We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Ranked #135 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in Somerset Lake Point in December 2012. Before we saw the place we had an impression that the hotel is an average place to stay. We booked at the last moment and after reaching there we changed our perception totally. It’s a very nice hotel in the heart of Bangkok, near Asok BTS station. Terminal 21 is at the walk-able distance. Hotel is very neat and clean, staff is very polite and helpful. The room was exceptionally large with all amenities that you can think of. Best part is it has a kitchenette allows you to cook ur own food if u are bored of eating outside. Offers a free Tuk-Tuk ride till BTS station. We stayed at 11th floor and the view from there was eye catching. You can see the beautiful sky line of Bangkok. They arranged for a cab at 3am for us. I will surely recommend this place to all those who are looking for a well-connected place in a medium range. Thumbs-up to the place.

Room Tip: rooms on pool side has a better view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aquarian_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Aquarian_India,

Greetings from Somerset Lake Point Bangkok!

We wish to thank you for your recent patronage and the feedback.

We are delighted to note that our facilities and services met your expectation. We will certainly convey your impression to our staff concerned. Your positive feedback will certainly encourage everyone to go the extra mile in serving our residents better.

Once again, thank you for making Someset Lake Point Bangkok as your preferred accomodation choice. We looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
There are newer reviews for Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 955 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family spent five days at this hotel and in general our stay was satisfactory. The location is good away from the immediate Bangkok crowd yet close. It is a walking distance from a big Mall (Terminal 21) and to the sky train. The hotel also provides a tuk tuk to take you to the intersection close to the station (10 min walk). The staff were very nice and helpful at all times. The apartment we got had a washer and dryer which is very handy on long vacations. It also had plates and things you need at home. The only problem was the rooms tok small. The bed were comfortable but one side is at the wall so I had to crawl in to get to my side of bed. That was a problem but we lived with it since every thing else was ok. The Internet was excellent very fast and hook up to 3 devices at one time. They also have 2 pools which my kids enjoyed. In general it was a good stay for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Falsaqri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Falsaqri,

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, we look forward
to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was okay for the price. The location was so so. I was hard to find a taxi to drive us to and from the hotel because of the heavy trafic in the area. The hotel is 15 mins walk from Asoke bts, but it's not a nice walk as there are so many cars in the soi and the "sidewalk" is not the best. The hotel has free shuttle to the bts, we only used it 2 times and had to wait 15 mins for it. We didn't like the staff of the hotel, they weren't directly rude or anything, but they never greated us or smile at us, we just never really feel welcomed during the 7 nights we were there. The only good thing about the hotel is the roomsize and the cleanliness of the room. Would properly not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear beaim,

We are deeply concerned that you encountered anything but a professional and courteous attitude from our employees. Our training programmes in all departments strongly emphasize a friendly, accommodating attitude from all of our employees.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We used their 3 rooms apartment, that includes a large living room, a well equipped kitchen, and even a laundry machine and a dryer. Excellent for big families. Clean and in a central yet silent location. Helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast and nice pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexrapoport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Alexrapoport,

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Thank you for your valued patronage, and we are now looking forward to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A group of us (4) had booked a double bedroom apartment. After a week of travelling around Thailand and staying in cheaper accommodation, this was meant to be our treat and we were looking forward to some luxury. As we were all travelling from different places, our arrivals were scattered. Our first friend to arrive was asked for her credit card in order to secure the room which is pretty standard I would say.

During our stay we had a good time. The hotel was well situated, the transport links were good and there was a shuttle service which ferried us around to the station and even to a local restaurant.

Breakfast was good, rooms had a good size, there was a washing machine and our living room area was lovely. Overall, we had a pretty good stay.

It all went downhill at check out. As we were leaving, we split the bill in 4 with some paying cash others paying card.

My friend who had given her card as deposit was unable to use her card for the entire trip and had to borrow money to do things (including paying the hotel bill).

When she eventually called her bank, she was told that her card had been blocked due to fraudulent transactions. The hotel had scanned her card 5 times for the full bill amount over 2 different days! This despite them knowing that we were paying at the end of our stay. As the bank noticed the unusual activity they blocked her card hence why she was unable to use it.

This is terrible. I would not give me card anywhere but you expect a 4* hotel front desk to be safe. Because of this obvious attempt to fraudulently use our card, I cannot give this hotel a good review despite an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Keyz,

Please allow us to clarify that the authrization amount was not an actual sale transaction but rather, instructions to the bank to hold that same amount from your credit limit. This is done as a form of payment guarantee. Upon check-out or payment of your stay, the cost of your stay will then be transacted as a sale against this “bank-held” amount. Any excess will then be restored to your credit limit. We would like to highlight that most banks require approximately two weeks to restore the difference in amount to your credit card limit. You may wish to confirm the actual period taken with your processing bank as the time taken differs between banks.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This property is by far one of the best in the heart of Bangkok at Soi16, Sukhumvit....Both types of metro connectivity is avl nearby and till that point the tuk-tuk of the hotel drops you. Being centrally located the cabs are easy to get and the fare is very nominal...prices are little higher but the commuting charges compensate for the same.. the rooms are good and well kept..wee took the 2 bedroom and it was well equipped and well maintained.. the staff is very jelpful and cheerful...GREAT PLACE TO BE At...I would love to go back for a comfortable stay..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preetman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear preetman9,

We are glad to hear compliments of our staff members at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok. Your kind words will be shared with the Residence Manager. Receiving such feedback from residents like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Somerset Lake Point Hotel in Bangkok was a complete surprise after being on the road for 3 months in SE Asia. It was perfect for us and the best hotel as travelers we have stayed in.
The reception on arrival was efficient, informative and friendly. The room was a winner with a super king, SOFT bed and pillows. The kitchenette was the king hit with everything one could want. Everything was there including a clothes washing machine, ironing board and iron and a small standing deck to watch the world go by.
All the staff were always super helpful and the room and hotel were always spotlessly clean. The free tuk tuk to the sky train and metro was a great help. Being slightly away from the inner city towers and shopping blocks was a winner for us as were the 2 mini marts, one where you could get very good meals.
The breakfasts were fabulous and the staff became almost like family. We were originally only booked there for 4 nights as we thought we would check out other accommodation. However we were so happy with the hotel we stayed there the full 17 days we were in Bangkok. Extension was not a problem and at the same ridiculously cheap price we had at the beginning.The gym and generous 2 swimming pool were gratefully received as this the 1st hotel that did it properly with towels, showers, sauna etc.
This hotel chain has "got it right" and we highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying there when we return for 2 weeks next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Koutu,

Thank you very much for your compliment. Your heartfelt words nspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that residents have come to expect.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Legacy Suites Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#57 of 880 in Bangkok
1,504 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#15 of 880 in Bangkok
1,369 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Lake Point Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Lake Point Bangkok

Address: 41 Sukhumvit Soi 16, Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#118 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $61 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Lake Point Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bangkok’s Central Business District as you live in style by the lake view, a getaway at Somerset Lake Point will be sure to rejuvenate you. A selection of popular shopping complexes and fine restaurants await you, just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Lake Point Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Lake Point Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing