We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone needs to experience the Shanti Lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanti Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanti Lodge
Ranked #190 of 1,155 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Everyone needs to experience the Shanti Lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Arriving at the Shanti Lodge after a long flight was great. It literally looks like a tropical jungle placed in the middle of Bangkok. Slip your shoes off and head on in. The reception closes at 9 but the gentlemen at the bar was happy to check us in after hours. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were great. Hand woven bamboo walls gave the place a warm traditional feeling. I really felt at home here. I can't believe the poor reviews this place received. When making a reservation online it reminds you to call and pay for your room before arriving. I'm assuming this gentlemen below me ignored that and just showed up. Yes the staff take a brake at the same time and enjoy a meal together.. Didn't hurt me to wait 5 minutes to order another beer while they finished there meal. If you are an uptight person looking to complain on your holidays about everything. This is not the place for you! Stay at a 5 star hotel where the staff are paid to pretend they care what you have to say. If you are a laid back traveler looking to mingle with the locals and have a good time, then this place is for you. Do not let the reviews discourage you, this place is amazing!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scrufflepuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    105
    53
    41
    26
See reviews for
45
111
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Seinfield adage holds true for this place- it sucks to pull into your hotel after a 25 hr transit and have them pull up your reservation and then tell you they're full. The area isn't particularly nice or plentiful, so we walked to the river and took a boat to pra athit- better place to hunt for lodging.

Since its not located well enough to drop in on, and since their online reservations are ineffective I recommend staying away.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The room was ok but the staff were pretty lazy. and unhelpful if you asked about things. They just wern't interested. Maybe they arn't paid enough making them that way? The issue I had was that the staff would all sit around eating lunch or dinner and they would ask you to wait until they finished. At least one could be on the floor as it's rude to make people wait. Perhaps they could organise to have designated lunch breaks and swap people?

Room Tip: Better service out there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I planned to stay for 3 nights here but we didn't, they gave us a room that was on the main street, even with earplugs we were waking up very often with the sound of motorbikes. The room was cozy with a nice balcony (that's why it was so noisy) and clean, the only thing is that in the bathroom the sink had a leakage and was kind of smelly without the windows open. When I asked the girl at the reception for changing the room next day in the morning she showed me only another option and told me to wait until 11 to see if somebody was about checking out, she was nice, she tried her best but well, the other room wasn't as cozy as the other one. Conclusion: just don't take the rooms with balcony

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marutzianita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I've been staying here for over 10 years on and off. The place is very well kept and aesthetically has remained somewhat the same. It's atmosphere is timeless so it never needed a facelift. The proximity to the Thewet Pier is a huge plus as river travel/sky train are the best modes of transport in the big traffic laden city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The shanti Lodge is a great place to stay in Bangkok.You don't feel you are in a big city anymore when you arrived at Shantis.
Restaurant is very welcoming and laid back place to enjoy breakfast or chang beer at night! Rooms are very cute and comfortable.
You can easily catch de river ferry to visit temples, it's a nice way to go from one temple to another! Nice stay at Shanti Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara_Emmanuelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

The shanti was a great place to stay in Bangkok. I'm not a huge fan of Bangkok, and was happy to get out of there quickly to see the rest of Thailand. But I spent two nights at the shanti before I caught a train south.

This hostel lacks in it's location, but makes up for it with a great atmosphere and vibe. The restaurant and bar is a very welcoming and laid back place to enjoy breakfast or a nightcap. Dom works there at night and is extremely friendly and speaks great English. Great fellow to talk to.

I stayed in cheapest room which had a powerful fan, comfy enough bed and nice bamboo walls. The walls are thin, so if you want to sleep in... This might not be the place for you.

There is not much around the shanti but it's a 50 baht tuk tuk ride from khao San (main backpackers road with bars and shops) or a 60 baht meter taxi to the grand palace (nice wat filled "old city")

If you are just passing thru Bangkok, this is a great place to lay your head

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
Taewez Guesthouse
Taewez Guesthouse
#599 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Dusit
Baan Tepa
Baan Tepa
#316 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Manusarn
Baan Manusarn
#166 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
SSIP Boutique Dhevej Bangkok
SSIP Boutique Dhevej Bangkok
#16 of 1,155 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Banglamphu
Steve Boutique Hostel
Steve Boutique Hostel
#404 of 615 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#31 of 615 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Lodge

Property: Shanti Lodge
Address: 37 Sri Ayuthya Road, Soi 16,, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 1,155 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shanti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing