We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an OK place - nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ranked #112 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“It's an OK place - nothing special”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We chose this hotel as we always try and stay in a serviced apartment when in Bangkok. We got a 2 bed, 2 bath place and it was OK. As a few reviews have already said, the hotel could do with updating. We were on the top floor which was smoking (we didn't know this before hand) - the rooms and the bedding smelled of smoke - not good for me.
The hotel is very near the BTS and it is very easy to get around. It is also close to several very good restaurants - if you have a tablet, it will show you were they are.
All in all, this place was OK - it definitely isn't a 5 star hotel - more a 3/ 4 star

Room Tip: Avoid the smoking floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    313
    80
    22
    13
See reviews for
218
107
53
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Nothing good to say frankly. First and last time staying here.

Hotel is run down and not very well maintained. Very disappointing as this was our first stay in an Ascott branded property which supposedly is on the higher end of serviced residences. The rooms are old and dated and in bad need of upgrading (eg creaky timber flooring, moldy carpets and sinking sofas). The worst sin (esp for a purportedly 5* property) is the fact that beds are quite hard and not at all comfy...pillows were so thin that my hubby had to double fold his to get support. Showers are also weak.

Location is pretty lousy except maybe for business travellers who work around the area (we were there for a weekend city break). We wasted a lot of time shuttling to and fro the shopping and Sukhumvit areas. The BTS is walkable but not that convenient.

No real food/amenities nearby to really speak of.

Breakfast comes included but selection and quality is pretty shameful in context of higher end pricing/brand.

All in all, you can have much better value elsewhere particularly in a place like Bangkok where options are plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jin_cin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very good facility & room very good cleaning.I recoomend you should have the dinner buffet at the hotel to complete the comfotable service due to some visitor would to rest at the hotel & require all facitily + service in the hotel.

For the car parking, it's difficult to find out, it almost said "reserved" so i recommend your guard recommend the visitor what level car parking available for them.

The other facitity i.e bed room, bathroom, kitchen, were clean & great. The front desk always have a great smile and good service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sommarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very comfortable & feeling like ones' own home. Service was tremendous with no delays. Staff were humble & pleasant & willing to help at all times. The rooms were big clean & the location very convenient to travel to shopping areas. I have recommended to my cousin who is at Ascott fr 23/11 to 26/11. The charges are pretty good too. All my future stays at Bangkok will be at Ascott.

Room Tip: Rm 1910 was good enough with a beautiful view fr the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stay with ascott for my recent trip, Nothing to complain about, great service & great room. The front desk always have a great smile. The room I had was the studio suite & they are big & clean. the small kitchen was clean & everything was perfect for a traveller. A small feedback, ascott should think of changing their room TV to a flat screen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzoukI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in a 3-bedroom apartment and it was fabulous. Rooms were great and cosy.

The staff made our stay even more worthwhile as during our stay, our baby got sick and had to go to the hospital. As it was morning rush hour, there was no cab coming to the hotel. One of the staff went out of his way to bring us to the opposite of the hotel and hailed a cab for us to go to the hospital. Unfortunately, our baby was hospitalized for 3 nights and the hotel staff was daily checking with us on the health of our baby and also had a fruit basket delivered to us wishing his speedy recovery. With these kind gestures, it made our frantic and helpless moments in a foreign country feel less traumatic. Kudos to the staff of Ascott Sathorn Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel is good locadet next to a skytrain Station.

The rooms are big with a living room, kitchen and a big bedroom. The Servus was exzellent and every question was anwerd quickly.

Just The Restaurant at The Pool is very expansive. 600 Bath for 2 Martinis are to much!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Siri Sathorn Executive Serviced Residence
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Somerset Park Suanplu
Somerset Park Suanplu
#135 of 867 in Bangkok
704 reviews
Sukhumvit
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
#130 of 867 in Bangkok
935 reviews
Silom
Bandara Suites Silom, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Sathorn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Sathorn Bangkok

Property: Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Address: 187 South Sathorn Road, Yannawa | Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#71 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#100 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#110 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Sathorn Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a perfect getaway at Bangkok's most luxurious residence in an ideal location next to the famous Silom and Sukhumvit roads. Ascott Sathorn Bangkok offers luxurious and spacious private apartments filled with comprehensive amenities and impeccable services to pamper you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascott Sathorn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Ascott Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing