We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit to a hidden gem of tranquillity in a bustling city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #87 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Everything about this hotel is perfect for us that’s why we returned for a 3 night stay at the beginning of our holiday, on the whole a tranquil stay in the midst of a bustling Chinatown.

We had no problems in accessing the rest of the city from here and Chinatown itself has so much going on especially at the weekend with the street market during the day, a truly amazing site for all your senses, day and night, lots of temples close by and easy to access by the river taxis, a must see, not to miss experience.

Some changes from last time, construction work going on, but this didn’t bother us too much as we were out most of the day. The reception is located on one of the floors temporarily, the escalators have been removed and replaced with lifts and there is a coffee shop to the rear of the front bar from the street. Everything in the mini bar was free; this was a welcome treat at the end of a busy day as are the toiletries that were provided. The bar is still a great place to sit, drink cocktails, listen to music and watch Chinatown come to life.

Last time we visited we were provided with quite a few leaflets and guides to the area which were really useful to someone visiting for the first time, this time none were provided, we presumed that this was because we were returning guests. Our rooms weren’t cleaned until around 4.30-5pm daily when we had returned to the hotel, this meant that we couldn’t relax and had to leave the room while it was cleaned.

The staff were friendly and helpful, couldn’t fault them, from the guys at the entrance who spot you as soon as your taxi arrives and escort you in, a relaxed tranquil check in process, to the general assistants who can’t do enough for you and love to chat and share their experiences. They allowed us to leave our luggage when we checked out until we left. The downside to this was that when we returned to collect our luggage they informed us that one of the robes was missing from the room when the maid went to clean. Now I am not saying that we were being accused of stealing this but you can imagine how it felt, we were prepared to open our suitcases and prove that we had not taken it but they ‘appeared’ to accept that we did not have it. We had not even worn the robes. They didn’t mention that the maid may have found an item that we had ‘left’ there though! A disappointing end to a lovely stay but would still go back.

Room Tip: We had a standard room with outside light, we didn't ask for this as it is extra, we have had an...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad you have returned home here with us!

We have taken into account the feedback you have mentioned and our deepest apologies should there be some miscommunications along the way which caused inconvenience on your part. Our Front Office, Housekeeping and so does other departments are having continuous trainings.

We hope to have you here with us once again; please do not hesitate to let me know in advance by sending direct email to me at aoy@shanghaimansion.com.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,414)
There are newer reviews for Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Late January, early February, we spent 10 nights at this hotel right in the middle of Bangkok's Chinatown. Room 201 proved to be very large (which was pleasant) but also quite dark as it lacks natural light (the 3 tiny windows to the outside face a very narrow alley that blocks almost all light - some daylight lamps would have helped); we felt very much cooped up and at times even slightly claustrophic. The suite itself has a large hallway providing plenty of space to put your suitcase, items in the fridge are free of charge; sitting area with a daybed, easy chair and small table; bedroom area with large bed and not-so-comfortable mattress (each move felt like a small earthquake); open-plan bathroom with a bath and large wash basin area (enough space to put your toiletries), shower (with a drain that wasn't working very well) and toilet behind partially frosted-glass doors which didn't close as well as they should have. As laundry service was expensive, I did all laundry myself (putting all dripping items in the shower overnight, and putting the partially dried items in the room itself the following morning); after a few days, we noticed the room's humidity rising, so there seems to be a ventilation problem. We read on the internet the room had it's own private balcony, which proved to be misleading, as it consists of 2 wooden chairs next to the entry door and opposite the indoor pond, making for a complete lack of privacy (during our stay, I've never seen anyone sitting there). Breakfast was quite good: buffet-style with plenty of Asian and Western things to choose from (unfortunately, no veggie wontons), and an egg station - strangely, management decided to move this to the large kitchen during our stay, so we had to order our eggs/omelet from the waiters, who kept coming back with the wrong things; fortunately, the egg-station was reinstated after just 2 days (there must have been lots of complaints). Staff was very helpfull, especially when we had to change to room 208 (which has a more comfortable mattress and shower area, but is darker still as there is zero daylight here) for our final night as there was a serious problem with the AC: room 201 suddenly smelled strongly of paint thinner, probably due to reconstruction work that was going on during our stay. For dinner, we went to Hoon Kuang further up at Yaowarat Street, seemingly the only place that has veggie dishes. For your information: the nearest BTS-/train station Hua Lamphong is a 15-minute walk away (taxis/tuktuks can be hard to find here, and Bangkok is jammed with traffic; also, if wanting to visit the most famous temples in the Western part of Bangkok, most drivers will refuse to put the meter on). Generally, we enjoyed our stay (and especially loved Chinese New Year), but are not quite sure we'll stay here again, especially due to the lack of daylight in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

Indeed there are some things that needs to smooth out, thus one of the reason was the then on-going refurbishments during your stay as well as the continuous trainings for our staff.

With regards to the room’s lighting mood, Shanghai Mansion's aesthetics and design was patterned from that of 1930’s era creating that vibe of old Shanghai with the sense of style.


Best regards,
Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here for our last 3 nights before flying home. Lovely, friendly welcoming staff from start to finish. Our Guest Service person ( IS ) was a gem who made our stay perfect. The bar staff were really friendly and always had a smile. The restraunt was A grade food and service. The Jazz band at the hotels Cotton Bar was extraordinary. We watched them every night we were there. Ideal location for shoppers. Would highly recomend this hotel

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your time and effort in getting your feedback on TripAdvisor shared.
It will be a sure thing that Mr. Is, the bar staff and Siam Swing band will be informed accordingly, they will be most delighted to hear this too!

Thank you once again and feel free to come visit us any time.


Best regards,

Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The most impressive thing is the hotel staff, always have smile on their face. The room is ok, I am very care about the bathroom, finally, they did not make me disappointed. I bet I will come back to see more smile

Room Tip: For travel
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank White J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am very happy that our staff were able to show Thai hospitality as well as Thailand being the land of smiles.

We will do our best to bring more smiles and happiness to you and all our guest! Looking forward to have you back home with us and will surely have staff informed about your gladness.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Nice hotel with a shabby chic Chinese feel about it. Let down a bit by the impersonal reception and the hallways are a bit utilitarian but the bedrooms are comfortable enough.
We liked the free mini bar (who wouldn't?) but we had a lot of early morning noise from the cleaning staff and the lighting was a bit dim in the room. The bar is a welcome respite directly off the street from the madness of Chinatown and the live jazz was very civilised (the sax player is lovely).
Good buzzing location and we had a couple of great seafood meals at the red and the green shirt pavement restaurants close by (turn right out of the hotel).
We loved the buffet breakfasts in the stylish dining room.
Overall a good midrange and unique place to stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeywhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Great to have you at home with us here at Shanghai Mansion!
It's our pleasure to hear that you like our live jazz band (The Siam Swing) at The Terrace, indeed a great chill-out place to most guests and walk-in customers.

We however have come short with some service with regards to our housekeeping staff which caused inconvenience. He have called the department's attention on this to ensure guests have the proper privacy and rest they all need.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of our travels.
We had some confusion over the dates of our booking (done via email) which meant the hotel were not expecting us when we arrived, we take some responsibility for not spotting this but the error did start with the hotel but in fairness they found us a room and could not apologise enough, and being Chinese New Year we were very grateful as things were incredibly busy in the area.
The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment and the reception is temporary located on one of the higher floors, not sure if this is the reason why reception/check in was confusing but it felt that a number of staff were all following a process but no one person giving you their full attention throughout, fourth floor reception and indeed the room we stayed at on the first night did have an unpleasant drain smell at times, again we hope this is linked to the current works but we did ask to be moved to a different room/floor.
They insisted on us paying for the room in advance/ at check in, this is another non friendly welcome to the hotel.
The spacious and well equipped rooms on the second floor are stunning, so much so that we chose to stay in the room and have room service, as is the whole central area of the hotel, loved the breakfast room where the staff were incredibly friendly and the breakfast offers a great selection.
The dim sum offered complimentary in the afternoons were delightful as were the staff that brought them to us.
Despite some negatives I would stay at this hotel again but hope that a refurbished and relocated reception will make check in smoother and the staff more cheery as the rest of the hotel is top class.

Room Tip: Second floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne_kilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are you were able to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor. Our apologies for some of the not so good memories however we are working to correct mistakes as well as thank you for allowing us to make it up to you during your stay. We as well would like to apologize had it caused you a negative impression however we have a requirement for a full payment if you book online or full payments as well can be settled upon arrival.

We are glad that you loved our dim sums as well as the breakfast in general. We will extend your regards and feedback to our Food and Beverage breakfast team as well I'm sure they will be very happy to hear it.

So see you once again next time? We will be right here waiting for your return.


Regards,

Tasanee Numar-cha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Recently my sister and I stayed at the Shanghai Mansion in Chinatown in Bangkok. The decor is like a entering a 1930's Chinese thriller film set - ready for the film star Anna Mae Wong to appear. We loved it. Besides the intriguing interior, delicious dim sum in the afternoon and special breakfast served as part of the reasonable cost of the room, the service was exceptional. One particular staff person took personal care and attention to our needs, especially when my sister was not feeling well. She went above and beyond to assist my sister and me and even brought a special bouquet of flowers to the room to help bring some cheer. My sister and I would highly recommend the Shanghai Mansion for its ambience and service. A great find in Bangkok.

Room Tip: I think you will find the Chinese beds and hanging bird cage in the bathroom (with faux birds), lant...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLynn30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee kha!

Hope all is well with you and your sister, we are much delighted to hear that we've made you felt at home. Thank you as well for appreciating the beauty of Shanghai from within which, in countless number of times had been used for either photo shoots, weddings and other special events.

Would be great to have you back home here with us!


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#89 of 881 in Bangkok
2,652 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#100 of 881 in Bangkok
4,408 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#57 of 881 in Bangkok
1,423 reviews
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#187 of 881 in Bangkok
1,617 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#79 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $57 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing