We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and a nice place to stay!”
Review of Hotel De Moc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De Moc
Ranked #406 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights here and the room was spacious and clean. The food at the restaurant was excellent, both breakfast, lunch and dinner offered a wide range of delicious food. Location wise the hotel is in a good central position within walking distance to some of the attractions such as the metal palace and the golden mount. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear John 4017,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc during your recent visit to Bangkok.

We are delighted to learn you had an enjoyable stay here and particularly liked the food offered during our breakfast buffet and the Tai Wah Restaurant.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Moc
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 627 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Shabby hotel iin a shabby area Staff [reception staff especially] were rude on arrival and demanded I pay for 3 nights up front - I had booked on Booking.Com where the norm is to pay on leaving, I broke a cup in my room and was suitably chastised and had to pay 100 baht fine! Drab swimming pool and dirty bathroom. Some reiewers on Booking.com reported cockroaches and I could see why. There are simply better options nearer Khao San Rd. All of the hotels we have stayed at on our month long trip in Thailand have been very good and I do not complain easily but at 64 years old I find rudeness unacceptable. Avoid!

Room Tip: Avoid Hotel DeMoc better options nearer Khao San
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyewitness26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Eyewitness 26,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to write a review of your experiences on Trip Advisor. Our whole team is disappointed to read you did not have an enjoyable experience at our hotel.

The Buddy Group takes constructive feedback such as this very seriously. The incidents detailed above, as well as the unprofessional service from our team were obvious shortfalls on our side and we wish to reassure all future guests that these areas are already being addressed to prevent any future re-occurrences.

Please may we take this opportunity to respond to some of the points raised.

Firstly, the Hotel De Moc is an old building, not a shabby building and this hotel has been active in Bangkok for over 60 years. The current management took over the premises in 2009 and we have worked hard to renovate and upgrade the overall hotel experience. We feel the hotel now reflects a real feel of the 1960’s with plenty of charm and character.

Equally, the surrounding area is right at the heart of the historical ‘Old Quarter’ of Bangkok and our location is close to a number of key tourist sites such as The Grand Palace, Democracy Monument & Wat Pho.

Secondly, we are sorry if you felt our Reception Staff were inhospitable when you first arrived at our hotel. Your comment has been passed to our Front Office Manager, who will work with our staff to provide a higher level of customer care when they are checking-in new guests.

At the Hotel De Moc it is part of our check-in policy that all rooms are paid in full when the guest’s first arrive at the hotel. We understand that this might not be the case at every Thai hotel, but this policy is practiced throughout all 6 hotel’s which make up the Buddy Group.

Thirdly, it is a common hotel policy that any damage or breakages to hotel items is the responsibility of the guest who caused the damage. We understand that in this case it was ‘only’ a cup in your room, but the principle remains the same, this item would need to be replaced and the hotel has the right to recover this money from the guest.

We are sorry that Eyewitness 26 had such an unpleasant stay at our hotel, but we would like to reassure all future guests that the incidents described in this review are not the norm and most of our guests have both an enjoyable and relaxing time at our hotel.

Yours Sincerely

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at hotel De Moc and enjoyed the stay. Our room was big and had views of the pool and a temple. Staff was very friendly and helpful at all occasions. Breakfast was fine. There are certainly more central locations to stay at in Bangkok but this hotel is in a nice area and major sights are not far away by taxi or tuk tuk. Can recommend and would come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerrisXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Ferris XL,

Thank you for staying at our retro 60’s style hotel in Bangkok and for writing a review of your time there on the internet.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay here and hope you will choose the Hotel De Moc again the next time you visit Thailand.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

well run. even had a king size bed by US standards. had no problem finding it. can be booked easily with Khiri tours. I just got back and was quite impressed. no city noise either. temple is across the street. great freshwater pool with a quite reasonable thai massage.(she did a amazing job) . its not offered as deluxe hotel but is quite nice. good walking location for tourism. I was coming from Chicago and after 2 days flying, was able to get a pick up at the airport. definably I would go back to this one. good breakfast also.

Room Tip: if you don't like the first room, ask for another one. they are very helpful.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan-travelpriories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Susan-travel priories,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc as part of your Khiri tour around Thailand. The whole team here are very pleased to read you had a pleasant and relaxing stay at our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast buffet and it is also good to know you had a very enjoyable, professional massage from our Spa team.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review of your stay and hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Hotel De Moc is in a great location. Only a 10 minute stroll from the up and coming Samsen area which has many good restaurants and bars, and a furher 5 minute stroll from Khaosan Road. We have stayed in several hotels in the Banglamphu and Sukhumvit areas over the last 12 years, and have also checked out many more, but we have yet to find a similarlly priced hotel of this standard with such a big pool in a lovely ground floor garden setting, AND in the sun all day.
We had some issues with the pool on two occasions, but the Guest Services Manager was very helpful, and did his best to sort it out. However, for some reason the water level was always much lower than it should have been, so the water wasn't spilling into the overflow. If this was amended, it would go a long way to boost the filtering system and also make it easier to exit the pool as the bottom steps of the ladder were quite high up..
We stayed at this hotel four times in four months for a duration of 5 days each time. There are two free Tuk Tuks to and from Khaosan Road, which takes about 5 minutes. But even though we left the hotel at least twice a day and walked in the general direction of Khaosan road, we were never lucky enough to get a free ride, and were told each time we asked, that the Tuk would be at least another 15 minutes. It was therefore quicker to walk.
The rooms are pleasant,, fairly spacious, and VERY clean. The beds are good quality and comfortable, and we loved the towel origami - elephants, dogs and swans! The bathroom was adequate, but if you have dodgy knees or hips, it's a bit tricky getting out of the shower which is over the bath . Decent size balcony with comfortable chairs. We stayed in a superior room on the first occasion, and a standard room on the other three, but couldn't honestly see the difference except that the superior rooms which are higher up have better city views.
The staff were very polite, but the door staff and room maids were particularly friendly and helpful.
We are unable to comment about the spa as we didn't use it, except to say that the setting looked great. And neither can we comment on the breakfast as we don't eat breakfast.
Friends of ours stayed at Hotel De Moc following our recommendation, and were more than happy with the whole experience.
We were unable to submit this review without star rating the Spa and breakfast , so these ratings are based on our friends experiences.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as they all have views of the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noeluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear NoelUk,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc four times during your recent vacation to Thailand. It was a real pleasure having you stay here and it is nice to know you were very happy with our facility and our high level of customer service.

Your recommendations regarding the swimming pool have been passed to our engineering department who will look into the possibility of implementing these changes.

We are sorry you were unable to use the complimentary Tuk-Tuk service to Khaosan Road, this service can sometimes be very busy, especially if the hotel is holding a conference or meetings.

We really appreciate your kind words and Trip Advisor recommendation to other travellers to stay at our hotel. The whole team looks forward to your next holiday to Thailand later this year.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I booked online and put a deposit on my credit card. They couldn't find my booking which I wasn't too keen about. When I gave them my booking number on my iPhone she deleted it. Eventually after quite some time we had it all sorted out. I had a "retro" room overlooking the pool. The light fixtures were cool. The service pool side was great and it did have a little mad men feel. They were very helpful with calling me cabs since it was too far away to take the metro. The breakfast Buffett was overpriced for what you got. It just needs a little tweaking.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Katrina B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

May we start by extending our sincerest apologies for any problems you encountered whilst checking into our hotel. Your valuable feedback will help us correct this error so that it does not reoccur again in the future.

We are pleased to read you liked the style of our rooms and enjoyed the view overlooking the main entrance and swimming pool. We also really appreciate your kind words regarding the personal service provided by our Door staff and Restaurant servers.

Your comments regarding the Breakfast Buffet have been passed to our Food and Beverage Manager who will re-evaluate the breakfast selection options currently on offer.

We are glad overall you had a good stay with us and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

this hotel is in the older section of bangkok. It is not close to either of the rapid transit systems in the city. It is also right above a noisy busy motorway. I am staying in this hotel as apart of a tour package for one night and would not recommend this hotel. I have stayed the previous three nights at the tai pan hotel on the other side of town.....it is right by two rail stations, is a lot quieter and has a gym and pool. The website says there is a fitness centre in hotel de moc....there is not. The wifi is hit and miss, but the breakfast is not bad...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DungogSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear DungogSteve,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel De Moc as part of your tour package. We are sorry to read you did not have an enjoyable experience.

Our hotel is located in the traditional old town of Bangkok. We are a short walk away from many cultural sites of interest including the Grand Palace, Wat Pho and The Golden Mount. It is true we are about 30-40 minutes away from the Sky Train and Siam Square, but in terms of the size of Bangkok that is not too great a distance.

The Hotel De Moc is an old building as you rightly say and it has been active as a hotel for over 60 years now. The current management took over the premises in 2009 and since then we have worked hard to renovate and upgrade the overall hotel experience. We feel the hotel now reflects a real feel of the 1960’s with plenty of charm and character.

We have double checked our website and also a number of other travel sites and we cannot see where it says the hotel comes with a fitness centre. Our sister hotel the Buddy Lodge on Khaosan Road does have a gym. This facility is nearby and is available for our guests to use for a small fee, but we have do not have a fitness centre at our hotel.

Thank you for your comment about our breakfast buffet we are pleased you enjoyed the choice and options we offer each morning.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#172 of 880 in Bangkok
1,313 reviews
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#469 of 880 in Bangkok
233 reviews
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#353 of 880 in Bangkok
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#146 of 880 in Bangkok
1,833 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#378 of 880 in Bangkok
1,057 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#134 of 880 in Bangkok
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Moc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Moc

Address: 78 Prajatipatai Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $31 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Moc 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Moc is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok, the perfect vacation destination and sightseeing attractions, such as Rattanakosin Island, Grand Palace and Golden Mount. Reflecting traditional standards of excellent service and hospitality, Hotel De Moc offers the most up to date facilities including Wi Fi Hot Spot Internet access, free 24 hr. bicycle service, free tuk tuk serviceHotel De MOC is also a gateway to Khao San Road, the world famous area of Bangkok, where you can buy anything from a College Degree to a Cartier Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Moc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Moc Hotel
De Moc Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing