We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad if you wanna stay at the center of citylife for a couple of days” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kawin Place Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kawin Place Guesthouse
Ranked #772 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Irkutsk, Russia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not bad if you wanna stay at the center of citylife for a couple of days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here only for one night. It's situated at the middle of popular backpacker's street - Khao San Road. This situation gives you many possibilities to discover this part of a city and to have many contacts with other travellers here.
The room itself is not bad for one or two nights. They have windows, power outlets and lockable shower rooms on the third floor. They also have wifi at the lobby.

Room Tip: Try the last floor. it's quiet and air is little bit cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    22
    28
    11
    25
See reviews for
Families
0
18
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The location in this hostel is in Khao san rd so it's near everywhere also it's kind of noisy, I asked for a single room, I was impressed because there was a towel and paper on the bed! The room was tiny but very clean, they also have wifi and shared bathrooms

Helpful?
1 Thank Imecmario
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very cheap but being greeted by a sign that reads 'make sure you lock your door as we have had guests that have reported thefts' is not an ideal welcome. The room had only one power outlet, the beds weren't great, the protective grate on our interior window fell off and the door had a break near the lock where there had clearly been a previous break in. You don't get a locker like in most hostels so I had the choice between leave valuables in the room or take them all in my bag which in a touristy area neither is ideal.
I get the impression most guest houses are of a poor standard on Khao San road but this one seems to be down there with the worst. I pleasantly surprised I left with all the possessions I arrived with.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

As a solo female traveller this is one of the nicest/safest places ive stayed.
Yes its basic and you literally get a bed, a table and a mirror in your room and Yes theres noise but your seconds away from all the hustle of Khaosan so you have to expect it.
I stayed in a single room with a fan and the fan was a treat, didnt need aircon at all!
Toilets and showers are spot on and the staff are great and friendly.
Im currently on my 5th night here with 2 more to go and havent had a problem yet.
Its full of backpackers and families and everyone seems very happy to be here.
You get a fresh towel when you want and an extra bonus of a toilet roll too!
Id defo recommend this to others. Infact I already have over the 5 days ive already been here! Keep up the good work Kawin Guesthouse!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safc_ftm4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staff were rude just sat at reception watching tv didn't even look up at us when we asked questions liked there eyes were glued to the tv rooms dirty would not recommend stating here! I travel a lot around different country's this was my worst experience and I've been to a lot if places.. They should be very disappointed in the business they are running ! Disgusting .this is the 1st review I have ever written hopefully because I took the time to write this I'm helping others to find a alternative to staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sami127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for 2nights but liked it so much we stayed there for another 6. for what you pay you cant complain. Our rooms were clean but being in there so long they wearnt cleaned but if you leave your bin outside the door they change it for you and im sure in request they would clean it for you

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed there for approximately five nights, you can hear the music through the window and it kind of disturbs the sleep.
Although that's a shared toilets and showers there is hot-water in the showers and it is very clean.
A liittle pricy relative for the room you get (400 baht).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalevku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Four Sons Place
Four Sons Place
#672 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Banglamphu
Bangkok Boutique Hotel
Bangkok Boutique Hotel
#572 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#518 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#368 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Banglamphu
Florida Hotel
Florida Hotel
#728 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#337 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawin Place Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawin Place Guesthouse

Property: Kawin Place Guesthouse
Address: 86 Khao San Road | Taladyod, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #772 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Kawin Place Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing