We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #193 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Accommodating a group of 12, we were placed into 2 three bedroom suites. The rooms were comfortable with a spacious living area, master bedrooms.

The location was convenient, being a 5 minute walk from the sky train that is directly a stop away from a great shopping centre (terminal 21) and three stops away from Siam city Centre, which in the busy city traffic was a lot faster to travel.

However despite this, the bedroom suites and the facilities were lacking. Starting with the bedrooms, the remotes for the TVs were not working, requiring us to physically disable the TV from the power point, the beds in all rooms, including the master bedroom were 'wheelable' twin beds, meaning sleeping with your partner was an issue. Inside both bathrooms, for a three bedroom suite, not enough towels and toiletries such as toilet paper were provided, and the shower heads weak with power. A feature of the three bedroom suite that was inconvenient was the 'bar' space, which is situated in another room from the kitchen in front of the dining table with no bin and barely any glasses, which made no sense for a bar space.

The staff provided average customer service, where we had difficulty understanding and communicating.

The buffet dinner downstairs was not that tasteful either, with a limited selection in 'international food' and mainly serving curries and staples. And with a complimentary cordial tasting orange juice, and no complimentary juices or soft drinks as part of the buffet service, ordering a glass of real orange juice for everyone costed extra which jacked up our bill.

With a partner who graduated with a hospitality degree and experienced the hotel with me, he was extremely disappointed that for a top rated hotel even the basic hotel facilities were not provided.

It was a comfortable stay to say the least for my one night in Bangkok, but nothing extraordinary.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Mary P,

Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. I was disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations.

I wish you had conveyed to the team your level of unhappiness that you have portrayed in your review, as we would have liked to have resolved the issues at the time. If something is not right or if we fail at providing an exceptional level of service, we are very keen to put it right.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do hope that you will consider another stay with us in the near future.

With kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    792
    319
    144
    75
See reviews for
329
527
312
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Traveled as a couple. Stayed for two nights.
Hotel is nice and checkin took some time as we had arrived early in the morning and our room was not ready, however they upgraded our room to a luxury one. The hotel is located near to the skytrain and well connected through local transport. Ask for discount vouchers at the concierge which offers a good discounts at major attractions like Madame Tussads, Ocean World and Dreamland etc. Maps for Bangkok attractions are available with the hotel. The best way to travel around Bangkok would be through Skytrain and local AC buses. Tuk Tuk are also good to travel but you have to fix the amount first.
Major happening places and clubs are around the hotel area, so you can walk or take a tuk tuk. The streets are full with tourists and party goers only after 10PM.
Hotel is situated 30 minutes from International airport. Our room was a big one as were upgraded to a luxury room. Buffet breakfast offered Indian food also along with the English breakfast items. Situated next to the hotel is a good market and seven eleven stores which offer everything you need from food to booze.
Overall it was a nice and comfortable stay.
Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor which offered aerial view of the city. Go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alok_HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Alok_HP,

Thank you for taking the time to place us your detailed review of our hotel. We are so grateful to learn that you have enjoyed your spacious room and foods at our Cafe de' Nimes restaurant and that we managed to exceed your expectations. It looks like you have also enjoyed our fabulous city of Bangkok and it is right as you pointed that our hotel's location is a highlight as it is easily access through most major tourist attractions either by sky train or a cap.

We the team of Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok would like to thank you for staying with us as look forward to welcoming your couple back again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our first hotel at the start of our big Australasian trip. It was perfectly acceptable for one night - spacious room,professionally friendly service but fairly impersonal. The restaurant staff in contrast, were warm, welcoming and properly attentive, even when almost overwhelmed by the sudden arrival of a large coach party of Chinese guests. The fresh mango juice was delicious at both supper and breakfast and we really enjoyed our dinner from the a la carte menu. It did not have the feel of a hotel where guests would stay for more than a day or two.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear RWWDevon,

Greeting from Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok! We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room and that you felt welcomed by our friendly team at Cafe de' Nimes and that you enjoyed the food and mango juice!

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do hope you will stay again on your next visit to Bangkok

With kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Hotel is very quiet, but very close to the Skytrain and nightlife Entertainment.Very easy going travelling by Skytrain.
The Staff was already friendly and helpful in any questions and points you are interested.
The Suite was nice,comfortable,clean and with realy everything you need.Good Poolarea with a nice poolbar.

Room Tip: Man hat eine schöne Aussicht in den höher gelegenen Zimmern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torsten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Torsten E,

Greeting from Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok! Thank you very much for your lovely review. 

We are pleased to hear that your experience exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your suite. 
Thank you also for your kind words about the staff they strive to make all guests feel at home. 

Once agin thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Best wishes,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed one night en route from Sri Lanka to the USA with my 7 year old (together we have stayed there many times) Great hotel, Excellent location (5 min walk to Nana BTS station) Friendly staff! Highly recommended!





  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzan54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Suzan 54321,

Greeting from Grand Sukumvit Hotel Bangkok! Thank you very much for taking the time to write us your positive review. We are so delighted to learn that you and your family had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to welcome you and your family again soon.

Best wishes,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand 5 Hotel & Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Radisson Blu Plaza Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#54 of 868 in Bangkok
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Property: Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Address: 99 Sukhumvit Soi 6 Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#154 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the upscale Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok (Managed by Accor) boasts the best location amidst the bustle and vibrant city centre of Bangkok. Only seconds from the BTS Sky Train station and leading department stores, the remarkable Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok also provides easy access to expressways, and is only 45 minutes from International Airport. Our luxurious accommodation features 386 spacious rooms and suites, outstanding restaurants, and bars. This stylish hotel combines traditional Thai Charm with refined modern amenities and state of the art conference facilities for meetings and seminars, making it one of the best Bangkok hotels for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bangkok
Grand Sukhumvit Sofitel
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing