We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay in this hotel again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn
Ranked #796 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never stay in this hotel again”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked this hotel for 2 nights by hotel.com.The rooms were very small and not easy for those Europiens and Americans. The staff were not friendly,specialy a thin female staff with a dark face has a angry feeling in all time ,With that things they had made a bad imagination ,and we did change to stay in other hotel. They earned from their clients so they should"nt have bad service .

Room Tip: There are more hotels in Khaosan road,Should stay off it about over 200m.ITs sure cheaper and bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    84
    97
    69
    75
See reviews for
13
106
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Amazingly people stay in this place. It is anything but a hotel more like a rat infested, poor curtesy of staff. Thankfully only stayed here one night and then got out a soon as possible. overpriced and not a great a welcome to the Land of Smiles. Thankfully our next hotel was much better and the air con worked. don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!! We booked the accommodation online before we arrived in Bangkok because it looked okay for the price and the location! We failed to read the reviews wish we did! We arrived early in the morning and the staff were rude and didn't explain why we had to pay cash eventhough we gave credit card details online, our room was on the third floor and we had to haul our bags up with no lift and no attempt from staff to help and we were both female travellers!! On the stairs there were rubbish bags and the maids carts left in the corridor with cats running about! Our room was tiny no space for bags on floor the shower was a hole in the ground and cold! That night we were watching tv and a GIANT rat was crawling up and down the tv cables!! We immediately jumped on to the bed and ran out to find another hotel! We found a great one and returned to the hotel to say we were checking out they were so rude and refused to give us back any of our money eventhough we didn't spend a night there! I argued but no luck we just wanted to get out of that hell hole!!! Please don't stay there for your own good!!!!!!!! Try the Viengtai one street up, it's a little more expensive but so nice and clean and the staff are so helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K-dizzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I would love to give this place 1 star for the AC not working in my room but everything else was fine so I gave it 2 stars.
I ended up moving to another hotel as I just could not handle the heat (It was hotter in my room than outside my room - anyone who has been to Bangkok before knows that is already really hot!)
Staff did charge for internet (which I booked another room with).
If the AC had worked I would have been ok staying here but that is just killer.

Room Tip: Get a room with working AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bengalgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Cheap food and beers, nice staff, puny and not so clean rooms...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Istvan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for a night while we stopped in Bangkok. The hostel is ok but they want to nickle and dime you for everything (e.g. internet, room keys, bedding). Room was ok, nothing to write home about but then again it is a hostel on Khaosan Road. However, the shower was pretty unique; there is no stall, you just use the sprayer in the same room as the toilet and it drains out in the middle which we thought was pretty trivial (in a good way). Location is nice in that its on Khaosan Road, but from experience I know the club that's RIGHT next door closes at 3 am. Would not recommend staying here if you have a 6 am flight..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel is located in well known place "Khao San Road". This place is near by the Chaophya river only ten minute by walk and also have a small nice park beside this river. T relax with my favorite activities such as foot massage, Thai traditional massage and aroma spa. Furthermore, I went to the Grand Palace (amazing place), take a boat to the floating market, I can find the valued handicraff such as silver jewelry, leather. After shopping I go to drink at some beautiful bar and I go back to my accommodation after midnight. My room is quite small but clean. I can accepted cause I spend my money with worthwhile at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Four Sons Place
Four Sons Place
#605 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#541 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Banglamphu
Thai Cozy House
Thai Cozy House
#721 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#344 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#318 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#571 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn

Property: Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn
Address: 160/1 Khaosan Road | Banglumphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #796 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn is only a 2 -minute walk from the famous Khaosan Road . It offers simple accommodation in a homely atmosphere with a buffet breakfast and 24 hours receptionist . Featuring simple décor . All rooms at Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn have a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, refrigerator , minibar , hair dryer. There is also air conditioning and a private bathroom with a hot shower. Sofine Bar &Restaurant open at 7 am-midnight . There’re serving varieties of Thai & international foods . Room service also available at the place . Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn is a 15 minutes walk to the Grand Palace and easy access to get public transportation to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Banglumpoo Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Sawasdee Banglumpoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing