We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defiently Pleased”
Review of Malaysia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malaysia Hotel
Ranked #396 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 23, 2009

The nicest thing about the hotel was the friendly staff. I feel they realy look out for you. Several times when I came off the elevator I was stopped by the front desk for no reason other than to say hello. They've done a good job in keeping up with the remodeling as well. The maid staff was also quite friendly and not chinsey with the towels or anything else for that matter though ofcourse I didnt abuse it.. I was also impressed with the fact that the hotel has an ecology committee that encourages being green. I booked directly with the hotel's web site. Lots of food choices around including the on location restaurant and all the street stalls. The 7-11 rt. across the street (24 hours), was also a big convience. The more I walked the area, the more interesting things I found in the way of food selection.

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank streeteats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 298 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2008

this is a good hotel at a very practical price in a good location.
stayed for 3 nights- the staff are all helpful and accommodating- from reception to maids and food servers. the massage center is also very good - the pool is a bit small though but for the price and cleanliness- its highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tets71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

I first stayed at the Malaysia in the late 1980s. Back then, it was a freewheeling sort of place, full of interesting characters from all over the world. After a twenty year break, I was pleasantly surprised to find that very little had changed. OK, so it isn't the most glamorous place to stay in Bangkok, but for the price it represents excellent value for money. Standard rooms are basic but clean and there is a full 24 hour room service menu. A TV would be nice sometimes, but who goes to Bangkok to watch TV? Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and I did not experience any problems when making reservations. Book directly with the hotel for the best rate, but book early to avoid being disappointed. The hotel restaurant is a real pleasure. You have the option of either dining inside in the non-smoking area, or outside near the fishpond. The Thai cuisine is excellent - just like home cooking, and is very reasonably priced. I would recommend the Malaysia to anyone visiting Bangkok, and would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Expatrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

typical of a 70s holiday inn room,clean 2 queen beds,tv,fridge ,24 hr coffee shop/restaurant that serve s good quality inexpensive food....staff are exceptionally courteous...overnight guests welcomed on deposit of ID card air conditioning worked 24 hrs a day...good pool and lounge area and all that for approx $20.00 a day...will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jaggeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

A Reluctant Review: I don't like alerting folk to one of my favorite and usually overbooked hotels in BKK.

A bathtub, TV, bar fridge, and convenient location, excellent and friendly service, plus a swimming pool and 24 hour coffee shop, all for 800 baht a night or thereabouts. Excellent eateries nearby also, and a 7/11 over the road. Um, rooms near the road can be noisy, and the clientele is mostly gay, if you consider the latter negative. The rooms have been somewhat upgraded, and the airconditioning now seems controllable, but don't expect a whole heap of luxury therein. -Then again, aside from the frills, I can't think what I would miss, except a little more sound insulation on the windows, and a wider range of Satellite TV. (Australian satellite TV for example is free!) But we don't go to Thailand to watch TV, no matter how long we may have been away.

Yes, they do overbook and refer people elsewhere on arrival. However, to balance this, when I turned up there for a few days on another recent occasion, waitlisted, and lacking a room, the night porter, after consulting the desk staff, took one look at my weary visage and whisked me around to their guesthouse in a soi around the corner, but that would be a different review! (and a more downmarket, but ok one).

However, despite not having a confirmed booking that accommodation was made available, and thus I was not left high and dry, although I already had 2 contingency plans in place.

-They are of course, as per prior reviews, quite capable of not honoring seemingly confirmed booking if other folk don't check out. -it's a bit like if you're on the bus, you're on....

Get a room on an upper floor, *away* from the road, if you can. The soi, (road), is noisy

The tolerance needed, as mentioned, refers to the mainly, but not exclusively, gay clientele. It suits me just fine, but may not suit some.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Brad_Douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Despite having made a reservation months in advance, reconfirming more than once (including on the morning of our arrival date!), we were informed upon arrival that there were no rooms available. We were left high and dry in Bangkok on a Saturday night with no place to stay. If you make a reservation at this place, you may be screwed like we were.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank djdawei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Stayed again at this place and it is still a good value for the money. Underground is about 10 minutes walking distance, parking is for free and pool is relaxing. Breakfast is not included but many restaurants in the area make food hunting convenient. Rooms are still clean but a bit run downed. Reservation by phone was working well and reception is working effectively,

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
#227 of 890 in Bangkok
1,269 reviews
Sathorn
The AIM Sathorn Hotel
The AIM Sathorn Hotel
#607 of 890 in Bangkok
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Din
Bangkok 68
Bangkok 68
#292 of 890 in Bangkok
350 reviews
Sathorn
BS Court Boutique Residence
BS Court Boutique Residence
#366 of 890 in Bangkok
65 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#326 of 890 in Bangkok
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaysia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaysia Hotel

Address: 54, Soi Ngam Duphli, Rama 4 Road | Thung Maha Mek, Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $25 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malaysia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Malaysia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing