We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good-size room but Services can be Improved.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ranked #106 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good-size room but Services can be Improved.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband had booked a 1-bedroom apartment via the hotel's website. However, upon check-in, there was no record of our booking. The staff offered us the remaining available 1-bedroom apartment which was on the 3rd Floor and showed me the room which I found to be un-suitable. THE FRONT DESK STAFF DID NOT OFFER ANY ALTERNATIVE. I had to ask if they were fully booked for all room types. It was then they advised us that they had both studio and 1-bedroom premier rooms available. Rudy highly recommended their 1-bedroom premier room on the 4th Floor which has a balcony. It turned out to be a very good recommendation at minimal increased price.

We took the Kris Flyer PPS member promotion which came with a welcome fruit basket. Rudy confirmed this and said she would arrange for it to be sent to our room. This was on Thursday, 14 March, around 2.30pm. We finally received it on Friday afternoon after repeated reminders.. 3 bananas!!

I suspect the carpet and/or sofa at the living room area might have been dust-mite invested. I sat on the single sofa for about half an hour and both my legs (from below the knees to the ankle) had itchy rashes. I never went near that sofa nor carpet again during our stay and no more rashes.

The hotel DOES NOT offer complimentary daily breakfast. It was either pre-paid during reservation or, like what we did, pay when we had breakfast there. The buffet was nothing to shout about. The service was bad - they did not set our table and I helped myself to the cutleries from the table next to us. They do not top up the food when it ran out. I had to ask.

The mini supermarket on that property was poorly stocked. For apartment residences with fully equipped kitchens, the mini-mart did not even stock sugar! No body lotion too.

We found the service staff at the front door to be the most helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lytaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    307
    76
    22
    13
See reviews for
208
106
53
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently stayed in Ascott Sathorn for a 3 days business trip and I would like to comment about the hotel service and hospitality:

Staff - Friendly, English-speaking and approachable. Particularly would like to thank May for the limousine arrangement!

1 bedroom Premier Suite - Large, clean and comfortable

Restaurant - Good and reasonable charges. Particularly like the japanese restaurant, Nanjya Monjya.

Location - In the business district with many ambassy around. Pretty Jardti get taxi during peak hour but the hotel offers shuttle service to major sopping malls like MBK, Siam Paragon etc

A popular massage chain Healthland is just right across the street!

A value for money hotel and highly recommended!

Dr E. Chow

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpperGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego,ca
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ascott from December 11th-15th 2012. The reception when we got there was friendly and our 1 bedroom room was large at a 800 square feet. The hotel offers a complimentary daily breakfast which was very good. It had salad, fruit, cheeses, deli meat, eggs, soup and traditional Thai cheeses. The wait staff were friendly and hard-working. I suggest tipping a little just to show your appreciation. Every employee we came across with were very friendly and professional. Especially when we needed a taxi, the bellman made sure that our taxi driver understood where we wanted to go and that the taxi itself was metered. We highly recommend this hotel if you want comfortable guest rooms, clean hotel and professional staff. Also, Ascott is located only half a block from the train station and is close to shopping and the red Light District.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor so you can see and enjoy the lights of Bangkok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boltsfan858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It Was a pleasure to stay at the Ascott, as everything was perpect. For our future stay we Will stay at the Ascott for sure. .Close to Silom was very good for us. It was a good experience to stay at the Ascott.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nk121989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, rooms clean and bright, could do with the windows cleaned, nice reception, lovely pool area though looks a bit tired, could do with some new furniture and some paint, and some new staff !
The pool restaurant/bar has appalling service, you have to practically launch a missile into the restaurant to get some service by the pool, and even when you do get service and express you want to eat you often get forgotten about. Very poor service :-( the rest of the hotel is great but as I've said looks a little tired in places, carpets a bit old, sun loungers a bit stained and old. I would stay again but wouldn't plan on using the pool bar or restaurant in a hurry there is much better on offer in Bangkok for the money, so look around before booking here !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spend a week there from 9th of Feb, 2013.

Booked a two bedroom executive sweet.

We arrived the heat of Bangkok to be greeted at the main entrance by the door staff who were excellently turned out. Service was faultless from the get go. The reception staff were efficient and mannerly .

The scale of the room was an eye opener. We had a balcony that was vast. The room was very clean,modern and spacious. All mod cons were readily available. Chambermaids were very helpful.

The hotel sits on the busy Sathorn Rd, but it convenient for two BTS stations. There are restaurants within walking distance.( But the room service food is a good alternative should you want to stay in).

Breakfast was served in the dining room on the 2nd floor, it was a buffet style set up.
They make every effort to ensure you have enough hot beverages. The English style part of the breakfast is not comparable to English bacon or sausage. But bacon and sausage is not comparable in many places in Asia either. There is a omelet counter which will turn out a yummy omelet of a few fried eggs should you like one.

The hotel pool is welcoming. It was never really that busy, allowing the kids to splash about .
But you will get buzzed by mosquitoes in the evening so protect your self.

There is a a small supermarket in the hotel. Cold brews available at local prices.

Back to the door staff. They are exceptionally helpful. They will ensure that you get to your destination without taxi's attempting to enhance their fares. I watched on one occasion when a non resident family from Taiwan got out at the Ascott as they were been ripped by a Taxi Driver. They sorted the issue out and the driver left without payment.


All round a cracking hotel, which got out trip off to a roaring start.

Room Tip: Try get something facing the Sathorn Rd and watch the rush hour ..............nuts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJellyFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Clean, prompt, equipped. i have what i need at a decent price. what more can i ask for? photo will tell how equipped they were. what was not shown is the space that we get. breakfast is consider one of the decent one. not much choice but for sure quality is there

Room Tip: our suite is totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamerzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Siri Sathorn Executive Serviced Residence
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sathorn
Somerset Park Suanplu
Somerset Park Suanplu
#134 of 863 in Bangkok
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sukhumvit
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
#128 of 863 in Bangkok
922 reviews
Silom
Bandara Suites Silom, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Sathorn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Sathorn Bangkok

Property: Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Address: 187 South Sathorn Road, Yannawa | Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#71 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#95 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#110 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Sathorn Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a perfect getaway at Bangkok's most luxurious residence in an ideal location next to the famous Silom and Sukhumvit roads. Ascott Sathorn Bangkok offers luxurious and spacious private apartments filled with comprehensive amenities and impeccable services to pamper you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascott Sathorn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Ascott Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing