We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #87 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing! ”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I'm staying at this hotel at this moment. I've enjoyed this hotel immensely. I booked for ~$85 USD on Priceline and it exceeded all my expectations.

Located in Chinatown, the hotel is in the heart of all the hustle and bustle. A short taxi ride takes you to MBK and Siam Centre. A note: hiring a metred taxi will charge you half that of a car hailed by the concierge. There is an annoying man outside of the main doors who will harass you to join his tour. He is not part of the establishment.

Rooms are great!!! They have free: snacks (Oreos and pop), slippers, robes, nice lotions and soaps, and Wi-Fi (unreliable). Beds are big and comfortable, and each room includes a hairdryer!! Tastefully appointed with attention to detail.

Breakfast: if you're Chinese, you'll be in heaven with congee, dumplings and noodles. Western fare is great with omlettes, toast and yogurt.

I absolutely love this hotel. The staff is amazing. I recommend jazz nights. The band is great, and although the bar's cocktails may be pricey, they are divine.

Note: we heard daytime construction on only one of the three days we were here. Not an issue for us, but this could be disturbing to others. Construction will last til mid-December.

This hotel is probably one of the best I've been to. They really go the extra mile. I would come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizardo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    828
    193
    58
    29
See reviews for
243
1,320
216
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We booked two nights at the Shanghai Mansion in hopes that it would be comfortable and close to a lot of sights. We arrived later than expected due to a delayed flight, and the staff was quick to welcome us with fresh tea when we checked in. Our room was extremely well decorated, and the smells were wonderful (eucalyptus maybe?). The staff was beyond friendly helpful, just stopping to say good morning in the hallways. They were always smiling and asking if we needed anything. There was construction going on downstairs, but we were out all day so it didn't even matter. The water garden with tiny fish was a nice touch, and you could even ask a staff member to get a fish bowl in your room! The breakfast was extremely fresh and yummy. The location worked really well for us, since we only had two days to spend in the city.

The only bad memory I'll take is when we were leaving. Our plan was to go south to an island and take a mini bus per the suggestion of our hotel contact on the island. The men in front of the hotel organizing rides/taxis insisted that we wouldn't get there in time for the last ferry, and suggested we take the hotel car. We didn't want to risk getting stuck with no hotel 4 hours away, and ended up taking a car from the hotel 4 hours to the ferry. We paid an arm and a leg for it too. I'm not sure they were being honest when it came to the mini bus situation, so I was a little disappointed I paid SO much more than I had planned for transportation south.

If I were to return to Bangkok, I would definitely stay here again, but I would be more mindful of my transportation options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

It's very loud and the doors don't really seem like they close. Also, there are no windows or natural light. It all opens up into an indoor pond. Can be frustrating when trying to adjust to a new time zone. Located in the middle of Chinatown which isn't the best location. Wouldn't stay here again. Staff was friendly. Hotel was undergoing some renovations so loud during the day with chainsaws, etc. Food as terrible.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hennessg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

A BIG hearty thank you to Mr S for the biggest brightest smile ever and making our stay in this warm and comfy hotel such a lovely one.

Kudos to Ms Tui for her entertaining narration and explanation during the cooking class and no small thanks to the chef for the wonderful 3-course Thai meal which my fiancee got to learn and we got to enjoy feasting upon.

Last but not least, special mention of Lai, our designated hotel driver for his wonderful recommendations to some of the attractions in and around Bangkok.

It was a wonderful experience made possible by them :))

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Beautiful ambiance and decoration, a true boutique hotel, a fantastic experience in the heart of Chinatown, staff with sense of humor and decent English (finally!). We had an AMAZING cooking class at the hotel provided by Chef Tonglor and hilarious Ms. Tui, every ingredient explained, funny outfits on, photos provided by management, exciting and interesting at every step, lots of questions precisely answered and finally the pride of eating our own yummy-yummy thai dishes... This cooking class was the highlight of our holidays, 2 hours of great and unforgettable fun. Thanks a lot!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with natural light, some are a little dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardDelamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel, located in a recognise area, has the basic services for resting and it relative proximity to cheaper market is a good option. Although it doesn't have swimming pool has and excellent service (specially Mr S), nice staffs and restaurant service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardolilibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in early November as we wanted to experience Chinatown in Bangkok.
The location is very good as it is within walking distance from the MRT and the Railway station. No need to take a Tuk Tuk or Taxi if you wish to stay here.
The staff were very friendly and could converse well enough in English.
The Decor might appeal to some but it's pseudo Shanghai so...

What I don't like about the hotel rooms:
The double beds are wooden Chinese 4 posters with a wooden edges that makes getting out really difficult and impossible if you are elderly. So you will have to climb over your partner each time to get out!
The wash basin has no mixers and water splashes out when used.
The electrical and switches needs major overhaul to make it easier to use. Eg if you need to use the kettle you had to move the TV table to fix the plug!
Breakfast was OK and I heard there was a good restaurant and jazz band at night.
If you wish to eat at the famous seafood restaurant ( T&K) then it's a stone throw away.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lbtlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 858 in Bangkok
4,262 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 858 in Bangkok
1,371 reviews
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#98 of 858 in Bangkok
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#78 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing