We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little expensive, but not a bad place to stay in...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Bangkok
Ranked #717 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Mumbai (for now!)
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little expensive, but not a bad place to stay in...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

The location is amazing, surrounded by ample joints to party and do 'stuff'. The owner Guido is a delight to talk to, very enterprising one would say. The staff is pretty helpful. Definitely not value for money though. you can get better rooms in Bkk for lesser amount. I mean there's no reason for the premium they charge.

The pool is big but no clean. The bar scene here is pretty decent, very open, but not in your face.

Strictly a place for single guys, not much for single women or couples. Has ample space for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbodhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    20
    21
    22
See reviews for
9
27
49
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed here in January for almost a week. Room is clean, I had a decent jacuzzi in mine. Some of the tv stations didn't have great reception. Get the Thai breakfast, the european one isn't very good. I didn't try the steaks in the restaurant, but had snakehead (a fish) that wasn't too bad. Great location for Soi 33 nightlife, also close to the Emporium shopping Mall and Benjasiri Park. The pool hadn't been cleaned in a while and I didn't want to swim in it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank throckmortonSanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

I stay at the Livingstones these days. Bangkok is quiet After the Fights the last days and we still have the curfew. So i was Looping for a Place where you have everything inclusive Pool, bar, Food and People to Talk to. Ok. I normal stay in These 5* places. But i real like this Place. I got a Suite with everything in it you may Need and the People are real Baring Aborte you. So if you Looping for a Place with a good Location and Good Roms and a good Prise. This is the Place to go !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillSmith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World-wide Traveller
Level Contributor
142 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

I also staid there when I am in Bangkok, and after like 30 nights I can summarize it as follows:
1) Low rise, open air, superb pool warm enough (many hotels have their pools always in the shade so they are cold) and very atmospheric restaurant around the pool in the evening.
2) Very friendly staff, you feel part of their place instead of the formalism of large hotels. German Manager is very approachable.
3) Single men who wish some typical Bangkok entertainment can visit the sport bar, which prides itself in being classy and discreet, or the surrounding bars. Couples will not feel the pressure. The hotel prices ensure that the regular low class sex tourists are kept away.
4) Good rooms, quality beds, suites boast gigantic jacuzzi. Downsize is that they are a bit spartan, and limited space for your clothes. Also not much natural light in some rooms. Except for the jacuzzi, you should spend most of your time at the pool when you can have a very good free internet. Just make sure to use the mosquito repellent spray available free at the counter.
5) Usually quite but at weekend there is noise from the nearby bars..., but this is Bangkok..... Is OK with earplugs then.
6) Not far from BTS station, still 5 minutes walk (good average compared to many other Sukhumvit hotels).
7) Restaurant is very good for steaks and German cuisine, but I must admit that I had some disappointment with some of the Thai food. Very good service and quiet atmosphere though.
Despite the competition from many glitzy hotels, it will remain my basis.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sakura Sky Residence
Sakura Sky Residence
#353 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Sukhumvit
Bangkok Hotel Lotus Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Kashiwaya Ryokan
Kashiwaya Ryokan
#527 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
CNC Residence
CNC Residence
#452 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#384 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Sukhumvit
S Box Sukhumvit Hotel
S Box Sukhumvit Hotel
#240 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Bangkok

Property: Ocean Bangkok
Address: 7 Sukhumvit Soi 33 | Khlongtan Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Livingstone's Lodge)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #717 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Bangkok 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean at Livingstone's: THE only Urban Boutique resort in Bangkok. An Oasis in the Heart of the city. Built into an old Thai residence this boutique hotel offers space and ambiance, a large area in the middle of Bangkok, with an outdoor swimming pool and high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the complex. Livingstone's Lodge is Western-managed. It is a 5-minute walk to Prompong BTS Skytrain Station and Emporium Department Store. Offering air-conditioned rooms, the hotel is equipped with an outdoor pool, a tour desk and a 24-hour front desk. The property is a 10-minute drive to Terminal 21 Department Store and Asoke MRT Subway Station. Suvarnabhumi Airport is a 40-minute drive away. Rooms at Livingstone's Lodge are fitted with parquet floor. Each room comes with a TV, a minibar and a safety deposit box. Free toiletries are included in an en suite bathroom. The Livingstone's Restaurant offers a great selection of traditional Thai and international dishes. Guests can enjoy beverages at the bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Livingstone`s Hotel Bangkok
Livingstones Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing