We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, awful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #84 of 895 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2008

The actual hotel was lovely if very pink but it is right in the middle of Chinatown so is manic at all times of day and night. The staff were all helpful but everyone else in Bangkok seemed to be rude, unhelpful and generally trying to rip you off.

We were meant to be there 2 nights as a weekend away whilst working in Kuala Lumpur but checked out after 24 hours. It was unbearably hot and humid (more so than Malaysia where we have been for a few weeks), very polluted and the traffic was so heavy it took you ages to get anywhere in a taxi (and there are no trains nearby). In addition to this we walked down the street to find something to eat and people were sitting on the pavement washing their crabs and pots and pans in the drains water about 1m from 3 lanes of stationary traffic!

If you think you can put up with all this The Shanghai Inn is lovely otherwise I'd opt for somewhere down by the river where everything is calmer and there is a slight breeze.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldpook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,804 - 1,810 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2008

This is a great little hotel right on busy Yaowarat Road in the heart of Bangkoks chinatown, very near Sampeng Lane for the craziest shopping walk you will ever do!
We booked a suite for 2 nights which cost about £60 a night, (pretty reasonable compared say, to London). The suite was very roomy with 4 large windows and small balcony looking onto Yaowarat . The big double chinese bed was really comfy. The furnishings, walls and carpets are all brightly coloured which we loved, it makes such a change from your usual hotel blandness. Breakfasts are good, staff friendly (check out the bell boys silly uniform ha ha) and location is fantastic...A taxi to the new airport cost us 380 Baht (ask for the meter to be on as soon as you get in)....

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casperfreidrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

so i was forced to be in bangkok for 3 days. not a great place to be if you enjoy simple things like BREATHING for example. The room was clean and nice if not a little tacky. the desk help was good but the door man and bellboys were over bearing. A decent value for the location. 10 min walk to hua lompong train station/metro. the wifi signal was weak in my room and i had to go to the lobby to get a signal.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Art_Vandalay420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

I been to bangkok many times and this stay at shanghai has been great. The staffs are nice and friendly. The rooms are not huge but comfortable. the bath room are quite unquie in their own sense though there were no bathtubs.

The breakfast is okie, u will get tired of it after many days cos it the same thing over and over again. but the presentation is good and it is quite cozy.

The spa is nice. try the ying yang leg massage, quite an experenice.:)

The area in chinatown is good. food is available everywhere. at nite u can have a bowl of bird nest b4 going bed. sweet!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mandysst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Anyone travelling to Bangkok wanting a real Chinatown experience - look no further than the Shanghai Inn - a small, very quiet hotel - each room totally unique, individially decorated with Chinese antiques and lots of jewel-like colour. A real gem - wonderful staff who do their best - the manager speaks perfect English so ask for him (Tu). Everyone so helpful - we found it the best experience of our entire 3 week holiday in Thailand. Right in the middle of fascinating Chinatown with its alleyways and markets, walk to the river to catch the local boat taxis - bang slap in the hubbub of everything yet very peaceful.
A very special place, unique and beautiful, away from all the tourists. Basic but good breakfasts - very clean, we'll definitely be going back there and wouldn't dream of looking anywhere else.
Sorry my photos aren't ready yet!
Check out their website. its all exactly as shown!

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank des007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

This hotel is a great homebase while visiting Bangkok. Decor is truly chinoise chic; staff is helpful and speak good English; breakfast has just enough options for anyone; location is in the heart of Chinatown. Only a 15 minute walk to the river boat stop and a 10 minute walk to the subway. Chinatown is always busy and crowded, but a fun place to wander. Price can't be beat. Each room has a fridge, safe, TV, four poster bed and amazing shower - we loved the decor.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jake-chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

Nice enough hotel but I have a real problem with them overcharging. I paid a deposit in advance and was told when I came to pay my bill that I had to pay the remainder of the bill at an exchange rate of 40 Thai Baht to the dollar.

The actual exchange rate is 31.5 so it is over 20% over the odds. I understand if they charge 32 or even 33 baht to the dollar but 40 is just ridiculous.

Please everyone be aware. If you book in advance you will have to pay a 20% surcharge on top of the bill for their "special" idea of the currency rate.

A previous post has mentioned this and we saw other customers fighting over the problem when we stayed there.

Please Shanghai Hotel, change this system and charge the 20% extra up front if you want. Don't sneak the charge in as 20% is way over the limit for an exchange rate. Just be straight up with your guests.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tet_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#87 of 895 in Bangkok
2,860 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#144 of 895 in Bangkok
1,723 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#68 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#76 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $67 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing