We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #220 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel but ...”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights in early May 2014. The hotel itself is spot on. Rooms are very spacious, the pool is awesome, breakfast did not disappoint, and the location can't be beat. Add super friendly staff to boot. My only real complaint has to do with time. It took over twenty minutes to check in yet there were only two people ahead of me. The pool bar was also unattended for long periods of time. Normally this would not be a problem but the bar was the only place to get pool towels. Overall this is a great place to stay in the Thai capital. Not five star but a good solid four star. I will stay again on my next visit to Bangkok.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BlackadderIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear BlackadderIII,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your positive review of your stay. I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room, breakfast, swimming pool and our friendly staff. They work hard to ensure that guest's expectations are exceeded.

However, I am sorry to hear that the check in process took so long. I have spoken with our reception team to ensure this is improved as with the pool attendant, this should be staffed at all times during pool opening hours.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Bangkok.

With kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    771
    314
    141
    72
See reviews for
294
514
302
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel was excellent, the location, the accommodations, the breakfast, the pool etc.
It's very close to Sukhumvit road where you can find good restaurants, massage places, souvenirs, shopping malls, travel agencies etc.
The only thing that was a little inconvenient is that at check in they asked us for extra THB 4000,00 to cover in case of expenses, but they gave us back the money at check out. The staff from reception could be a little more friendly also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Isabela M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review of our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay and that your expectations were exceeded. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's location, your room, breakfast and other hotel's facilities. We hope you enjoyed exploring Bangkok.

In regards to the Thb 4,000 deposit, it is hotel policy to take a deposit upon check in either cash or by credit card guarantee. As you mentioned this is refunded upon check out and in the case of credit card, nothing is charged until departure.

Once again thank you for staying at Grand Sukhumvit and we will look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Suresh Subrmaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayutthaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The location is about 200 meters south of Sukhumvit. Easy walking distance to the Nana BTS station,

The lobby is well laid out.

THE ROOM - Laid out to engender a feeling of spaciousness when first entering. A good feeling. The art work consists of ceramics on shelves. To me tasteful.

Many, and well located, electrical outlets. Traveling with a phone, a tablet, and notebook requires a lot of plugs.

The bed was excellent. A hard mattress with the thickest mattress pad I have encountered. The duvet (comforter) was spot on. Had a good nights sleep.

The bathroom had enough space to set out toiletries. Water was hot and it came fast.

ROOM SERVICE - Ordered the Fettuccini Carbonare (or Alfredo, I forget which). The sauce was made with so much flour that it was pasty and it contained frozen peas which made for a strange flavor. I could only eat a bit.

BUFFET BREAKFAST - No muesli or any other Non-Sugared cereal. Nothing to get excited about.

SERVICE - Good. Thailand with a bit more.

arnara

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Putachesnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Putchesnik,

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the spacious layout of your room, sleep quality and also hotel's location. We hope that your stay was memorable.

In regards to your room service, I have passed your comments onto my F & B Manager and he is looking into the dish and will ensure that the standard is improved.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great hotel for a reasonable price, the suite rooms are quite large with separate bed, kitchen and living rooms. The walk in shower room is also a great asset for those like me who like to move around in the bathroom. Did have a problem with most the staff we dealt with understanding English. Whilst we are on the matter of staff we would love to let management know how delighted we were that the greeter on the front door remembered us from two years ago. She was absolutely delightful then as she is today...thankyou Weraporn you put smiles on our faces. This hotel is in a good area close to bars, restaurants, markets and the BTS.

Room Tip: Request upper floor rooms for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear vacationabroad,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's a pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful stay at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok and that you enjoyed your suite. Your comments in regards to Khun Weraporn, our lovely greeter have been passed on to her. She prides herself on remembering all return guests.

I am sorry that you did have some problems communicating with our staff, the do their best but English is a difficult language to fully grasp.

We will look forward to having you stay again on you next visit to Bangkok.

Best wishes,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

As (nearly) always Accor hotels deliver beyond expectations. This is a great hotel with convenient location for a family to get around Bangkok. Service was great with usual pampering of families traveling with an infant. I can warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Thomas J,

Thank you for providing an excellent review of your stay at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok. We are very delighted to learn that we made your stay memorable and exceeded your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Bangkok.

With kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at hotel, good location in close proximity to bangkok metro ( BTS) station Nana. Breakfast was good. few good indian dishes(veg) available. very close proximity to local street and availability of local conveyance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash0k64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Ash0k64,

We appreciate you providing positive feedback of your stay and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's location and breakfast at Café de Nimes.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we will look forward to you return in the near future.

Kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last weekend. Location was alright but the walk from the hotel to the train station can sometimes be rather quiet at night and a little bit dirty. Hotel room is clean but the air con was rather noisy so my friend and i couldn't sleep properly. Wifi was free but only limited to one device per room but you can get more login codes from the lobby. Staff is friendly. Rooms are good sized.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiokNee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear TiokNee Y,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are delighted to learn that you enjoy the cleanliness of your room, the hotel's location and our friendly staff.

In regards to the noise from the air conditioning, thank you for bringing this to my attention and I hope that you informed our team of the noise so that they were able to rectify.

Once again thank you and we will look forward to your return on your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Sukhumvit
Phachara Suites
Phachara Suites
#181 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Dynasty Grande Hotel
Dynasty Grande Hotel
#265 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#55 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Property: Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Address: 99 Sukhumvit Soi 6 Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#163 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the upscale Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok (Managed by Accor) boasts the best location amidst the bustle and vibrant city centre of Bangkok. Only seconds from the BTS Sky Train station and leading department stores, the remarkable Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok also provides easy access to expressways, and is only 45 minutes from International Airport. Our luxurious accommodation features 386 spacious rooms and suites, outstanding restaurants, and bars. This stylish hotel combines traditional Thai Charm with refined modern amenities and state of the art conference facilities for meetings and seminars, making it one of the best Bangkok hotels for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bangkok
Grand Sukhumvit Sofitel
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing