We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but a little expensive for the area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Grande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Majestic Grande Hotel
Ranked #164 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“OK but a little expensive for the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I booked this hotel as a change from my regular haunt on Soi 11 (GP). I picked a premium grade room and asked for a high floor as previous reviewers have recommended. I certainly got the high room, 24th floor with great views of the city. I was a little disappointed with the size and décor. On first inspection it appeared clean with a nice separate shower cubicle in the bathroom. Looking under the bed and units there was a lot of accumulated dust and a few old tissues! It had been a while since a deep clean had been done. The curtain screens were nearly brown instead of white as if this was a smoking room, although I was sold it as non smoking. There was an opening window which may have encouraged smokers to gather here staining the drapes. The feature which most disappointed me was the price for this supposed superior room. It was the same as I would have paid for a deluxe suite in my regular hotel, The Grand President which includes a full kitchen and washing machine!.The pool is constantly in shade, consequently quite cold and rather small for the number of guests with all the sunbeds clustered together like some stacked terrace. There is nothing fundamentally wrong with the hotel it is just that I have experienced better for £10 a night less.

Room Tip: Still ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwb4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    695
    192
    44
    27
See reviews for
116
587
320
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

From the person at the front desk to the maid. Every person, without exception greeted me with a wonderful smile every day. The Majestic Grand is close to the sky train which gives you a perfect starting point for exploring this wonderful city. My room on the 10th floor was private and top shelf. I will stay here again as I have only started to explore Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I only stayed here for one night, but I can assure you the hotel is luxurious. The bed was comfortable, the rooms clean and bathroom stylish. Ask the concierge desk if you want to call a cab, they will help you.

I enjoyed the breakfast thoroughly. I think I must have tried just about everything on the buffet table. I have gotto say the omelettes were the best!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feedmymedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazylass
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Feb. Check-in was fast and we found our superior room on the 24th floor very spacious, clean and comfortable. The location is also fantastic, you can walk to restaurants and bars or take a taxi for 20mins to many malls. Breakfast is the standard Asian buffet with random western choices but nice coffee and tea and eggs cooked to order. The main disappointment was with the service. On the second night we decided to eat in the restaurant. We first ordered a cocktail and starter, 20 mins later my husband asked where the drinks were and was told they were coming. 15 mins later and still no cocktails but the starter arrived, due to a lack of English spoken we were quite frustrated so just sent the cocktails back as the main courses then arrived even though we had been careful to order them after the starter. Then we tried to order breakfast in our room the next day as we had to leave at 6:30am, spoke to a friendly woman in the kitchen who even re confirmed this by calling the room back. The breakfast never appeared. Good value for such a modern hotel in a central location but don't eat or drink here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at hotel around 9am expecting to wait until midday before room became available.However,to my delight the friendly receptionist said my room was available immediately.Thank you Majestic Grande.
Hotel situated in Sukumvit Soi 2 close to many bars,shops,restaurants,Skytrain station Nana plus a two minute walk to Soi 4 and Nana entertainment area.
The hotel itself seems very new with nice lobby with acknowledgement from all staff anytime of the day.The bedroom was modern with all mod cons,free wifi and a very nice bathroom.Wifi in bedroom intermittent but perfect in ground floor lobby.Nice cafe/bar area on ground floor and breakfast served on same floor as small swimming pool.Views from bedroom overlooking Bangkok was excellent.
I will definitely use this hotel again on future visits to Bangkok.Overall a very pleasant stay.Thank you Majestic Grande.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ystradafodwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights recently on our way to Samui. Hotels locations is very good not far, just around the corner from Nana and very close to the sky train. Checkin was smooth and staff polite. Rooms and overall apearance of the hotel is dated. The Rooms are not very big and it seemed quite dark, the windows were flithy. Bathroom no walk in shower only over the bath. small selection of toiletries. There is nothing to write home about this hotel. It's Ok but I wont be booking again.

Room Tip: Go for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

It's along the river that Bangkok lives and breathes and the Majestic Grande Hotel is a 12 minute taxi ride in good traffic, and a 45 minute ride in bad traffic. Trouble with Bangkok - good traffic is rare. So to head for a river dinner cruise, or for a longboat ride up the canals, or for a tour of the Grand Palace, or to the Temple of Dawn - traffic can be a nightmare.

That said, the hotel offered a beautiful and large room, with a great bath, lots of hot water, a fine restaurant on floor 7, a business centre with cheap and fast internet service, a spa that was busy and a nice lounge next to check in. Concierge was very helpful and courteous and tours were offered in the lobby. We booked the Muh Thai Boxing for 2K Baht with no transportation. Taxi turned out to be under 200 Baht each way from the Lumpinee stadium. Floating markets, city tours etc were all offered.

It cost 400 Baht to the airport on a Sunday morning with no traffic - pay attention to the time of day you are transiting as traffic can kill you in this town.

Taxi's are a handful - you will need to negotiate a flat rate, or ensure the meter is being used. It's cheap no matter what - the 400 Bahts I paid for airport tranist is equal to about $13 - it cost me $65 to get from the airport to my home upon arrival in Canada - probably an equal distance. Tuk tuks are good for a short ride - you don't want to have to sit in traffic in a tuk tuk.

There were nice restaurants of all sorts in the hotel area as well as Starbuck and Macdonalds if thats your thing. Thai's will nod and say they understand but can get it wrong fairly often - be patient.

A taxi driver told us the Grand Palace was closed when we headed there on a Saturday morning - he said it was national holiday, Buda Day. I doubted the whole situation and asked to be dropped at the first quality hotel I saw, a Sheraton. There I was told it's a scam the Thai taxi drivers pull in order to try to sell you a ride to another tourist attraction where they can get a cheap cut. Be aware that the Grand Palace is open every day of the year according to the tour folks.

The Majestic Grande is a great hotel but not the location I was hoping for as a two day tourist.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the elevators to eliminate the hallway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Majestic Suites
Majestic Suites
#209 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#106 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Icon Bangkok
Hotel Icon Bangkok
#110 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Phachara Suites
Phachara Suites
#186 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#59 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Sukhumvit
Landmark Bangkok
Landmark Bangkok
#60 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Grande Hotel

Property: Majestic Grande Hotel
Address: 12 Sukhumvit Soi 2, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#123 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#135 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#137 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Grande Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The welcome is Grande at Majestic Grande. Feel truly welcome in this stylish boutique hotel, with 251 rooms, located in the heart of Bangkok. The Majestic Grande combines contemporary decor and state-of-the-art technology with a warmth of hospitality which is uniquely Thai. For friendly service and the best of comfort and facilities, whether travelling for business or pleasure, the Majestic Grande is your ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Majestic Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Grande
Majestic Grande Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing