We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect De' Moc better than that...”
Review of Hotel De Moc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel De Moc
Ranked #410 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expect De' Moc better than that...”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Rooms from Deluxe and upper class are better at view (pool, garden view) and interior looks nicer. Should not choose standard room, if you do not just need a bed to sleep overnight. Standard rooms also have balcony, but street view, noisy.
- Good things are: garden with many trees, swimming pool, rooms clean, breakfast is ok.
- Something should be improved: air-con smelly room, staff not really friendly, which mostly prevent me from coming back or reccommending to others.

Room Tip: Rooms from Deluxe and upper class are better at view (pool, garden view) and interior looks nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vietnams_Charm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Angela Hanoi,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc in the Old Town of Bangkok.

Your valuable comments have been shared with all our management team and we will look at addressing some of the issues you have raised in the coming weeks.

We wish you happy travels in the future and hope you will consider returning to the Hotel De Moc once again.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    283
    153
    58
    45
See reviews for
64
242
53
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is about 10 minute walk from Khao San Road, and was a good location for the price. Staff was very nice and the breakfast/coffee spot they have in the lobby is pretty good as well.

Your reservation should also come with a free Tuk-Tuk ride to Khao San Road; be sure to take advantage of this. It's the only time in Bangkok you can enjoy a Tuk-Tuk without the bad aftertaste of a scam coming from your wallet.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Greg C,

Thank you very much for the compliments on our services and facilities. We would like to express our appreciation for your positive review and our whole team were delighted you had such an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for also mentioning our complimentary Tuk-Tuk service to the nearby Khaosan Road. This service is run during the daytime and is a great way of getting to one of the main tourist areas in the city.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon to the Hotel De Moc in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, after travel for 2 months. The hotel looks is vintage but in good shape. Nice infraestructure, swimming pool, spa. Rooms are big, and have balcony. Its lcated in a quite place near kao san. The buffet breakfast is very complete! You can choose what you want western or asian.
Wifi connection works very good!
Like it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CLB L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear CLB L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Hotel De Moc.

We are glad you had an enjoyable 3 day stay with us and liked the hotel’s buffet breakfast and large outdoor swimming pool.

We hope you will come back again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hotel De Moc provides convenience without being right in the heart of noisy Koa San Road. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Wi-fi is free but was only accessible to in the lobby. Breakfast is bog standard continental with a few odd looking hot options. Staff are helpful if a little demanding. A free tuk tuk is on offer to take guests to local attractions and bars. The pool is a great suntrap in the morning. All in all a solid option if exploring Bangkok in just a few days.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClubbK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Clubbk,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the kind words expressed in your review.

Your on-line comments will be shared with all our staff who I am sure will be very pleased to read them.

We look forward to your next visit to the Hotel De Moc.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Clean nice hotel with lovely swimming pool, good if your looking for something a bit quieter but within reach of khaosan road. I can't comment on the food as I didn't use the restaurant. Lovely clean rooms with international tv channels and great wifi connection

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glasgowdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Glasgowdude,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hotel De Moc on Tripadvisor, which may help others in considering us as their hotel of choice in Bangkok.

We were also very thrilled to hear of your positive experiences and that you were able to make the most out of the hotel's location in the 'Old Town'.

Your positive comments have been shared with all our staff and I am sure it will motivate our team to continue providing the best customer service we can.

Hope to see you back in Bangkok again soon!

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed 3 nights & thought the hotel was in a great location. The room was very clean & the staff very helpful. The had a great view overlooking the front of the hotel. We had room only so I cannot comment on the food. Would also recommend the Taylors in the lobby, my husband had a suit & coat made - they fit perfect, excellent service

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojowoolybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Jojowoolybak,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel in the heart of the ‘Old Town’ in Bangkok.

We were delighted to learn you had such an enjoyable stay and made the most of everything our hotel has to offer. We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff’s high level of customer service.

We have also shared your review with our Tailor "De Moc Fashion" and they also expressed their gratitude for your kind words.

We look forward to your next visit to the Hotel De Moc.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Spent two nights in Bangkok on the way to Australia. This hotel is very good value for money, room was very clean and comfortable and buffet breakfast was included in the price with good selection of food. It was also nice to have a swimming pool to relax around. Bangkok was great fun with lots to see and do and this was a very good base. Would definetely stay at this hotel again hopefully for a bit longer next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florrie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Florrie21,

Thank you for staying at our retro 60’s city hotel, located in the heart of the ‘Old Town’ of Bangkok.

Our whole team were delighted to read you had such pleasant stay and were impressed with all the different hotel services we offer.

We really appreciate your kind recommendation and hope you will be able to return again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#185 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#436 of 859 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#122 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#171 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#350 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Moc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Moc

Property: Hotel De Moc
Address: 78 Prajatipatai Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Moc 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Moc is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok, the perfect vacation destination and sightseeing attractions, such as Rattanakosin Island, Grand Palace and Golden Mount. Reflecting traditional standards of excellent service and hospitality, Hotel De Moc offers the most up to date facilities including Wi Fi Hot Spot Internet access, free 24 hr. bicycle service, free tuk tuk serviceHotel De MOC is also a gateway to Khao San Road, the world famous area of Bangkok, where you can buy anything from a College Degree to a Cartier Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel De Moc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Moc Hotel
De Moc Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing