We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment of the Millenium”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
Ranked #128 of 884 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Being A Hilton Hotel, we did expect a certain degree of quality and service - but sadly this was badly lacking.

At check-in the only 2 persons manning the desk were busy discussing/arguing with each other about something and though fully aware that customers were waiting, continued to ignore us and went on with their discussion, After a frustrating 3-4 minutes of watching this, I saw another person at the end of the desk and went to her - but she told me she was the concierge and sent me back to the 2 persons ... after another few minutes of waiting, they finally finished their conversation and then checked us in.

We stayed in Room 906 and sadly this was far from our expectations - We had booked through Booking.com and the description said "....ample work space. Amenities include a flat-screen cable TV, ....etc " (which is really pretty basic for any decent hotel) ... BUT the truth is that there was NO work space (as in a work desk that most good hotels have) ... there was just 1 round coffee table that you could use to eat/work or do whatever else you had to, on. The TV was far from Flat Screen - an ancient looking CRT TV (see photo attached) not even worth turning on.

MOST Shocking though was the condition of the toilet - It had ugly stains that had obviously been there for months due to improper cleaning (see photo).. on the 2nd day the flush would not work. And to top it all the next day housekeeping came in and took away the only 1 used soap we had and did not replace it with a new one - so when we got back at 11 pm and too tired to call and argue with housekeeping - we used bath gel to wash our hands

I dont know what Hilton is doing regarding QC Standards - but someone from Head Office needs to take a serious look at the Millenium.

The Only redeeming factor is the excellent buffet breakfast ... but nowhere near enough to convince me to ever go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBangkok, Director of Guest Services at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear RGGoa,

Thank you for choosing Millennium Hilton Bangkok as your residence during your recent visit and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Your feedback is an essential part of our efforts to continuously improve our services and facilities.

Thank you for your insightful feedback. I am sorry to hear that your experience failed to meet your expectations. On behalf of all the staffs here at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, I would like to express our sincerest apologies. Since we do not have your email address, we would appreciate if you could contact us at Ura.Rittisri@hilton.com and I will contact you directly. Please allow me to investigate the mentioned shortfall further and to contact you in due time with our findings.

Rest assured that we will continue to work toward improving our services with hospitality and deeply hope that you would give us another chance to prove Millennium Hilton Bangkok.


Best Regards,
Ura Rittisri
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,404 - 2,410 of 5,516 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Millennium Bangkok Hilton for two nights in October 2012. It was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is well located on the banks of the river and thee is a very frequest hotel boat that brings guests to the other side of the river. Rooms are big and very clean and with all the amenities one would expect from an hotel of this category. Teh only problem is the air conditioniong, which is quite noisy (and which could not really be switched off considering the sweltering outside temperaures). Staff is fiendly and available. Breakfast is very good and it is served in a big room facing the river. The only down-side are the restaurants that are extremely expensive - even for such an hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBangkok, Hotel Manager at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Dear claudiac67,

Thank you for choosing Millennium Hilton Bangkok as you and your family residence during your recent visit in October and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Your feedback is an essential part of our efforts to continuously improve our services and facilities.

We are very pleased to know that our facilities and service provided by Team Members have contributed to making your stay a memorable one. With regards to your comment about the air conditioning in the guestroom, I am sincerely sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your sleep. Your comment has been shared to the Engineering team for immediate improvement.

Rest assured that our team members endeavor to make a concerted effort to achieve ultimate guest satisfaction and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Denis Richter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I really wanted to go to Phuket on this holiday, but time was short, so we stopped over in Bangkok for a few days instead. The Room was lovely and the location and grounds of the hotel made up for not making it to Phuket!
We swam until late at night in the lovely pool surrounded by wonderful tropical fauna.
Each morning breakfast was like going around the world - amazing food and a huge variety of cuisines.
Great place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBangkok, Hotel Manager at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Leo_in_London,

Thank you for choosing Millennium Hilton Bangkok as your hotel during your recent visit in December 2011 and for your lovely comments.

It is a honor to have you call us Oasis in Bangkok! I'd just like to let you know that all of the teams here enjoyed welcoming you and hope that you will think of us when visiting Bangkok in the future.

Best Regards,
Denis Richter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel overall was really nice.
Check in was easy, checked in to a 'normal' room as we didn't feel we would get enough use out of the executive room and all that it brings, as we were going to be out and about.
Room was ok, a bit on the small side and not quite as luxurious as I had hoped, pretty standard for a city hotel, not horrible, but not amazing either. Views were good though, and the bathroom much much better than the bedroom, with a more luxurious feel to it.
Ferry was useful, we crossed to river city then hopped in a tuk tuk to go to Chinatown for some street food, also crossed to catch the public ferry to go up to the royal palace etc, it was made really easy with the flagging system and really cheap too. At first I thought the hotel was a little 'out of it' but that wasn't a bad thing as transport is so easy.
The pool area is just like the pictures, a really nice area to relax for an hour or two, and we also visited the rooftop bar which was nice and romantic later at night.
Checkout was easy and the desk called us a cab which we asked to use the meter to take us back to the airport for our next flight.
A handy tip I read somewhere - pay the toll yourself with a high note so you get some change.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBangkok, Hotel Manager at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Pouts,

Thank you for choosing Millennium Hilton Bangkok and for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to your liking.

If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. All of us at Millennium Hilton Bangkok are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Denis Richter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A little disappointing when we had a dinner on Halloween night. We entered Flow restauraunt without any welcome greeting from the waiter or reception. We had to ask a nearby waiter for our booked table. The used dishes likely to be left on our table for long until someone took them away. Anyway the place and atmostphere is quite nice but the service should be improved to fit the Hilton brand. Our last hotel visit is Ananrata with better service

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rittee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBangkok, Hotel Manager at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear rittee,

Thank you for your insightful feedback. I am sorry to hear that your experience failed to meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay.

I am very sorry to learn that some of our team members were not able to follow our service standards. Your comments have been shared with the relevant department heads and team members concerned. Rest assured that we will continue to train our team members according to our brand standards and work towards improving our services further.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Denis Richter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I had stayed here two years ago and enjoyed it so much that we decided to book it again on our second trip to BKK. It still provides wonderful service, food and ambience. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, the Millennium Hilton is the way to go. However, if you prefer the convenience of having a metro, restaurants and shopping nearby then this may not be the place for you. Yes, the hotel boat shuttles takes you across the River and to the closest BTS station, just keep in mind that it is extra time that has to be factored into your day. Next to the hotel is a 7/11 as well as a local clothing market that has wonderful deals which I highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoneandonlymaione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBangkok, Hotel Manager at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear theoneandonlymaione ,
Greetings from Millennium Hilton Bangkok!

Thank you for choosing Millennium Hilton Bangkok as your residence during your recent visit in October and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback as a return guest.

The pleasure was ours to have served you and your husband and we hope we will have the opportunity to even better serve your couple again in your next visit.

Best Regards,
Denis Richter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a very nice hotel, clean, very beautiful decorated, with very nice views. Also has a shuttle boat that can take you across the river to RIver City and also to the skytrain. Overall a very good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielaCondeescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBangkok, Hotel Manager at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear DanielaCondeescu,

Thank you for choosing Millennium Hilton Bangkok as your hotel during your recent visit in October and for your lovely comments. The pleasure was ours to have served you and we hope we will have the opportunity to even better serve you in your next visit.

Best Regards,
Denis Richter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 884 in Bangkok
8,453 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
#75 of 884 in Bangkok
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hilton Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hilton Bangkok

Address: 123 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongtonsai, Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#68 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#70 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#99 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $63 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millennium Hilton Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning new ultra-contemporary hotel with absolute river views from every guest room. Boasting outdoor infinity pool, stand alone full service Spa and a dedicated Hilton Meetings floor. Eight restaurants and bars offer exquisite local and western cuisine and cocktails to suit every palate in indoor and outdoor settings. Complimentary shuttle boat to the heart of city runs until midnight and rennowned attractions such as Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha and the Temple of Dawn are just a short boat ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Millennium Hilton Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hilton Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hilton International Bangkok
Hilton Bangkok
Bangkok Hilton
Millenium Hilton Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing