We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor rooms”
Review of Malaysia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malaysia Hotel
Ranked #391 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Poor rooms”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed one night in most expensive room. Very poor room lay out. Very noisy because of nearby road & ill fitting windows. Looked to change room to cheaper alternatives but just as noisy.
Food in restaurant very good value & tasty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuartessaouira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    118
    69
    17
    20
See reviews for
19
46
126
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
las pinas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights and I could definitely say that the staff are very nice and accommodating. I especially liked the people in the front desk. They really helped us a lot in trying to get around BKK (giving us good tips and advices, which we took wholeheartedly). The place was clean and well-kept. I would gladly come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avatar_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Gave the Malaysia another visit with a mate end of May this year and have to say that the problems we encountered on our previous visit have all but disappeared, although some freelancers are still around there are far less and there was no hassle. The lovely Thai lady who works in the outside coffee shop is still there and she is delightful.

Overall it offers exceptional value for money and the staff are all very nice helpful and polite.

I'm not sure if the Hotel decided to act upon the issues which have been mentioned or the 'boys' of the night have simply moved on, or maybe we were oblivious through too much partying, however I would definitely return again, cheap cheerful and friendly, can't really ask for much more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed here for two nights but, didn't spend much time in the room. The room was clean but it's an older hotel. For it's type of hotel, the price was pretty good. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant was reasonable and also clean. The room did have a small fridge, TV and A/C.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prenston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Have been to Bangkok countless times and always stay at The Malaysia. Since our last visit however something seems to have changed. The staff are still the same, the rooms are still chintzy but adequate, the pool still a good place to swim and soak up the sun, the old man in the window over the pool is still there, but it felt different.

I always love coming back to the relaxed and laid back 'everyone welcome' vibe here but didn't come away feeling massively happy. The food here was never great but this time was worse than ever... Everything we had was cold and all tasted the same.

The air con in the rooms here is quality and really cools the room down, the beds are comfy and rooms quiet.

The staff seem much less happy than usual and even showed signs of not being bothered. We moved rooms after the first night and the reception tried to charge us again for our first room even though it was paid for and we had the receipt they didn't seem too happy at their mistake.

The atmosphere seems to have changed here and both guests and staff seem much less friendly and welcoming which made a big difference for us... So much so that when we return to BKK in a few weeks we'll be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulTeam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaue, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I,ve been to Bangkok several times and as always, look forward to my stay at Malaysia Hotel..I find booking for a room as simple as an email..I like the location ..so close to Rama IV, walking distance to Suan Lum Night Bazaar, Silom Road, Thai Boxing Stadium, Lumphini Park, MRT Station and a host of Seven Eleven stores, plus the fact that its a short distance bus or taxi ride to the shopping action at Pratunam, Platinum, MBK and Siam Paragon..the rooms are big, hot and cold shower, bath tub, ref , air con, wi-fi and cable television..and my favorite..the pool...room rates are relatively lower...The staff are all friendly and polite....the hotel ambiance is not too fancy and not too basic...its just what I need after a day of sightseeing and shopping

Room Tip: Try the Thai food at the Malai Cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csaramir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Been staying here for the last 6 years, stayed in many different places (and on different budgets) all over Thailand - this is the one place I always come back to without fail. Rooms aren't fancy, but are clean, pool and cafe are great. Staff are terrific, many of whom have been there for years.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mossvector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
Sathorn
BS Court Boutique Residence
BS Court Boutique Residence
#361 of 863 in Bangkok
62 reviews
Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
#225 of 863 in Bangkok
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
The AIM Sathorn Hotel
The AIM Sathorn Hotel
#639 of 863 in Bangkok
62 reviews
Bangkok 68
#260 of 863 in Bangkok
332 reviews
Sathorn
Annex Lumpini Bangkok
Annex Lumpini Bangkok
#360 of 863 in Bangkok
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaysia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaysia Hotel

Property: Malaysia Hotel
Address: 54 Soi Ngam Duplee, Rama4 Road | Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malaysia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malaysia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing