We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #85 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Me and my colleagues had stayed in Shanghai Mansion hotel, truly an oasis in the middle of the chaos of Chinatown. Though we had a struggle finding the hotel, this hotel is worth searching for. Upon entering the premises you will see Tops supermarket which you can easily get some stuff you like. As we entered the hotel we were welcomed bu a friendly porter who hosted us up to the reception area. The reception are has this red couch one will truly adore and bring that shanghai 1930 feeling (I only got to base this on what I've seen in the movies). The hotel has a lot of character and each corner has it's own story to tell. Had excellent breakfast and dinner at Cotton. Super yummy treats one would never get tired of having, I must commend the chef! Staff though a little bit knowledge in English, Janise who is the manager runs the floor and would be there right away to lend a hand, two thumbs up for the chef, Janis and Cotton team! During dinner Janis had shared some jokes we ended almost falling off our chair. Our bes was so huge and so is the tub! It was purely heaven especially when you are having a deep soak and you overhear the chinese instrument being played in the indoor pond. Elegance is overflowing awesome! They also allow you to wear some Chinese costume and props you can use when taking a photo! I'd say will recommend this hotel to all my friends and so happy we stayed in this hotel sadly it's only for 4 nights but will definitely be back for sure! Very charming hotel indeed :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jealettemariemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    853
    197
    60
    29
See reviews for
261
1,357
220
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

It's hard to imagine that you can step off the busy streets of Chinatown and find yourself in a setting that is tranquil, stylish and delightfully comfortable in every way. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the central court with the fishpond soothing after the mad bustle of Bangkok traffic, the restaurant serves excellent Asian food with a view to catering also for a European palate if the guests so wish and doubles as a pleasant jazz club in the evening and the whole hotel breathes a kind of old world, languid atmosphere. We stayed twice and were extremely happy both times, not least because despite the amenities and the central location (Central Train and Metro Station 10 minutes walk, the Palace and the stunning Wat Pra Keow a 60 baht TukTuk ride away, not to mention China town with its culinary and other delights, where highrises are mercifully absent), but also because of the friendliness and helpfulness of the (young) staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2011

The beauty of this hotel lies within its walls. Everything is so pleasing to all of your senses. The room was exactly as pictured and yet the picture did not due justice to the room itself. The Tub, so big and relaxing need I say more!! Imagine taking a soak and hearing the notes from a Chinese Harp floating on the air as you relax. This was my own personnel experience.
The Hotel is off the tourist area hotels but well worth the money and extra time. The staff was fantastic and the interior was clean, you can sense the pride they have. The Jazz bar is a great way to unwind from a day of sight seeing.
The resturant had a good selection and the breakfast was excellent with a good assortment to choose from. What a great way to start off the day (mid morning for me). The staff did everything they could to help make the stay more enjoyable. Arrangements to go anywhere could be made at the desk.
The Daybed in the room was a surprize and what a great place to unwind, watch TV, or relax. The Bed in the room was so comfortable and plush.
I 'll be staying here again on my next trip!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lennyg987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vetlanda, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Cosy little hotel in the middle of Chinatown! Near trainstation and other nice places in Bankkok. and i have to say all the staff is really good,but i remember one of them very well, he is receptionist in nights in the hotel,and i have to say:Gone Sutjakorn you are the best!
i had a nice visit all time when i was there,and if i go back to Bangkok i go to that hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We spent one night here after 2 weeks of island hopping in Thailand. We were extremely impressed with the hotel. The decor is gorgeous - authentic Chinese and the rooms are something quite special. We stayed in the double Peony Suite and it really was gorgeous. Spacious, big bath, shower and a small lounge area. The little touches are great - the minibar is FREE (yes, you read right) the glass bottled water and the concierge service.

It is located right in the heart of China Town which is a totally unique experience. It is HECTIC but I think we experienced it at a really busy time - just before Chinese New Year.

The staff don't speak English too well, but they do try.

We only ate breakfast, and I had the traditional Chinese dim sum breakfast - HEAVEN! We had a cocktail or two and they were ok - good prices. I would definately recommend this spot - it's romantic, exotic and steeped in atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetfrangipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We have stayed here 3 times now and it never fails to impress us.

Being in china town it is a little away from the main action but there is loads going on in china town itself which I think is sometimes overlooked by tourists.

Try T&K seafood just outside the hotel for the best seafood in bangkok at the best price.

The hotel is run by an American and he has done a good job here in creating a really nice environment to stay and with great and attentive staff.

I travel a lot with work and I would normally stay in the big chain hotels for that, but next time I am away on business I might choose to stay here instead for a unique experience.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarbyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of Shanghai Mansion. We lived a 5-star experience (but didn't pay 5-star prices). Great service, stunning hotel decoration/ rooms, excellent breakfast buffet and (for us tourists) brilliant location in China Town. We will definitely come back when we are visiting Bangkok again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrienbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#88 of 868 in Bangkok
2,618 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#101 of 868 in Bangkok
4,359 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 868 in Bangkok
1,404 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#77 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing