We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value for money in bkk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Urban Age Hostel
Ranked #897 of 1,346 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed June 3, 2011

i happened to chance upon this hotel in the LP guide book and made a telephone booking for the 6 bedroom mixed dorm as i needed to crash there only for a night , the room was big enough and had free wifi and air con , the staff was extremely courteous and very very warm . the only disadvantage is the lack of an elevator but you can't really argue about that for this price , the hotel is located on a sub soi close to silom soi 8 and is a quick walk from all that silom has to offer . if u are into the backpacker scene , theres no place like this for the price , met some incredible people here . i couldnt ask for more , cheers

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunalshetty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2011

Good value large rooms - nice decor and spacious. The hostel is tucked away in a small soi so you are near the busy Silom Road but far enough away to avoid too much noise. The place is safe and friendly - the staff at desk are very helpful and knowledgeable. Free tea and coffee and wi fi. Shared bathrooms only but these are clean and fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

not the cheapest option but a great, clean hostel, near Patpong area, decent dorm and the loveliest and most helpful staff

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahCharnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Spent three nights at Urban Age. Great location in the centre of Bangkok with Sala Daeng and Silom stations within five minutes walk this is a perfect base from which to explore the city and excellent value for money.

Staff were friendly, welcoming and informative, with good communications in advance of arrival as well as during my stay. I had the feeling that guests are really cared for.

I had a private "Urban Room" on the fourth floor and although facilities were on the landings there were sufficent that this posed no problems with availability. The room was simply furnished but equipped with a combination safe and airconditioning. I enjoyed a good, comfortable nights sleep.

Would definitely recommend and will certainly return on future trips to Bangkok. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The location of The Urban Age is strategic, near by the markets and shopping area; it is also very convenient for those who want to go for night life activities. The transportation from here to other places is also very convinient, since there are BTS station and MRT station in just five minutes walk from this hostel, and many taxi pass by. I enjoyed the best hospitality in this hostel, since the staff here are very freindly and helpful, and the most important thing is free wifi service. I went to Bangkok several times already, and I stayed in The Urban Age every time I went to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuhShyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

URBAN AGE is avery good hotel . it is centrally located. the receptionists are the asset of the management they help the new travellers to find out the best place to visit.they are very coordial. i wish them all the best

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank subhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2006

Thank you to the Girls, I was in Thailand when there was a public hoilday and only stopped over for 2 nights.

Staff - They were very nice and helpful.

Rooms - Very simple and the beds were hard, however the aircon and cold showers were great. No hot water, but it isnt a problem in Thailand.

Location - Great location if you like to shop and see the local market were just out the front door.

I would stay again if i came back to thailand, it isnt in the backpacking area, what is a good thing some times. And all the locals are very friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maka09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Coop Hostel
#206 of 1,346 in Bangkok
37 reviews
Mascot Hostel Bangkok
#114 of 1,346 in Bangkok
72 reviews
Hostel 24
#910 of 1,346 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,346 in Bangkok
724 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#27 of 1,346 in Bangkok
974 reviews
Hide Bangkok Hostel
#127 of 1,346 in Bangkok
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urban Age Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Age Hostel

Address: 130/6 Silom Soi 6, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #897 of 1,346 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $12 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Urban Age Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the City, easy access to everything. Minimalist design, maximum hospitality. The Urban Age, stylish guesthouse is the perfect choice for visitors to visit Bangkok city. As it is run by the young and helpful owner, we are sure to make you like home. An oasis of hospitality, it is ready to satisfy the accommodation needs of those traveling for leisure and even business who want to stay in a budget and modern urban guesthouse. We offer clean and safe environment where you can dine or hang out in the area for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Urban Age Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Urban Age Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing