We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but in a mall??”

Laem Charoen Seafood - Central World
Ranked #255 of 10,959 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Siam
Description: Seafood Restaurant
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, but in a mall??”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Disclaimer: this is a restaurant chain, so perhaps others have had the opportunity to eat in other restaurants, like in Rayong or Chiang Mai. Anyway, the food was fabulous! We had a wide variety of dishes, and none were short of excellent. The staff was also amiable and efficient. The only downside for me was that I had to have this experience in a mall. Admittedly, my dislike for malls may not be generalized, but I think such food deserved a more relaxed context. As it was, being in a mall, turn-around is key and we ended up feeling slightly rushed, which was a shame. But returning to the food: I've been travelling regularly to Thailand since 1995, and can honestly say the food served here was one of the most memorable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    85
    26
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Delicious seafood”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I went with my wife after we asked our tour guide for a good seafood restaurant. It didn't disappoint, the menu had everything you want. They had so many crab dishes we weren't sure what to choose but we ended up buying the crab coconut curry and it was yummy!! The price was fantastic for a well presented restaurant. They also had a live band playing and the table settings were fantastic. I would definitely eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was our second visit to this restaurant and we went a bit crazy ordering ending up with six dishes for two people. And we really enjoyed all of them. The crab in curry might be the favourite but the New Zealand green shells were also very good as well as the oysters.
With a bottle of white wine it totalled a little short of 4000 Bath which seemed reasonable for that amount of quality food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SawadeeOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai Seafood”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have been living in Bangkok for more than four years, and this shop has some of the finest Thai seafood the city has to offer. There are multiple shops, I've always visited the one in Central World, which seems to be very popular with locals, you rarely see foreigners there. My last visit was this January. I love their Tom-Yum-Goong soup, the grilled prawns and the yellow crab curry. At dinner time the place is often full, so call ahead or stop by for a reservation. Interior and ambiance are nothing special, service is very good, as it is common in Thailand.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the best deep fried sea bass”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

don't forget to order they best seller food "deep fried sea bass in sweet fish sauce" and steamed egged squid with chilli,garlic, and lime sauce

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CakXoxo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laem Charoen Seafood - Central World also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Laem Charoen Seafood - Central World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing