We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location medium quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Moc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Moc
Ranked #421 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good location medium quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is located 20 minutes walk from Khao San Road, there is a free tuk tuk but does not always work, only few-hours x day, the rest of the day you have to pay a large sum because they charge you more for a call tuk tuk than a free tuk tuk in the main street.

Retro style rooms, comfortable, no more. Wifi is paid and also store suitcases.

Hotel staff is their best point, both reception and luggage staff treated so great.

Breakfast buffet is pretty good. For us who rode thailand backpacker style was a good last stop for trip . The average of quality is 6/10, and price of rooms is highly accorded to quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank is-hydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Is Hydro,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to write a review of your experiences on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read you liked the Retro 60’s style hotel rooms and the Breakfast Buffet. We also really appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel service staff and are delighted you found our team to be so accommodating and friendly.

Your comment regarding the free Tuk-Tuk has been passed to our Front Office Manager who will conduct an investigation into why the service was not available for you. The service itself is very popular with our guests however sometimes if we are running close to full capacity sometimes the service is unavailable, but it does usually runs from 08:00am until 20:00pm.

We hope you will consider the Hotel De Moc for any future visits to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    279
    147
    58
    45
See reviews for
62
239
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Clean affardable room within walking distance to many Bangkok must sees. Room was large but our balcony looked out to a wall 3 feet away - no view whatsoever. Breakfast was wonderful and the staff in the dining room were very pleasant. Staff were helpful - for the most part (except for booking excursions). Would definitely stay there again when returning to Bangkok

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mlarsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mlarsen1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc in Bangkok.

We are delighted to read you had such a wonderful stay with us and felt our rooms represented such good value for money.

As you mention in your review our hotel is quite well situated and it is only a short walk away from a number of local landmarks such as Democracy Monument or Khaosan Road.

Our serving staff really appreciated your kind words about the high level of service provided by our team in our restaurant area.

We would also like to apologize for any difficulties you encountered whilst booking trips through the hotel's travel agency.

Everyone here is looking forward to your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here for 9 days and was very pleased overall with this hotel. Location has its pros and cons, pros close to Khaosan Road while being quiet, cons sometimes tuktuk/taxi driver is not familiar with the location and there are few stores and amenities in the immediate area. I stayed on the 6th floor and had a wonderful view - the room was bright and sunny. No in room safe - you need to check your valuables with the reception if you don;t feel safe leaving them in the room. Room service was very good. The free tuktuk service to KSR was very good and helpful. I found the staff to be very helpful especially since I was traveling solo. The next time I go to Bangkok I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NepaliMutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Nepalimutu,

Warm greetings and thank you for having chosen the Hotel De Moc as the hotel of choice for your recent stay. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your views of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read your comments and to note that you enjoyed your stay and the features and facilities of our hotel, especially the view from our 6th floor rooms and the free Tuk Tuk to Khaosan Road.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel De Moc in the very near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice hotel at a good price which everyone wants.
Room was very clean with a nice swimming pool area and plenty of shade from the hot sun and the staff eager to please only downside was the breakfast which was buffet style and the hot items were always cold

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear DW08,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to write a review of your experiences online.

We are pleased to note you felt this was a nice hotel at a reasonable price and that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your hotel room.

Your comment regarding the burners at breakfast has been passed to our Food and Beverage Manager who will instruct our breakfast staff and ensure this does not occur again in the future.

We hope you will choose the Hotel De Moc again next time you are in Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been coming to this hotel since end of 80-s it was called Thaihotel then and nothing has change since that time, even some of the staff rest the same. The hotel has some features that distinguish it from all other hotels in the borough: nice inner court with a swimming pool, BALCONIES! and location close to the UN and Khaosan street which is the backpackers place, loaded with shops and restaurants. Boxing stadium is 10 min. walk away. Furniture is old, hot water may not be running, but definitely this is the place I am going to come back to.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mikhail S,

Welcome back to the Hotel De Moc thank you for repeatedly staying at our hotel in Bangkok for such an extended period of time.

Thank you also for your kind words about our homely facilities and the services we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel De Moc again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

the staff here were very friendly.
Hotel was clean and rooms well stocked.
The restaurant is like most in Thailand, the food comes to the table in dribs and drabs. we were a group of 10 and some would be finished before the others had received their meal.

The pool was lovely and considering it is at the front of the hotel, was not noisy.
Khaosan road is approx 15 min walk away. With plenty of bars and restaurants along the way.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: front facing room over look the pool. some balconys are fully blocked in, view wise. ask to see balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swind0nnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Swindon Nicki,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to share your thoughts with the online travel community.

We are very pleased to read you found our staff so friendly and approachable and were happy with cleanliness of your hotel room. It is also nice to know you were satisfied with the hotels location and enjoyed a relaxing dip in our outdoor swimming pool.

We are sorry to hear about the service issue in the restaurant and our Food and Beverage Manager will investigate this issue and see how we can improve in this area.

We hope you will be able to return again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here while doing a gecko tour of Cambodia that ended in Thailand. I thought the hotel was nice and was pleasantly surprised. My room was right next to the elevator and the door only shut completely when slammed shut and there was always a large gap between the door and the door jam at the top so the room was very loud. I would recommend requesting a room away from the elevators. The room did however have a great view of the city. Shower was not the easiest to use and broke off while I was adjusting it, however the hotel staff fixed it no problem. Pool was very nice and I got a manicure and massage at the spa, it was however very expensive for Thai standards. Location was good, not too far from Koh San Road so there was always plenty of nightlife to experience. I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huskerabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Huskerabroad,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc we are pleased to read you enjoyed your trip to Bangkok and were pleasantly surprised with the facilities and service we offer here.

We are sorry you were disappointed with your hotel rooms proximity to the elevator and wish you had brought this to our attention during your stay so we could have looked into the possibility of moving you to a different room.

As you mention in your review our maintenance staff reacted quickly to the problem concerning the shower in your room and this issue was quickly resolved.

Thank you for your kind words about the view from the hotel of the surrounding city and our outdoor swimming pool.

We have recently done comparative research with similar style hotels nearby in Bangkok and we can confirm that our massage facility is competitively priced for the service we provide.

We hope you will consider our hotel as a good alternative the next time you come to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#187 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#429 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#120 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#178 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#325 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Moc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Moc

Property: Hotel De Moc
Address: 78 Prajatipatai Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Moc 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Moc is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok, the perfect vacation destination and sightseeing attractions, such as Rattanakosin Island, Grand Palace and Golden Mount. Reflecting traditional standards of excellent service and hospitality, Hotel De Moc offers the most up to date facilities including Wi Fi Hot Spot Internet access, free 24 hr. bicycle service, free tuk tuk serviceHotel De MOC is also a gateway to Khao San Road, the world famous area of Bangkok, where you can buy anything from a College Degree to a Cartier Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Moc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Moc Hotel
De Moc Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing