We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more”
Review of Grace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grace Hotel
Ranked #811 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have visited Grace almost 5 times and everytime with my Middle eastern friends.
My previous staying was my last just because the staff is really rude. No body understand english but surely know how to shout at cuctomers. Cleaness is always
problem here. Nextime I would prefer to sleep in street rather than Grace hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank AZAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel however it is very good located and have good facility, but staff are careless and has no manner of hospitality. the cleaness of this hotel is getting terriably at rock due to the carelessness of staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank batook505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We checked in Four of us and we were charged 1350 Baths each for a night - leaded into our rooms at fourth floor and a soon as we opened the rooms we were welcomed by cockroaches every where and worse to the worse rooms were very smelly and toilets not cleaned at all, TV was very old set and few channels which were not clear most of the time. We will not be there again soon unless improvements is implimanted.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SAFARI9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Dear All ,
We had a conference of whirlpool, so the company had made arrangement with the local tour and were accommodated at grace hotel. we were all 1100 people in group
the group was very big, but the hotel had a nice service to handle such a large group
Personally for me bangkok, is a very happening place for a bachelor.
And grace hotel is the best destiny for night life lovers,
great night club, nice girls from (European and Philippians) to accompany with.
nice bowling ally, nice massage parlor, and nice location
i would love to stay there but as a bachelor
NOT AFTER MARRIAGE!!!!!!!!
ENJOY

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raunakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I have stayed at the Grace several times over the years. Remarkably, despite ongoing renovations and improvements, the defining characteristics of the place have not changed. Much of the very dated decor remains. Some areas are still in real need of refurbishment. You rarely see families or female tourists. Guests appear to be predominantly middle eastern and Indian, as before. The indifference and impoliteness of some staff is a continuing feature, and the number of ' freelancer ' women remains jaw-dropping.

The legendary windowless coffee shop of yesteryear has gone, replaced by a much smarter and airy branch of a coffee shop chain. Initially, it appeared unlikely to appeal to the sort of crowd who frequented the old place, which sold alcohol and had some attractive jukeboxes. However, It is showing signs of neglect, and is beginning to look seedy. Many girls appear to have relocated to a more promising location, the recently renovated Grace restaurant ! Time saving for you if you are hungry in more ways than one, but it can be more satisfying to be adventurous and venture outside.

By the way, on your way back from a great night out, you might be tempted to chill-out with a drink in the bar area opposite the restaurant. If you are an unaccompanied male, be prepared for a sobering experience. Rough girls sit around there, day and night. The unattractive ones are not shy to approach you. One brazen and baht-less one asked me for her bus fare home after I politely declined her lewd propositions.

Still interested? Want to make a reservation? Up until recently, you could reserve a room via email, without a deposit being requested. Sadly, that element of trust has been put to rest. Reservations can now only be made if you are prepared to pay a non-refundable 100% deposit, i.e., the room rate for one day, for most people that means using a credit/debit card. The problem is that there is no secure way of paying. You are expected to send all card details via insecure email. Refusing to take the risk I decided, reluctantly, to leave obtaining a room to chance.

Some other reviewers have commented on the quality of customer service when you check-in or pay your bills. I have to agree with the criticism. Furthermore, those shortcomings are compounded by the fact that there appears to be a vital piece of hardware missing. No computerized reservations. Check-in staff still use old fashioned ledger books, an assortment of pencils, pens and correction fluid, examine printed-out emails, before a room is confirmed for you. Try not to show your impatience.

You'll be glad to learn that the hotel has introduced a hi-tech electronic room door locking system, requiring guests to carry a swipe card ( Baht 300 cash deposit ). What you are not told in advance is that accounts staff can now remotely lock you out of your room for not paying your bills on time. Don't expect a polite reminder.

Like some other reviewers. I have mixed feelings about this hotel. If you haven't checked- out in disgust after one night, there is a good chance you will decide to return in the future, but I doubt very much you will ever really look forward to do so.

LIKES: DVD player. Wider range of satellite television channels, such as TV5 Monde, for french speakers. No cockroaches in rooms. Honest and friendly room service staff. Fun parties and events in Disco. Quite good breakfast, but modest sized.

DISLIKES: Aspects of customer service ( Front desk staff, especially the miserable old cashiers, should be setting a good example ). Low wattage economy lighting in rooms. Be prepared for ants in some rooms, keep sweet things sealed. Some rough ' ladies of the night' are very unattractive; almost as unpleasant as the cashiers! On several occasions, staff in the restaurant did not bother returning small change after I'd paid a bill. For example, a pot of coffee, including service charge came to Baht 106. I received no change from Baht 120 in notes. Furthermore, one cleaning lady asked for a tip the day I arrived. Taxi 'service' surcharge 200-300 baht more than the going rate is charged at the taxi service booth.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank partymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Well, here I'm at it again folks, writing about hotel scene so you folks can enjoy your vacation in Bangkok. The up-side about Grace Hotel is that it's centrally located with quick access to SkyTrain station at Nana plaza and this in-turn links you to Bangkok Metro Subway system, which is equally good and efficient. The down side about this hotel is that it's located in a seedy part of town - So if you're travelling with your family and children, then you want to miss this place altogether. But if you're are a solo traveller as I was and want quick access to the BTS and BMS, then this is your place. The hotel itself is okay for the price - though for the same price - you can stay at 4-star hotel with full breakfast elsewhere, though at some distance from central Bangkok and you'll have to commute a lil' bit by skytrain if you don't mind doing that. With exception of security staff, most of the other staff members at this hotel DON'T speak English well - so you'll have problems communicating with them as I had. This Hotel has had problems in the past with receiving payments from guests so the front desk staff is vigilant adamant and strict about full payment upon check-in time. I would suggest paying in full before you arrive through your travel agent or through the web. I noticed there were a lot of Arabs, Indians, Pakistanis and middle Eastern men staying at this hotel - why I don't know - may be because it's cheap, that's why? In the evening and at night, though, I noticed young working gilrs loitering in and around the hotel to be picked up by men for casual encounter if you get the drift. Also, at night time, they have an on-board Discotheque with full ghetto blaster style speakers which can be heard from way outside the hotel - if this is your kind of scene - then this is your place. I usually ate out, so I wouldn't know much about their restaurant scene as I never tried eating in one of their restaurant. There are plenty of ethnic and gourmet Cafes and Bars (British style mainly) in the vincinty of Grace - so you won't have much of a problem eating. The hotel is very old though and is not well kept - I would give it a 3-star rating at the most. Good luck and enjoy your trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank alyaly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Located on Sukhumivit Road and in Nana area. Its frequently visited by Middle Eastern and Asian tourists for two main reasons: its located in the center of the Redlight area and also close to the Bumrungrad Hospital. Grace hotel has different categories of rooms, the best ones are in Block C, those which cost 1600 Baht (approx. 49$ a night) and overlook the swimming pool). These rooms are spacious but not well lighted. The bathroom is clean. The customer service especially the receptionists in the hotel is bad except for one lady who is referred to as Mama. She is the one who can help, the others, however, are very unfriendly and sometimes rude. Grace is a brothel and not a hotel; at night tens of girls from different countries gather somewhere in the coffee shop for display. It has Arabic and Uzbek music and nightclubs. If you are looking for some sleep at night, this is not your hotel; the music begins at 9 night and stops at 7 in the early morning.
Outside the hotel, turn left and again left and you will pass through many Middle Eastern restaurants and massage parlors. Most of these restaurants are expensive. This area is also flooded with beggars, most of them are children. The scene is very tragic as mothers carry their four months babies from one corner to another in late hours. The mothers pinch the babies or beat them to cry in front of the tourists. One wonders where the UNICEF or Save the Children representatives are. Such abuses are not be taken seriously by the Thai Tourist Board but must be followed up strictly by the UNICEF and Save the Children which boast defending children. But where are they to watch such heartbreaking scenes? Anyway, in the same area is located Gulliver's pub, a very good and comfortable place to enjoy drink and food, the prices are reasonable To sum up, Grace hotel is not a good place for families and even for tourist-minded individuals but it’s a perfect place for sex mongers.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Qas419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Inn Hotel
Grand Inn Hotel
#737 of 889 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Sukhumvit
Graceland Bangkok
Graceland Bangkok
#565 of 889 in Bangkok
20 reviews
Sukhumvit
Pinnacle Sukhumvit Inn
Pinnacle Sukhumvit Inn
#807 of 889 in Bangkok
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
BelAire Bangkok
BelAire Bangkok
#161 of 889 in Bangkok
1,744 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand President
Grand President
#725 of 889 in Bangkok
1,714 reviews
Sukhumvit
128 Bangkok
128 Bangkok
#423 of 889 in Bangkok
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel

Address: 12 Nana Nua off Sukhumvit road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #811 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $41 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Grace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grace Hotel Thailand
Grace Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing