We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,385)
Filter reviews
2,385 results
Traveler rating
1,241
948
140
33
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,241
948
140
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdepartment storewashing machinethe riverrobinson shopping malltops supermarketsaphan taksin bts stationfull kitchenferry piergrand suitestreet foodstate towerhuge roomdirect accessa river view roomchao phrayasmall kitchenserviced apartment
Filter
Updating list...
1,093 - 1,098 of 2,385 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2009

The rooms are dated and could use a refresh. We stayed there two night on our way to Vietnam and even though the price we booked the room at was very reasonable, we felt that the standards of the rooms and service were not really up to the level it is advertised at. The location is convenient with easy access to shopping and night life but it is sometimes a challenge to get cab drivers to understand the name of the property. We did explore Bangkok quite a bit and coming back to the hotel did not feel as chilled and peaceful than we hoped, a bit too hectic in our taste.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Look like the hotel has been recently renovated. The rooms are incredible big and clean, with kitchen, shower, bath, DVD player, CD player and a balcony with views to the city's skyline. THe breakfast is perfect with a variety of dishes. The location is also perfect and easy to move around Bangkok by sky train, tuk-tuk or boat just behind the hotel.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Joanetcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Centrepoint Silom for two nights on our way back to Jakarta. You can tell almost immediately when you have found a great deal. Our room on the 20th floor had a view of the river, in-room wi-fi was free, the refrigerator/freezer was very large, and there was a washing machine in the room—a welcome freebie after living out of a suitcase. It's cheaper to book Centrepoint rooms through an Internet agent (we used AtSiam) than through the Centrepoint's website.

Guards quickly pick up suitcases and clear the front door area, so there is no congestion at the front door. There is a door (guarded constantly) by the elevators from the Centrepoint lobby to Robinson's department store that closes at 10:30 p.m. There are food stalls in the basement of Robinson's, but they close between 8 and 9 p.m.

The user name and password for free in-room wi-fi are on the stationery folder on the writing desk. The signal is good and strong 24 hours a day. We got a one-hour late check out and checked out at 1 p.m. We waited until 4:30 p.m. before leaving for the airport, and we were able to access wi-fi using our old room user name and password while sitting in the sofa area on "L" floor next to the fitness room.

The hotel is just a short walk from the boat landing and Taksin Bridge Skytrain station, the station just before the end of the line, so passengers going into town would travel in the direction of National Stadium (see mainly yellow, white, blue Skytrain at Taksin Bridge station and boat landing in photo). One-way Skytrain fare to Saladaeng station is Bht 25. It's also within walking distance of the fine restaurants in the Shangri-la, Oriental, and Lebua State Tower Hotels. We did not try to eat at Lebua's Sirocco rooftop restaurant because it rained both nights.

The Centrepoint is mainly a serviced apartment, so it has more amenities than a hotel, and it is more quiet, as well. The bathroom featured both a bathtub and a large glassed-in shower. The glass panels on the shower leaked water on to the bathroom floor, but the water was not in a place where we walked.

There was a toaster, hot water maker, microwave, two electric burners, sink, and place to dry dishes complete with pots and pans. A large clock on the wall was very helpful. We appreciated the soft pads on the legs of the chairs that made it possible to slide the chair across the floor without vibrations. They provided an umbrella in the closet. The large screen TV had Star Movies, Cinemax, and HBO.

The Thai and Western food at the dining room, BlueSpice, was so good that we came back even after we checked out. The waiter named Kanoksak was especially helpful, and he seemed always to be on duty, day and night. Complimentary breakfast at the BlueSpice included an egg station, croissants, fresh fruit, cereals, a toaster, and a coffee maker that seemed to take a long time to operate. The guests in the large and ample breakfast room overlooking the pool and the city were about 50-50 couples or singles. There were no children.

Housekeeping had to send someone to teach us how to operate the washing machine. They also brought to the room a large and reliable scale for us to use to weigh our bags before going to the airport (see photo). We checked our bags in the lobby, and they put our ice pack in a freezer near the reception desk until we were ready to leave for the airport. We took a taxi from the main street to the airport at 4:30 with a fare of Bht 249 on the meter when we reached the airport.

The Centrepoint Silom was our favorite of four hotels during a week's visit to Thailand. The staff were all efficient, friendly, and helpful. It is remarkably reasonably priced, and it has become our favored riverside hotel in Bangkok. Another great find on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Everyone has already talked about the great rooms (suites) etc. etc & I add that this place has huge WOW factor from the time you arrived at the door; BUT reception staff could hardly speak English & often sent me off in the wrong direction plus they had no information for a tourist on where to go, what to do, what to see, I'm sure the tourist office would supply them with brochures if they asked. This was the highlight accomodation of our trip round Asia, & with breakfast thrown in it was the cheapest stay as well.
Don't fall into the trap of asking someone for directions by saying "is this the way to" or showing a map for directions; the locals are so polite & always smile, nodding the head, & saying "yes" to the query even tho they neither have a clue as to what you are asking nor where you want to go, & furthermore they cannot read a map written in English. Remember if they are saying "yes" "yes" they don't have a clue !!!!!!!
My only critisizm of the property was that the public areas on the accomodation floors were so huge & completely marble on the walls & floors that a door shutting sounded like a clap of thunder, or children talking in the halls sounded like a football croud outside your door.
Kjay

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Simply Fantastic.. a great and neat studio apartment right in the centre of the city. Ultra resonable.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
Thank MayankG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews