We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible surrounding area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #351 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible surrounding area”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The area this hotel is in is awful, extremely rundown and nothing nearby for a tourist to do. The khao San road is the closest thing but due to the bad area you have to walk through we did it feel safe to had to get taxis or tuk tuks which became expensive, anotber issue is that most taxi drivers havent heard of this hotel so thats something to think about. Also when we arrived the bed sheets had a number of stains on the and the air conditioning unit made it sound like there was a storm outside which made it hard to sleep. Apart from this the hotel was nice just unfortunate about the area and some aspects of cleanliness. Also the staff were not very helpful, especially a woman in reception who called the room at 11:50 when we didn't have to check out until 12 and all she said was 'downstairs now' I thought this was very rude as we were just about to make our way downstairs. Once we were checking out we asked could we leave 2 backpacks in the hotel for a few hours she said yes and glanced behind the counter. I had to open to door and walk behind myself to leave the bags in a pile. I found her attitude to be terrible and has really let down the hotel she works for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aza916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    157
    89
    18
    11
See reviews for
14
137
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

There is no lift and we stayed on the top floor - work those thighs!

The room was clean and pleasant. We had a great view of Bangkok rooftops.

The staff were not overly friendly but far from rude.

There are quite a few good restaurants within walking distance.

This hotel wasnt outstanding however was good value for money. The ideal place if you are after a decent bed, hot shower but not so much an experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torikajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February 2013 after wanting to stay close to khao san road. The location may seem far at first, although it isn't. The walk is around 10 -15 minutes. You get the best of both worlds, close to the centre, yet quiet enough to sleep!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garead90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

To the point check in, nice room, small but comfortable bed. Good shower though signs of fungus on the wall.
The hotel is in a street with no bars or restaurants, but that's what I was looking for. I slept very well because it was quiet.
If you walk towards Khaosan Road (20 minutes) you'll find enough 7 elevens, shops and restaurants on your way.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samhollznd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This place should be doing much better than it is. At $30 US dollars a night you don't expect the Shangri La, but Swana could do a bit more to up it's cleanliness. Otherwise, nice decor and a 20 minute walk to Khao San road, which isn't as laid back as it used to be. The Grand Palace is also nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to like this place.. 4 star hotel with good reviews at an absolute bargain, yet this place really lacked the basics.
First up, even with the adddress written in Thai our taxi driver took forever finding this hotel, pulling in to others on multiple occasions to ask where it is.
Secondly, all we need is a good bed and hot shower to be happy. Well if u like sleeping on concrete then that's the mattress and the shower could not cope when turned to warm.. you either got boiling hot or freezing cold.. take ur pick.
While the hotel is in walking distance to Khoa San, there is nothing of interest around the hotel. It's located in a mechanical part of town. I was somewhat disappointed.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend and my brother during a trip to Bangkok. The hotel was attractive and the rooms nicely decorated. Everything was clean and all the services and facilities you would expect for a mid range hotel were available. It was about 10 minutes walk from Khao San road, very close to the ferry stop and we had no trouble picking up taxi's outside or getting dropped back there. There is a helpful taxi map on their website for when you first arrive.

The staff were particularly kind and helpful to us, they checked us in as early as possible when we arrived in the morning fresh from a night train journey, looked up the football scores for my brother and made room for us to spread out and nap in the lobby while we waited for the previous occupants to check out the rooms we were going into. It made us feel very welcome.

The only thing I wasn't impressed by was the cafe. We ate there once and the food was fine but the menu was very limited with few Thai dishes. There are plenty of other places to eat nearby though and the cafe was fine for a quick drink and snack when needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#323 of 858 in Bangkok
411 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#298 of 858 in Bangkok
303 reviews
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#425 of 858 in Bangkok
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#202 of 858 in Bangkok
199 reviews
Banglamphu
Hotel De Moc
Hotel De Moc
#412 of 858 in Bangkok
616 reviews
Banglamphu
Boonsiri Place
Boonsiri Place
#373 of 858 in Bangkok
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swana Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swana Bangkok Hotel

Property: Swana Bangkok Hotel
Address: 332 Visuttikasat Road | Bannpantom Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu , Old City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swana Bangkok Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swana Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bangkok
Bangkok Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing