We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW What can I say” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Capital Bike Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Capital Bike Inn
Ranked #1 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW What can I say”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

service - great, they are warm and genuine
decore - beautiful, charming quality
room - small but lovely, beds are comfortable
food - excellent breakfast - the best we had throughout Thailand
its in a quite area - but reasonably convenient

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    77
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
98
242
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel during a recent trip to Bangkok, slept in one of the larger suit rooms and really enjoyed the atmosphere of the place. The outdoor bathtub was huge fun. The friendly and helpful staff went above and beyond. The owner got up at a crazily early hour on our last day just to make sure we had their amazing breakfast before we had to leave for our morning flight.

Would thoroughly recommend it if your looking for something fun and a little bit different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank going_gone705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Wow what a find this small guest house is - its just so peaceful and sanctuary in the middle of the hussle that is Bangkok! Nantiya is very helpful in helping you get the most of seeing Bangkok - take her advice re the river boats and how much to pay for things she is very cool lady!
Breakfasts you choose what you would like say orange juice, eggs on toast etc ... but then the food just keeps coming and comings, amazing fruits, coconut pancakes, donuts just so yummy! The rooms are a delight with lots of little touches that is so Nantiya - thanks for a trip to remember. Must also say the Aom is also really calm and helpful - flagging down taxis and making sure you get to where you are going on time etc - Its just around the corner from Koh San Road in the evenings good bars with excellent live music - 3 stops from the main shopping malls by Canal Boat an absolute must!

Room Tip: All great - very quiet great design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I would return for the warm hospitality of the staff alone. Stylish but comfortable decor inkeeping with Thai traditional style, sense of security. Slightly out of the main tourist areas giving a sense of seclusion but equally walking distance to main attractions. Worth the additional money as a small, central and personalised hotel.

Room Tip: Lemongrass was tiny but fine for our needs. Lovely ensuite bathroom with attentional to detail with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennyblack259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a charming hotel with beautiful teak throughout, attentive staff, and amazing breakfasts. Upon checking in you are presented with a delicious welcome drink (which you can also finagle on other days if you linger long enough in the lobby) and a piece of paper full of options for breakfast the next day. Each day you also receive a trinket and little note from Nantiya.

We had the Lemongrass room. It was a bit on the small side, but it was an attractive room and had a great bathroom. (The bathroom has a curtain instead of a door, FYI.) There is a rainforest showerhead with good pressure and temperature control. The patio was disappointing - it was small and dark - but part of that was beyond OBI's control because all the rain made it too damp and buggy to enjoy.

The breakfast is what sets this place apart. There was a large variety of fresh fruits: dragonfruit, jackfruit, long kong, mango, banana, guava, cantaloupe, etc. My eggs were scrambled perfectly and the sausage was, well, basically a mini hot dog, but it was still good. Our last day we had to leave at 5am and they very nicely packed us a to-go breakfast.

My main complaint is the bed was rock hard, so if you require a soft mattress you may want to look elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RainyDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

What a great place to begin our travels. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff! They were always on hand with helpful advice. The breakfast was fab, rooms lovely and traditional and location great for seeing all of the main sights! Loved this place!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhianx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Orchid room was lovely, albeit a little strange - there is no door for the bathroom (too "intimate") but a curtain. I usually drink a cup of herbal tea before breakfast, and I would ask for some hot water at each hotel. The girl at the reception did not have to be told twice: She offered me the hot water herself the next morning! However, I failed to see what the rave was about regarding the breakfast (it was very nice but not something to write a review about), until the owner came back from her trip: The owner piled up the table with many different kinds of fruits for us to try. On our last day, there was a protest nearby and we could not find a cab to go to the airport. There was a group of young people in the lobby having a private party (they were also at the hotel most nights, but they looked like they were friends of the hotel), and yet several of them went with us to find taxis all around the hotel and even gave us some mango sticky rice to take away! Thanks to them, we made it to the airport in time to board the plane. Thank you very much.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Au_Gorumand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#26 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Inn A Day
#5 of 606 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#2 of 606 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Capital Bike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Capital Bike Inn

Property: Old Capital Bike Inn
Address: 607 Pra Sumen Road | Pra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Old Bangkok Inn)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Capital Bike Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as the award-winning Old Bangkok Inn, which was recommended by Conde Nast, The New York Times and TIME magazine, Old Capital Bike Inn is a boutique 10-room heritage bike inn set in Bangkok's yesteryears. Owned and operated by the same family of Old Bangkok Inn, we are located a stone's throw from Bangkok's major historical landmarks. What's new is we now offer free rentals of our fleet of restored vintage bikes as well as free night bike tours for our guests. We are a green and socially conscious establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Old Capital Bike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing