We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #85 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

One of the top-5 best value for money hotel stays I've been to! Funky, comfortable, nice decor and amazing shower. A highly recommended place to recover after a long and rough backpacking trip aroudn SE Asia. Go!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alexanton2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,193 - 1,199 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went for honeymoon and they didn't disappoint us, what a lovely place to stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful, conversation was in english so no problem. Plus, the hotel is very detail in little things that surprise us. Location wise, it's 10-15 mins from the Hua Lampong station, and they do provide free tuk-tuk shuttle to the station. At the end of the right corner, there's the famous T&K seafood restaurant, a must try! cheap and good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam_Kin_Kit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My friend and I spent our first 3 nights at this hotel on our first trip overseas. It was easy to find and was in the very interesting china town in Bangkok! The staff were lovely and super friendly and hotel itself is beautiful! We met another Australian lady staying there who said she has been coming here for years. The breakfast was excellent and the rooms were very clean. Defiantly not your typical modern, white & crisp Hilton type hotel, but it has a lot more character then anything like that. We spent about 1/2 an hour just looking around the hotel taking pictures. We would stay there again without any hesitation!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AmyRachel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this place in May 2013 for 3 nights. We got the cheapest room, but it was still very nice. The place is just beautifully decorated and it made us feel like we are in a really exotic place (we are from the U.S.). The restaurant at the hotel was very good and very reasonably priced. We searched the neighborhood for a good place to eat but we always ended up at this little restaurant. Breakfast was a buffet style with lots of options. Location of the hotel was also great. Although public transportation is not available anywhere close by it was still very easy to move around. We used tuk tuk service and ended paying no more 150-200 bath wherever we went. We used free tuk tuk service offered by the hotel as well. Hotel is also a walking distance (around 10 blocks) from the marina where you can pick up a shuttle boat for about 20 bath to go downtown (Advice: use local boat vs tourist boat - the only difference is that on the tourist boat the announcements are in English, but the price is few times higher; however if you just follow the stop map you shouldn't have any problems getting to where you're going to) . Although the hotel is placed in the heart of Chinatown, which is absolutely crazy busy, the hotel itself was quiet and you couldn't really hear much noises from outside.

Room Tip: Advice: if you can afford stay at their suites/more expensive rooms - we took a snick pic and they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Veronica2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in Shanghai mansion for 3 nights and from start to finish I couldn't fault a thing.

On arrival the staff promptly came to get our bags from the taxi, check in was easy and we were given Chinese tea and a cold flannel which was much needed. Our room was great, like other reviews we had lanterns in the corners and a bird cage in the bathroom. The bed was absolutely massive and very comfortable.

Breakfast buffet comprised of a mixture of oriental and western foods which was we very much enjoyed.

A free tuk tuk service is offered to guests to the grand palace and the MBK centre though you do need to book in advance for this. The hotel isn't a million miles away from the grand palace so we walked back after.

The staff were lovely, I especially have to mention Joy who worked in the restaurant and bar and S who works of an evening and took our bags up to our room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank casprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Centraal gelegen in chinatown, erg sfeervol boetiekhotel, mooi verzorgde kamers
We spend 3 nights here with 2 teenagers. Great Location, nice service, warm welcome and very nice, rooms are very beautifully styled. Memorable!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ducardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Shanghai Mansion from July 5th to the 9th and were impressed. Location in Chinatown is great, so much to see and do. Service was excellent, very attentive and friendly. Rooms were very clean and a/c worked great. The price was also very good. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#84 of 891 in Bangkok
2,806 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#143 of 891 in Bangkok
1,682 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#108 of 891 in Bangkok
4,620 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#68 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#78 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $49 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing