We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PETs are NOT allowed in that Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ranked #115 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PETs are NOT allowed in that Hotel!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Even if you find that hotel (Ascott) in a list of "pet-friendly-hotels" (i.e. tripadvisor) it is a mistake!
We have a small dog and when we travel, we want to be sure that we are allowed to bring our dog with us. So we use to call the place we intend to stay in advance and ask whether the hotel is a pet-friendly one.
The Hotel "Ascott Sathorn Bangkok" clearly informed us: "Sorry, Pets are NOT allowed in that hotel!" In that case we know and that's OK!
Generally, there are NOT a lot of hotels in Bangkok that allow pets, and even if they allow pets or if they call themselves "pet friendly", you need to be very pre-cautious, because this "pet-friendliness" might be an excuse to charge money (far too much) for your pet and instead to be "pet-friendly", they just endure pets but don't like them at all.
Unfortunately we mainly made bad experiences concerning so-called "pet-friendly" hotels in Bangkok.
Actually only a few of the expensive hotels (>USD 200/day) located in Bangkok really like and know to offer a hospitable stay to guests with a pet, most of the other ones just rip you off!
i.e. as Middle- or North-European or as American, you should NOT expect the Thai-people to share your approach or attitude towards pets, as only a few of them share your position.
But you should know, the KING (Poumipon) loves the dogs and asks the people to develop a pet-friendly attitude.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AstyJoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    313
    80
    22
    13
See reviews for
218
107
53
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

my first stay at the hotel. with the value price I found the hotel better than expected. Room is big with cooking ware, microwave, and even washing machine with detergent. DVD with Sony speaker equipped, very spacious. However the hotel hardware started to show its age.
The service is good. But the front desk didn't know what to do when I asked him to find a taxi who can provide me receipt so I can report travel expense (just go to street and ask! it's not so hard!)
Breakfast is ok but venue is good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zlee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Whenever I visited Bangkok for holiday, I selected this hotel without hesitate for past 5 years. Having one of the best fitness club in the city, renowned spa named Green Leaf in the same building, fantastic swimming pool, well equipped room, quiet location and exceptional services like Khun Patty of guest service manager and Khun Pa in charge of egg services in the breakfast buffet restaurant are main reasons of my selection. They always show best services with their unbelievable memory about my past behavior.

Room Tip: Better to avoid smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregoryChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Ascott chain is an established one and we booked a 2 room executive apartment at this property which sits smack on Sathorn Road as they had a very special offer going on. In the holiday apartment industry the Ascott group perhaps stands as one of the top ones.

The 2 room executive apartment was fully and tastely furnished and clean (with lots of storage space for long stays), even though I reckoned that a refurbishment would be required in the near future. We had at least 1,200 sq feet of living pace with a fully equipped kitchen and washing machine and dryer and a balcony. The living room/lounge space was ample and came with a working desk and dining table. Each bedroom had its own bathroom which was well appointed, including L'Occitane toiletries - my favourite.

The salt water pool was adequate in size for my laps and had a great view. There was a jacuzzi located next to the pool and both were well maintained.

The staff at reception and at all levels were very professional and efficient.
In particular I tried to test the knowledge of the concierge known to me as Tim and he really seemed to know what was going on and where and when given a number of tasks, he got them done promptly and efficiently.

Being located on Sathorn, there was no problem in getting a taxi except perhaps during rush hour. The property is also about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the nearest MRT station.

The buffet breakfast which was included in our package is the best so far that we have had, within the hotel apartment category of properties. The quality of the food was high, fresh and tasty.

Yuet Mei, my cousin was pleasant surprised one evening when they brought up a birthday cake and a little teddy bear to celebrate her birthday.

On departure I remarked that the Ascott Sathorn polo t shirts that were worn by some of the staff looked really smart and that I wanted to purchase one. I was told that the shirts were only for staff and that they were not available to guests. About three weeks later after reaching home, a package arrived for me and in it was an Ascott Sathorn polo t shirt in the right size just for yours truly.

Ascott Sathorn…Bravo!

Room Tip: Once again take the highest floor possible for a great view and for max quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

feel like home @ Ascott Sathorn Bangkok. The MRT station is nearby and quite convinient for the customers. Food, massage and night street is available just a station away. In fact this is a first time i stay hotel plenty of facilities,such as microwave, washing machine, iron, bread toaster, banana fruit, fridge, tv, cooking facilities (full set). Plus the hotel do have gym, swimming pool and spa. Food for room services are extremely cheap.

Room Tip: choose a nice MRT view head to West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charzhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have been guest for the past 8 years and have seen bars/restaurants and staff come and go. Personally, some of the best staff, who actually had that personal touch are now gone.

I think personally it is the use of Cascade Club gym, although the constant preening and self-image-in-the-mirror stares are a bit much, although the wonderful massages at the Green Leaf Spa are a positive that bring us back.

The rooms are getting tired and fixtures are starting show there age, with the old box TV's pretty hilarious.

I have to also agree with previous Trip Advisor comments about service at the pool. You really do have to seriously launch a missile into the Aldo restaurant to get service.

The prices for Ascott are starting to rise which astonishes me and I must admit maybe this is the last year we stay with them as they never seem to recognise returning guests nor seem to value maintaining or updating the apartments.

Ascott is truly a lovely place and great for business travellers, I just wish management would get their game together and start looking at what their long term guests are saying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaL26Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Do not stay. Just don't try to stay. One of the worst choice of SEA region. Bad staff, hotel too hot. Unfriendly not at all kid baby friendly place. I mistakenly book it for 1monthly. Totally bad option to choose.
Baby suffered from fever and vomit. Hotel staff too uncooperative to change rooom. All 3room west sun from 12-6 burning hot full day
Instead giving weird suggestion

Staff don't even apologize and cooperate never care to ask how it's going

No refilling of toiletries not even earbuds. no utensil cleaning,dirty housekeeping. Everyone looking for extra top all the staff

All in all don't waste money try something better. Not refunding money so no option but to stay

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shefali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Siri Sathorn Executive Serviced Residence
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Somerset Park Suanplu
Somerset Park Suanplu
#149 of 867 in Bangkok
704 reviews
Sukhumvit
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
#128 of 867 in Bangkok
936 reviews
Silom
Bandara Suites Silom, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Sathorn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Sathorn Bangkok

Property: Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Address: 187 South Sathorn Road, Yannawa | Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#71 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#102 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#110 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Sathorn Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a perfect getaway at Bangkok's most luxurious residence in an ideal location next to the famous Silom and Sukhumvit roads. Ascott Sathorn Bangkok offers luxurious and spacious private apartments filled with comprehensive amenities and impeccable services to pamper you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascott Sathorn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Ascott Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing