We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Grande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Majestic Grande Hotel
Ranked #161 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“outstanding value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2006

For the price this hotel is really hard to beat. The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful and the service is great.

The elevators are a little slow and the lobby is somewhat small.

But the location is right in the middle of the some of the best nightlife in Bangkok, and close to shopping and many great restraunts.

It's a block away from the JW Marriot, has nicer rooms, slower elevators, service that's about comparable and has about half the price.

One warning is that my wife tells me that the street in front of the property floods up to 18 inches of water or more during rainy season.

  • Liked — location and quality of the rooms
  • Disliked — the pool was worthless
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    695
    192
    44
    27
See reviews for
116
586
320
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2006

This hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the skytrain, and about 5 or 10 minutes walk from the imfamous Nana Plaza. My room was quite spacious. The bathroom had both a tub and shower stall.

The tours available from the hotel are way overpriced. I was lucky enough to catch someone from another tour company talking to some other guests in the lobby. I booked a city tour that was about half the price of the one available through the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2006

Stayed three nights here... wish it could have been longer. I found a U$79 rate, which included tax/service charge and was charged straight in US dollars (no conversion fees). You can pay a lot more in Bangkok and get less.

I arrived around noon, but was told a room was not ready yet. No problem; the bellhop held my bags and when I came back at 2 a room was ready.

I received a standard room on the 16th floor. Great accommodations and furnishings all around. Hotel is thoroughly clean and modern. While it is not quite in the class of of the big chain 5*s, it is a solid 4* in every respect: if you want "nice" but don't need "super expensive nice" this is the place for you.

My room included a minibar, but I had no problem removing items and putting my own things in instead (just put everything back before checking out). The room also had a teapot for boiling and I received two free bottles of water each day.

The pool/spa facilites on the 7th floor are wonderful. The pool has many nooks and crannies where one can sit and be massaged by spa jets. The sauna gets up to 100C and there is a steam bath and hot tub as well.

Potential drawbacks: my room's floor was hardwood and marble (some people may prefer carpet), the bed was firm by Western standards (typical for SE Asia, but I slept well), the spa facilites took some time to warm up after opening in the morning (give them 30-40 minutes).

The SkyTrain (Ploen Chit station) is walkable, maybe 5-6 minutes, but is not super-convenient. A Villa Market grocery store is in the basement of the Ploenchit Center. It closes at 10pm and the selection is not the best. For better offerings, hit the Villa Market on Sukhumvit 11 or the giant Big C across from Central World Plaza.

No problems upon checkout, although I was asked to wait while housekeeping verified the contents of the minibar. This may have arisen from my own use of the fridge; in any event it took only a couple of extra minutes and there were no problems.

I visit Bangkok once a year or so, and have every intention of staying here again.

  • Liked — Great pool
  • Disliked — Other hotels are more convenient to SkyTrain
  • Tips/Secrets — cab fare to new airport should be ~200B + tolls + surcharge
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anon4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2006

I was struggling to decide where to stay in Bangkok. Though it would be the Montien ( Patpong), Landmark or somewhere similar. Sought the opinion on this site. Thanks Cheznandy- great recomnendation from you guys- you will love it.
Booked into a Grande Deluxe- non exec. The welcome from the reception team each day was friendly and warm- felt very welcome. As others have advised the Hotel's location is good, the sky train nearby and taxi's readily availiable- go on the meter... Getting around Bankok as easy as it can be. The Hotel is comforatble and most for me quite at night. Room size very good- great bathroom and TV set of huge proportions for a Hotel.Good comfortable beds, breakfast is excellant as is the team working there. Yes the pool is small- but truth is ,in four days neither Alex ( son )or I had time to visit it anyway. Too busy shopping (Pandip-MBK,Weekend Market and a visit to the Tigers and Kwai- amazing )
In advance I had requested by mail to the hotela quiet non smoking room, a guarentee of twin beds. I had booked via Precision and still the hotel delivered my request fully, had room on 15th floor. I will certainly book here again- very professionally run hotel- they know what they are doing.. Alex is looking to go back to Thailand with his girlfriend in March and believe he will book here as well. He stayed at the Montien Riverside with me last year. Alex well pleased with services of Crown tailors nearby- they made him a couple of pairs of trousers and a few shirts that fit him. I have a couple of shirts as well.

  • Liked — Quiet room- great service very friendly staff, location
  • Disliked — Only two lifts- be patient you are on holiday
  • Tips/Secrets — Contact hotel in advanc if you have special request
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SurreyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
166 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2006

We stayed at the Majestic Grande in November and had booked it through their website at a very reasonable rate.
The hotel is perfect: great service, very nice breakfast buffet in nice surounding.
The location is very close to the Skyrail station.
The room was of average size, but newly furnished and everything was very modern.
This would definetely my choice of hotel for my next stay.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank arnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2006

My husband & I (early 30's) stayed at this hotel based on the reviews on this site and were so glad we did. Although we reserved this hotel for the beginning and end of our trip to Thailand, we actually stayed in 3 different rooms! Upon check-in at the beginning of our trip the hotel told us that they were full so they would have to upgrade us & apologized for it. We were so thrilled but there was a catch - we would have to check-out of the room the next day and check into a new room.

So we got to our room (#2501) and learned that it's on the top floor and is a suite with a soaker tub and separate living room. Beautiful room. We were so tired from our 17 hour flight so my husband ordered room service - a club house sandwich with fries and a coke for 210 baht. The prices are not bad for room service and he swears it's the best club sandwich he has had.

The next morning we told the hotel that our bags are packed in the room and they can move our bags over to the new room whenever they want as we wanted to spend the whole day site seeing. We came back to the hotel in the evening and the hotel moved us to room #2401 - another beautiful large room.

Kai the doorman is super nice and works the evening shifts. He's a great person to ask questions.

At the end of our trip we came back to the hotel for one night and this time got the room we actually reserved (still super clean and nice). Our flight wasn't until midnight so the hotel allowed us to use the showers on the 7th floor in the spa to freshen up for our long flight.

I agree with the people on this site who have said that the breakfast buffets are superb - there so fresh and delicious. My only advice is to get the Nancy Chandler map of Bangkok. I got mine from a book store across the street from the Grand Palace for 180 baht. It helps so much and has a real detailed map of Sukhumvit Road, where the Majestic Grande is located.

Hope this review helps.

  • Liked — Great location, price, staff, and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Get the Nancy Chandler map of Bangkok.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank rgirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire.uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2006

From the moment we stepped through the door until the moment we left we where treated like special people by very special people.
The bedroom the restaurant the staff throughout made our visit and stay memorable.
This is a big recommendation well deserved.
From ; John,Sylvia,Peter and Olive...Lincolnshire UK

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — possibly the hawkers in the street
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy the service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank golfpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Majestic Suites
Majestic Suites
#220 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#106 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Icon Bangkok
Hotel Icon Bangkok
#110 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Phachara Suites
Phachara Suites
#185 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#59 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Sukhumvit
Landmark Bangkok
Landmark Bangkok
#61 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Grande Hotel

Property: Majestic Grande Hotel
Address: 12 Sukhumvit Soi 2, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#123 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#135 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#135 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Grande Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The welcome is Grande at Majestic Grande. Feel truly welcome in this stylish boutique hotel, with 251 rooms, located in the heart of Bangkok. The Majestic Grande combines contemporary decor and state-of-the-art technology with a warmth of hospitality which is uniquely Thai. For friendly service and the best of comfort and facilities, whether travelling for business or pleasure, the Majestic Grande is your ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Despegar.com so you can book your Majestic Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Grande
Majestic Grande Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing