We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again!”
Review of Hotel De Moc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Moc
Ranked #417 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was surprised by the good reviews this hotel has after our stay this past weekend. Super overprized for what it offers. Lobby smells like old sewage, which went all the way to the resturant.
Breakfast was ok, nothing too good about it, but ok. Our room ("deluxe") was on fifth floor so it had a view which could distract us from the old furniture, wall cracks, bathroom mold and dirt, robes full of holes, not working lights and dirty sandals.
We had the bad idea to order a burger to our room, which we were unable to eat as it had chunks of fat in the patty.
The biggest problem for us was it was not so close to anything and taxis and tuktuks had trouble knowing where to take us when we showed them the hotel card. If I could walk long distances it would be fine, but if not it can be a problem.
pool was lways full, although a great break after a long day. Massages were really nice. 100 baht more expensive than others but nice.
ah! bed was so uncomfortable that the massage was a must after 2 nights of sleep.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maca333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Maca333,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to write an online Trip Advisor review of your recent experiences.

We are very sorry to read on this website that you were very dissatisfied with the services and facilities we provide at our hotel.

The Buddy Group takes constructive feedback such as this very seriously and we would like to apologize to you for any perceived lack of customer service on our part. Your comments have been noted and passed to all the relevant Department Managers to study and implement changes where they are needed.

Your Deluxe room on the 5th floor has a good balcony view of our swimming pool and beyond to the beautiful nearby temple of Wat Tritosathep. From the on-line comments and guest questionnaires we have received over the last 6 months, we feel these rooms are very popular and ideal for a short city stay.

We understand that our retro 60’s style rooms may not be to the taste of all our guests. We have 92 rooms in this hotel and since our company took over in 2009 we have installed new wooden floors in every room as well as replacing new curtains, baths, beds and a whole host of other essential items. It is simply not true that everything has been left and neglected.

Your comment regarding the quality of the room service you ordered has been shared with the Hotel’s Food and Beverage Manager, who will investigate thoroughly this incident.

Regarding the price for a massage at the Hotel's swimming pool area we feel it is consistent with the prices charged by similar hotels in this area. We do not believe we significantly overcharge on what is a professional service offered by our spa team.

The hotel’s location is approximately 10 minutes walk away from the world famous Khaosan Road area of Bangkok. This popular tourist destination can be easily reached during the daytime through our complimentary Tuk-Tuk service. At night the hotel is between 40-50 Baht from Khaosan.

Maca333 we are sorry you experienced so many difficulties during your stay and hope you were able to enjoy a short vacation to Thailand.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 641 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Been staying at this hotel every time the last 3 years.
Situated very close to BKK main attractions as Grand Palace, the river,
the shopping area as MBK and also on a walking distance to Sirocco.
At the hotel you shouldn't miss their old vehicles standing in an exhibition
just outside the entrance, on the parking place.
Resonable breakfast, lot of things to choose from and room style close to old Singapore style with dark furniture and light walls.
We hardly want to recommend this ...

Room Tip: higher floors is of course better, less noicy and try to avoid rooms towards the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgitta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Birgitta G,

Thank you for returning to the Hotel De Moc and for making us your first choice whenever you come to Bangkok.

All our staff were delighted to learn you were happy with the hotels location and the collection of classic cars and bikes exhibited in the courtyard.

We hope you will have the opportunity to return to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was torn between adverage and very good for this one, simply because of the price and the awful balcony. A balcony is something we were shopping around for and an important factor in our choice of hotel. For some reason, with the hotel half empty we were stuck in a room with a balcony overlooking a motorway flyover, and by that I mean literally 20 meters away. If you've ever been to Bangkok you'll know that it never sleeps, ever, so be forewarned.
Having said that the room was very nice, not sure of the 'retro' aspect, seemed a bit awkward and unnecessary.
The staff at the front were very friendly and happy to help, the bell boys that is, reception were pretty indifferent.
The prices in the restaurant and cafe are absolutely obscene. 100 Baht for a cup of tea? Simple really, dont eat there.
Unfortunately there was no chance to use the pool due to rain, but it looked nice enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Paige G,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that overall you found the staff at our hotel to be friendly and able too assist you with your requests. I have passed your comment regarding the attitude of the reception staff to our Front Office Manager who will work with her staff too improve the level of service provided by our Front Desk.

We are sorry if you were unhappy with the position of your room in the hotel. The Hotel De Moc has 92 rooms and unfortunately only a limited number have a balcony forward facing towards the swimming pool. We wish you had brought this issue to our attention during your stay as we may have been able to reassign your room, if a different room was available.

Our Food and Beverage Manager regularly compares the prices in our restaurant to nearby hotel restaurants and we believe we are competively priced for a hotel located in this part of Bangkok.

Thank you again for staying at the Hotel De Moc.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and were very impressed. The rooms are large and nice, the pool very refreshing and there's a free shuttle (tuk tuk/minivan) to Khoa san Road). Rooms in Bangkok are more expensive than elsewhere in Thailand but this place compared extremely favourably to the slightly cheaper place we had pre-booked near Khoa san Road for the last night of our trip. Breakfast was ok and 1 evening we eat at the 'Beer Garden' hotel restaurant which was excellent food but we got a nasty shock when they added on a 10% service charge and 7% VAT at the end - everywhere else we went in Thailand (apart from 1) the tax was included and the service charge ie tip, was optional. The only other problem we had was the taxi drivers didn't know where the hotel was, despite us giving them the address and showing them on a map!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Katrina721,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc beside the beautiful temple, Wat Tritosathep. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review and comment on your recent stay with us.

We are sorry if you were surprised after receiving your bill at Thai Wah Restaurant. All correctly registered restaurants under Thai law must charge a 7% VAT charge on all food and beverage items.

It is also the case that most restaurant’s will charge a 10% service charge, the only places where this would not happen are the smaller family run Thai restaurants. Some restaurants choose to work the service charge into the menu price and other places will add it on to the bill at the end.

In the case of the Hotel De Moc we are very clear, every page on all our menus clearly states that these prices do not include VAT and Service Charge. Our prices are very clear and transparent and we are certainly not trying to overcharge our valued guests.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed a relaxing stay at our hotel and hope you will consider returning again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour. Able to walk to markets/nightlife - this hotel is in the old part of Bangkok. Had to catch a cab into the city to visit friends and in peak hour took just over an hour. Pool was nice and deep. Beer garden to relax external to the main hotel. Lift parallel to front door smelt quite strongly of bleach (ended up only taking the stairs- difficult sometimes in heels :D). Overall presentation of rooms was pretty good for price range of tour we were on

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMSimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear CM Simo,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel De Moc during your recent holiday to Thailand. It was a pleasure to be able to welcome you and your tour group to our hotel.

We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and liked the hotel’s outside swimming pool and our relaxing beer garden.

We hope you will choose our hotel again the next time you are in Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

First impression of hotel is very impressive. Retro 60s style hotel.Staff was very cooperative & friendly.Rooms are neat & clean.
Location is also very good,near to khosan road.Overall good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Aniket S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Aniket S,

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay at our hotel in the heart of the ‘Old Town’ in Bangkok.

We were delighted to learn you had such an enjoyable stay and made the most of everything our hotel has to offer. We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff’s high level of customer service.

We look forward to your next visit to the Hotel De Moc.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights here and the room was spacious and clean. The food at the restaurant was excellent, both breakfast, lunch and dinner offered a wide range of delicious food. Location wise the hotel is in a good central position within walking distance to some of the attractions such as the metal palace and the golden mount. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear John 4017,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc during your recent visit to Bangkok.

We are delighted to learn you had an enjoyable stay here and particularly liked the food offered during our breakfast buffet and the Tai Wah Restaurant.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#481 of 891 in Bangkok
246 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#180 of 891 in Bangkok
1,357 reviews
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#343 of 891 in Bangkok
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#361 of 891 in Bangkok
1,342 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#144 of 891 in Bangkok
1,872 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#414 of 891 in Bangkok
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Moc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Moc

Address: 78 Prajatipatai Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $37 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Moc 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Moc is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok, the perfect vacation destination and sightseeing attractions, such as Rattanakosin Island, Grand Palace and Golden Mount. Reflecting traditional standards of excellent service and hospitality, Hotel De Moc offers the most up to date facilities including Wi Fi Hot Spot Internet access, free 24 hr. bicycle service, free tuk tuk serviceHotel De MOC is also a gateway to Khao San Road, the world famous area of Bangkok, where you can buy anything from a College Degree to a Cartier Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel De Moc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Moc Hotel
De Moc Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing