We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Old Bangkok Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Capital Bike Inn
Ranked #2 of 742 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have to start this review with the breakfasts, because the Old Bangkok Inn serves up the most incredible meal to start your day! I still have dreams about the tiny, filled coconut pancakes. Fruit, eggs, bread, tea - all fresh and fantastic. The service at the very charming Old Bangkok is impeccable; every person we dealt with was so warm and hospitable, we felt as though we were staying with family. Our family of four stayed in the comfortable Lotus Room and loved the outdoor shower. The location is terrific, close to the canal boat landing, temples, and delicious food (like Thip Samai!) on Maha Chai Road. Such a peaceful oasis in Bangkok.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank lauriecoconutgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 589 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We opted to do Bangkok in two parts to avoid the traffic. A couple of days in Sukhumvit and then over to old Bangkok. Part one was good, made especially good for shopping, had shirts made(highly recommend Majestic Tailors) but part two ... Old Bangkok Inn was romantic, charming, perfect for me and my wife ... we travelled on the canals, used the Nancy Chandler map .. ate all the street food ... and always came back to our hotel greeted with ice cold lemon grass tea and a cold flannel and a smile...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank layo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel was booked for us so we had to hope it would be ok. It was so much more than ok; it was wonderful!

The service was impeccable. From our welcome on arrival, through to the fabulous introduction to our rooms right through to the farewell, we had a superb stay. The rooms were amazing (we had three for our group), the breakfasts were fantastic, the staff were brilliant.

I would absolutely recommend The Old Bangkok Inn. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apronannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Romantic, enchanting, spectacular! Quite possibly the best breakfast we have ever had too! I still think about those coconut pancakes. Our first introduction to mangosteens too. We had the rose suite which was Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KVScrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to pull open the heavy doors at OBI and enter a world of cool, calm and welcoming. From the cooling cloth and iced tea to the quiet music and antique decor it was a wonderful surprise.

Breakfast is amazing! I have never been presented with a wider array of wonderfully displayed fresh fruits. The coconut pancakes are the best treat of all. Eggs cooked the way you want them. There was so much food I never missed toast ( I'm gluten free.). There was more than enough food to satisfy and carry you through your day.

From the owner, Nantye, to all the staff, one couldn't ask for a better group of people. They were warm and welcoming and made you feel like friends. Aom, Goy, Aed, Nan and Klun you know who you are! Even helped me with my Thai language. It always felt great to walk in the door after a long day of walking around Bangkok to be greeted by a smiling face. I will definitely return!

By the way, the rooms are beautiful and different from each other. Very nice indeed. I suggest a single or twin if traveling alone as the room is bigger and one doesn't really make use of the patio on the double.

Room Tip: If single don't bother with the double room with patio. It is smaller thab a twin due to the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MexicoLover100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We selected this B&B because it was a quaint and unique place. Ead was the ultimate hostess!!! The fruit plate with delicious mango was served each morning. We loved the location because we could walk to restaurants in the evening. The staff stored our luggage while we went on a short trip to Siem Reap. We stayed here twice because the staff, Kluin, Aom and Ead were so friendly and helpful. Highly recommended! Thanks again for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was my first time in Bangkok and I was glad to book a room in Old Bangkok Inn. Friendly face of Ead welcomed me and from that moment on whenever I needed advice, tip etc. she was there. Thank you Ead.
The fruit plate for breakfast was colorful and delicious with the adition of special mango coming from 50 year old tree from the garden of the hotel's owner.
I prefer places with soul to stay where ever I go. Old Bangkok Inn is a right choice if you are also looking for that kind of experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#5 of 742 in Bangkok
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#14 of 742 in Bangkok
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Capital Bike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Capital Bike Inn

Address: 607 Pra Sumen Road | Pra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Old Bangkok Inn)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 742 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $102 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Capital Bike Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as the award-winning Old Bangkok Inn, which was recommended by Conde Nast, The New York Times and TIME magazine, Old Capital Bike Inn is a boutique 10-room heritage bike inn set in Bangkok's yesteryears. Owned and operated by the same family of Old Bangkok Inn, we are located a stone's throw from Bangkok's major historical landmarks. What's new is we now offer free rentals of our fleet of restored vintage bikes as well as free night bike tours for our guests. We are a green and socially conscious establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Capital Bike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing