We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
Ranked #294 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the room without windows. Except that, everything is good. The staffs are very friendly. It is cheap in room rate. Excellent location, the hotel is next to the station. There are restaurants around the hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Antony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALLY-SUKH, Management Team at D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your compliment after stay at Bally’s Studio Suites and most generous feedback. We are proud to be a part to make your experience perfect! We are happy to hear you enjoy our service & quality include the location.

We look forward to serving you again soon in near future.

Best regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
There are newer reviews for D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 718 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We loved this hotel and stayed for 4 nights in January. It is a good 10 minute walk of the main drag but that did not bother us.

We stayed in a room directly above the main entrance to the building, it was HUGE. The bed mattress was thick but quite hard, which was common in the places we stayed in Thailand.

The air conditioning arrived into the room via ducting (as opposed to coming directly out of an air con unit in the room) and it was difficult to get the temperature right, either too hot or cold.

The staff were SUPERB, really, really helpful.

Roof top pool was great, take your own beers up to the roof as there is no bar up there, there was a gym though!

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conrod99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALLY-SUKH, Management Team at D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your choosing Bally’s Studio Suites to stay and most generous feedback. We are proud to be a part to make your experience perfect! We are happy to hear you enjoy our service & quality include the location.

We are look forward to serving you again soon in near future.

Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I really don't have any complaints other than I left a mirror (expensive magnified one) suctioned onto bathroom mirror and when I emailed them next day they said it wasn't there. Go figure!
Room was large with a mini kitchen and quite clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALLY-SUKH, Management Team at D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the kind comments and positive rating! We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the overall services.

Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have stayed a couple of times at the Bally Suites for several days each time. Its a very good basic hotel, no frills but with a pool that is great for cooling off after a day outside in the sun. Good value for the price.

Pluses: Good location on a fairly quiet Soi, away from the main traffic of Sukumwit. Easy walking to either the Phrom Pong BTS station (across Benjasiri park, using short cut through the Imperial Queens Park Hotel) or the Asok intersection for both BTS andMRT. The hotel runs a free shuttle (electric tuktuk) to the latter during the day. Helpful staff. Rooftop pool well maintained. Fridge and microwave in room )so that you can bring home takeaway food and reheat. Very Clean. Good hot water and water pressure. Lots of good food options nearby including takeaway and street food.

Minuses: Shuttle tuktuk runs only one way (FROM but not TO hotel) and not after 5 PM. Bathrooms have tubs with shower, not a walk in shower unless you get the much more expensive suites. Sink did not have a working drain plug (important for shaving, washing small clothes). When the hotel is busy there are not enough lounges by the pool, and the ones there are not in very good condition.
.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALLY-SUKH, Management Team at D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback after stay at Bally’s Studio Suites and hope that you would have a wonderful experience on your trip.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to stay in our hotel once again.

Best regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I spent the last two nights of my Thailand trip at Bally's because my friends had stayed there before and found it has everything they need at a good price.

The location is not bad, walkable to the Asok Skytrain/MRT interchange although many will prefer the tuk tuk (there's a free one waiting outside the hotel, and it's maybe 50 Baht/person coming back). There are a few bars and restaurants nearby, along with massage shops and a 7-11 tucked away just around the corner.

The hotel reception was busy when we arrived at around 1.30pm, too early to check in as the rooms weren't ready, so it's probably best to avoid arriving early if you can schedule it that way.

My room on the sixth floor, reached via a ride in a lift with over-zealous doors, was a 'suite'. That meant a good sized room with balcony, basic en suite bathroom with broken but working tap and so-so shower, and a grubby sofa and chair around a coffee table.

A sign on the door states that cooking of any kind is prohibited, however in case you feel inclined to flout that particular rule, a microwave is provided. Minibar prices are about the same as anywhere I've seen in Thailand - surprisingly reasonable but still more than 7-11.

The breakfast buffet was surprisingly quiet, which is just as well as the cafe/restaurant seems comparatively small for the size of hotel. Food selection was fairly small, a bit of Western and Thai, but no complaints, and the filter coffee was perfectly decent.

My friends used the swimming pool tucked away on the fifth floor but I didn't get around to it. Apparently it's not usually busy because people don't know it's there, so sorry for letting the secret out!

Staff are friendly and courteous, if a little busy at times.

As I've mentioned above, not everything's perfect or pristine, but I shouldn't exaggerate; everything I needed works, and I wouldn't say it's run down.

Bally's doesn't pretend to be a luxury hotel, and is definitely not one for a honeymoon or a special treat. If you don't mind a few things being out of place, perhaps even a bit shabby in places, and can get a good price, then it's a fairly safe bet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xfazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The price is very reasonable and has most of the facilities of what a 5 star hotel would offer but just without any of the opulence.

I asked for a room on a low floor which I was given and am thankful for. Unfortunately the sink was missing from the room leaving a gaping hole which was unsightly and left me without the use of a kitchen sink. Also the battery in the door was low thus always beeping and gave me endless problems of trying to access my room. This was eventually resolved by a technician coming to change the battery but had unfortunately caused me a lot of grief until then.

I took a deluxe suite on the second floor in the new wing. The room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were both very clean. Although it was on the second floor there was no noise from the street.

The hotel is located on a one way street between soi 20 and soi 22. If your taxi approaches from Soi 20 he will have to go several meters the wrong way on the one way street which they seem happy to do if no police around. There is a free bally tuk tuk service to bring you to Ashok station but this stops at 5pm so after 5pm one has to either take a taxi or walk a good 10-15 minutes.

The reception staff never smiled and what put me off was they demanded full payment upon check in which surprised me. I first had to go to change currency in order to pay for my stay but she was insistent payment is upon check in and not upon checkout.

The security guard/door man was always so helpful and rushed to always open the door and salute.

I asked several times during my 3 day stay to speak to Kaewta Thasbutr but she was either not in the hotel or unavailable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rm1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed in room 801 which was advertised as a superior room at Ballys and booked through Agoda. as usual when booking through a third party I was shoved into one of the worst rooms that the hotel had on offer. The room was dark old and tired, The bed was like a sheet of rock with old worn out linen that had cigarette burns in the top sheet, there was an ashtray on the table despite booking a non smoking room, there was mold all around the air con vent which smelt of dampness when first turned on then changed to a gas smell, grubby marks on the walls, a broken crusty shower head and when I asked reception to be moved they claimed that they were booked out of superior rooms even though agoda showed 4 available as did their own website, I was however offered an upgrade at 800 bht per night, The front desk staff had no intrest in entertaining me as they already had my money. I have stayed in this area before and have experienced far batter value for the same cost or less, I will not be returning to ballys and would advise anyone else not to take the risk. The hotel is very far back off the main strip so the location is not ideal, I spent 6 weeks on this trip and stayed in 10 euro a night hotels in Vietnam and Cambodia that were far better quality value and service. Far better value in this area, look elsewhere!!!!

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4xv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#82 of 879 in Bangkok
928 reviews
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
#156 of 879 in Bangkok
1,042 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#364 of 879 in Bangkok
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit

Address: 172 Soi Sukhumvit 20, Sukhumvit Road | Khlong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Bally's Studio Suites Sukhumvit)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $35 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OVERVIEW Set right in the heart of Bangkok and within close proximity to major business, shopping and entertainment districts, D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit, Bangkok is beautifully appointed hotel providing guests with a comfortable living environment and all facilities. The rooms and suites feature Thai elements and furnishings that blend perfectly with modern conveniences for a comfortable stay. With just a short walking distance to Phrom Phong BTS station, which connects you to all part of Bangkok, D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit is your ideal choice of accommodation whether you are on a leisure or business trip. THE ROOMS All 78 guestrooms come with tasteful decor mixing traditional and modern styles, providing guest with a comfortable yet lively ambience. The rooms are spacious and equipped with various modern conveniences ranging from a flat-screen TV to Wi-Fi internet access for guests to make the most of their time during the stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bally`s Studio Suites Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Ballys Studio Hotel Sukhumvit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing