We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect for on a tight budget vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sawasdee Khaosan Inn
Ranked #768 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“perfect for on a tight budget vacation.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very simple. The room is not too nice. Old furniture , smell a little. They even provide condom in the room for 'emergency'. But quite clean but very very small toilet.

I like the free wifi in the room. Best thing about the hotel is the location. Minutes away from grand palace and Wat Pho.

Dont take tuk tuk to the palace, not worth the ridiculous price that they offer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabiatul Adawiy... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Rabiatul
Than k you to stayed with us and your value comments which I can be take to present our team to improvement higher level of their duty . Sorry for TUK TUK outside is out of our control , for more safety and saving your budget , TUK TUK or taxi who drive pass by is more honest than TUK and Taxi who stop by . And also hotel staff can give you a bit trick to avoid or suggest the way of right thing .

I hope you can enjoy crazy wired experience of Thailand and hope to see you again soon in our place .

Best Regards ,
Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    52
    110
    62
    60
See reviews for
16
82
70
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed there only one night in a triple with two friends. The location was great and easy to find. Room was ok but bathroom very small. My friend complained about noise all night. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Andy 7780
Thank you to stay with us and like our hotel . Just have say sorry for the noise from roof top neighborhood BAR that's really annoying us too , BTW, this without our control so i hope you all guys will understand .

Hope to see you again in nearly future for BKK Trip

Kind regards ,
Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa de Calamuchita, Argentina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends when we first arrived in Bangkok. The location is excellent and close to the famous Khoasan street and other attractions. The room was very small, fitted with a TV and shower. It was clean but didn`t look anything like the photos on their website. The staff at the reception and restaurant was not very friendly. I have also noticed places at the door where you can hang your own lock. It gave me the impression that they had problems with security. I placed a lock at my door and didn`t ask to have my room cleaned. Breakfast was good. My friends complained about noise all night. Their room faced the street and there are many nightclubs so noise could be a problem if you are looking for a good night`s sleep. Good value for money,great location and ideal for 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: Lock your room if you want extra piece of mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Nelmi

Thank you for nicely review and i have to say you 're being observant in detail . Please don't worry for secure problem since we have CCTV on floor and monitor is all time present to security guard down stair .
Sorry for noise form neighborhood night club but it every where on this area is too much party . If you don;t mind i willing to having you here again when your next visit BKK .

Best Regards,
Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place certainly isn't the Ritz, however it serves it's purpose if all you are looking for is a room for the night. Room was small which didn't really bother me and it didn't look anything like the nice photos on the website! Close to Khao San but far enough to avoid the noise.Stayed here for one night with no problems to speak of. Good place for a no-frills traveler. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the tuk-tuk drivers outside. They won't take you anywhere for 10 baht!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mike

Thank you to stay with us previously and will stay again . Sorry for our room a bit too small but we can provide you a good service , Value price , I hope all times of your stay would be smoothly and still convenience for you .

See you soon and have a nice day .

Best Regards
Pittayakom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

location was great! there was a group of 7 of us so we had a triple room and two double rooms the double rooms were way to small the triple room had a lot more space. you have to go down an alley way to get to this hotel so made it a bit hard to find. witnessed two drunken middle aged men dragged in here by two thai prostitutes. wouldn't stay here again but it wasn't awful and the staff were friendly and helped organised airport transfer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galface123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Galface

Thank you to stayed with us and wrote review to us . Sawasdee Khaosan Inn is actually situated on the main road find us . By the way , sorry that you met the crazy things that not really good impression for our hotel / country image .
I hope you can change your mind sometime and returning to our hotel in case if you still like our staff and our triple bed room .

Best Regards ,
Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location in Bangkok, but it is next to or on top of night club with loud music playing till 5:30am. One can fell that deep base pounding all night long. Otherwise it is a clean place with friendly staff and a very good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Pyfung
Thank you to stay with us and thanks for review . Sorry for the noise form neighborhood which out of control. Other than that i hope you will stay with us again for next visit BKK .

Best Regards ,

Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trieste
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

it's a nightmare, lobby dirty, upon arrival i have to carry my suitcase for four floors up a narrow , very steep ladder. the room was not very clean, i am 185, i could not enter the bathroom, it was the smallest i found. no regulation of the shower, or boiling water or ice, no towels, i tried to cotact the lobby but the telephone does'nt work, so that i have to do four floors to comunicate, unfortunately i paid for three nights, i escaped immediately.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vopet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Vopet

I 'm so sorry that you feel very inconvenience during stay with us due to the room facilities were lacked of maintenance due to staff error happen during your stay.
i hope you will overlook that mistake and retry gain to stay with us to see what improvement.

Hotel still no lift so you can requested to hotel desk clerk to co operate assistant you carry your baggage up or requested lower floor while you make booking .

i would like to also recommend Deluxe Room with King bed , larger room and bathroom is more comfort with just a bit extra cost .

I still love to have you again when you return to BKK
Best regards ,
Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#345 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Parc
Dang Derm in The Parc
#590 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Banglamphu
Four Sons Place
Four Sons Place
#617 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Bangkok Boutique Hotel
Bangkok Boutique Hotel
#586 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#544 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Banglamphu
Thai Cozy House
Thai Cozy House
#723 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Khaosan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Khaosan Inn

Property: Sawasdee Khaosan Inn
Address: 18 Chakapong Rd | Banglumphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #768 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sawasdee Khaosan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute walk from Banglumphu Market and the National Museum, Sawasdee Khaosan Inn offers brightly furnished budget accommodation. It offers free Wi-Fi throughout the residence, shops and a restaurant.Sawasdee Khaosan Inn is 3.5 km from Chinatown and 1 km from the Grand Palace. Suvarnabhumi International Airport is 35 km from the hotel.Air-conditioned rooms are fitted with cable TV and a telephone. A refrigerator and minibar are provided for guests’ convenience. The private bathroom has hot/cold shower facilities and amenities.Season Bar and Restaurant offers a range of Thai and Western dishes. There are also numerous dining options within walking distance of the hotel, along Khao San Road ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sawasdee Khaosan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Khaosan Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing