is open 7 days a week. For each course 4 to 5 recipes and dishes are prepared. The program is different every day, so some of our students sign up for several classes in order to learn more about Thai cuisine and perfect their techniques. At the end of the course you will receive a selection of Blue Elephant products including our curry paste. Our staff is very attentive to guide you during the whole course, we know you very much like Thai cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

The class is very affordable and comes with goodies: Blue elephant apron, recipes, tote.

You start the class with a tour of the market where you learn and gain an appreciation for the ingredients used in Thai food. We were also able to try Thai coffee while walking around.

Once you get back, the demos start - we made 4 courses. There are people in there helping you along the way and everything is out and ready for you to go. The chefs are knowledgeable and funny!

There is a certificate “ceremony” at the end of class and then you walk down and enjoy all of the food you make. They have the whole table set with all of your food at your “section”

What an amazing experience!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews