We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to markets or cab to retail precincts and nightlife”
Review of Hotel De Moc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel De Moc
Ranked #407 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Walk to markets or cab to retail precincts and nightlife”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour. Able to walk to markets/nightlife - this hotel is in the old part of Bangkok. Had to catch a cab into the city to visit friends and in peak hour took just over an hour. Pool was nice and deep. Beer garden to relax external to the main hotel. Lift parallel to front door smelt quite strongly of bleach (ended up only taking the stairs- difficult sometimes in heels :D). Overall presentation of rooms was pretty good for price range of tour we were on

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMSimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear CM Simo,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel De Moc during your recent holiday to Thailand. It was a pleasure to be able to welcome you and your tour group to our hotel.

We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and liked the hotel’s outside swimming pool and our relaxing beer garden.

We hope you will choose our hotel again the next time you are in Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    286
    155
    57
    45
See reviews for
65
244
53
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

First impression of hotel is very impressive. Retro 60s style hotel.Staff was very cooperative & friendly.Rooms are neat & clean.
Location is also very good,near to khosan road.Overall good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Aniket S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Aniket S,

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay at our hotel in the heart of the ‘Old Town’ in Bangkok.

We were delighted to learn you had such an enjoyable stay and made the most of everything our hotel has to offer. We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff’s high level of customer service.

We look forward to your next visit to the Hotel De Moc.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights here and the room was spacious and clean. The food at the restaurant was excellent, both breakfast, lunch and dinner offered a wide range of delicious food. Location wise the hotel is in a good central position within walking distance to some of the attractions such as the metal palace and the golden mount. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear John 4017,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc during your recent visit to Bangkok.

We are delighted to learn you had an enjoyable stay here and particularly liked the food offered during our breakfast buffet and the Tai Wah Restaurant.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Shabby hotel iin a shabby area Staff [reception staff especially] were rude on arrival and demanded I pay for 3 nights up front - I had booked on Booking.Com where the norm is to pay on leaving, I broke a cup in my room and was suitably chastised and had to pay 100 baht fine! Drab swimming pool and dirty bathroom. Some reiewers on Booking.com reported cockroaches and I could see why. There are simply better options nearer Khao San Rd. All of the hotels we have stayed at on our month long trip in Thailand have been very good and I do not complain easily but at 64 years old I find rudeness unacceptable. Avoid!

Room Tip: Avoid Hotel DeMoc better options nearer Khao San
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyewitness26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Eyewitness 26,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to write a review of your experiences on Trip Advisor. Our whole team is disappointed to read you did not have an enjoyable experience at our hotel.

The Buddy Group takes constructive feedback such as this very seriously. The incidents detailed above, as well as the unprofessional service from our team were obvious shortfalls on our side and we wish to reassure all future guests that these areas are already being addressed to prevent any future re-occurrences.

Please may we take this opportunity to respond to some of the points raised.

Firstly, the Hotel De Moc is an old building, not a shabby building and this hotel has been active in Bangkok for over 60 years. The current management took over the premises in 2009 and we have worked hard to renovate and upgrade the overall hotel experience. We feel the hotel now reflects a real feel of the 1960’s with plenty of charm and character.

Equally, the surrounding area is right at the heart of the historical ‘Old Quarter’ of Bangkok and our location is close to a number of key tourist sites such as The Grand Palace, Democracy Monument & Wat Pho.

Secondly, we are sorry if you felt our Reception Staff were inhospitable when you first arrived at our hotel. Your comment has been passed to our Front Office Manager, who will work with our staff to provide a higher level of customer care when they are checking-in new guests.

At the Hotel De Moc it is part of our check-in policy that all rooms are paid in full when the guest’s first arrive at the hotel. We understand that this might not be the case at every Thai hotel, but this policy is practiced throughout all 6 hotel’s which make up the Buddy Group.

Thirdly, it is a common hotel policy that any damage or breakages to hotel items is the responsibility of the guest who caused the damage. We understand that in this case it was ‘only’ a cup in your room, but the principle remains the same, this item would need to be replaced and the hotel has the right to recover this money from the guest.

We are sorry that Eyewitness 26 had such an unpleasant stay at our hotel, but we would like to reassure all future guests that the incidents described in this review are not the norm and most of our guests have both an enjoyable and relaxing time at our hotel.

Yours Sincerely

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at hotel De Moc and enjoyed the stay. Our room was big and had views of the pool and a temple. Staff was very friendly and helpful at all occasions. Breakfast was fine. There are certainly more central locations to stay at in Bangkok but this hotel is in a nice area and major sights are not far away by taxi or tuk tuk. Can recommend and would come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerrisXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Ferris XL,

Thank you for staying at our retro 60’s style hotel in Bangkok and for writing a review of your time there on the internet.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay here and hope you will choose the Hotel De Moc again the next time you visit Thailand.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

well run. even had a king size bed by US standards. had no problem finding it. can be booked easily with Khiri tours. I just got back and was quite impressed. no city noise either. temple is across the street. great freshwater pool with a quite reasonable thai massage.(she did a amazing job) . its not offered as deluxe hotel but is quite nice. good walking location for tourism. I was coming from Chicago and after 2 days flying, was able to get a pick up at the airport. definably I would go back to this one. good breakfast also.

Room Tip: if you don't like the first room, ask for another one. they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan-travelpriories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Susan-travel priories,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc as part of your Khiri tour around Thailand. The whole team here are very pleased to read you had a pleasant and relaxing stay at our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast buffet and it is also good to know you had a very enjoyable, professional massage from our Spa team.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review of your stay and hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Hotel De Moc is in a great location. Only a 10 minute stroll from the up and coming Samsen area which has many good restaurants and bars, and a furher 5 minute stroll from Khaosan Road. We have stayed in several hotels in the Banglamphu and Sukhumvit areas over the last 12 years, and have also checked out many more, but we have yet to find a similarlly priced hotel of this standard with such a big pool in a lovely ground floor garden setting, AND in the sun all day.
We had some issues with the pool on two occasions, but the Guest Services Manager was very helpful, and did his best to sort it out. However, for some reason the water level was always much lower than it should have been, so the water wasn't spilling into the overflow. If this was amended, it would go a long way to boost the filtering system and also make it easier to exit the pool as the bottom steps of the ladder were quite high up..
We stayed at this hotel four times in four months for a duration of 5 days each time. There are two free Tuk Tuks to and from Khaosan Road, which takes about 5 minutes. But even though we left the hotel at least twice a day and walked in the general direction of Khaosan road, we were never lucky enough to get a free ride, and were told each time we asked, that the Tuk would be at least another 15 minutes. It was therefore quicker to walk.
The rooms are pleasant,, fairly spacious, and VERY clean. The beds are good quality and comfortable, and we loved the towel origami - elephants, dogs and swans! The bathroom was adequate, but if you have dodgy knees or hips, it's a bit tricky getting out of the shower which is over the bath . Decent size balcony with comfortable chairs. We stayed in a superior room on the first occasion, and a standard room on the other three, but couldn't honestly see the difference except that the superior rooms which are higher up have better city views.
The staff were very polite, but the door staff and room maids were particularly friendly and helpful.
We are unable to comment about the spa as we didn't use it, except to say that the setting looked great. And neither can we comment on the breakfast as we don't eat breakfast.
Friends of ours stayed at Hotel De Moc following our recommendation, and were more than happy with the whole experience.
We were unable to submit this review without star rating the Spa and breakfast , so these ratings are based on our friends experiences.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as they all have views of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noeluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear NoelUk,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc four times during your recent vacation to Thailand. It was a real pleasure having you stay here and it is nice to know you were very happy with our facility and our high level of customer service.

Your recommendations regarding the swimming pool have been passed to our engineering department who will look into the possibility of implementing these changes.

We are sorry you were unable to use the complimentary Tuk-Tuk service to Khaosan Road, this service can sometimes be very busy, especially if the hotel is holding a conference or meetings.

We really appreciate your kind words and Trip Advisor recommendation to other travellers to stay at our hotel. The whole team looks forward to your next holiday to Thailand later this year.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#177 of 863 in Bangkok
1,287 reviews
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#443 of 863 in Bangkok
224 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#125 of 863 in Bangkok
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#351 of 863 in Bangkok
320 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#366 of 863 in Bangkok
1,029 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#147 of 863 in Bangkok
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Moc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Moc

Property: Hotel De Moc
Address: 78 Prajatipatai Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Moc 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Moc is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok, the perfect vacation destination and sightseeing attractions, such as Rattanakosin Island, Grand Palace and Golden Mount. Reflecting traditional standards of excellent service and hospitality, Hotel De Moc offers the most up to date facilities including Wi Fi Hot Spot Internet access, free 24 hr. bicycle service, free tuk tuk serviceHotel De MOC is also a gateway to Khao San Road, the world famous area of Bangkok, where you can buy anything from a College Degree to a Cartier Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Moc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Moc Hotel
De Moc Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing