We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real 4 star Hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Grande Hotel
Ranked #161 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel offers all the amenities and the quality that you would expect from a 4 star hotel. I would recommend upgrading to the de luxe rooms. The difference in price is not very big and the rooms are far more spacious. The service is great and the lady at the travel desk in the lobby is a great source of recommendations for sightseeing trips and restaurants. The hotel location is ideal: only 5 minutes walk to a station of the elevated train. The restaurant is OK for breakfast but the buffet is rather uninspiring for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The Hotel is located about a 5 min walk from the sky train and there are plenty of restaurants and coffee shops and bars in the area. The Hotel Is very clean and modern with a great swimming pool and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are large and very clean. The Breakfast is the best we had in thailand during our trip, lots of options to suit all tastes. I would stay in this Hotel if I returned to bangkok again as this is our 3rd trip to bangkok and this hotel is way better then the other hotels we stayed in

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Greetings from sleazy Bangkok! Let’s start positive: if you are on a cruise or in transit and need to be put into a Bangkok hotel for one night, this is a decent value-for-money choice. It’s 2-3 times cheaper than the JW Marriott 30 seconds down the road and you’ll get a bigger room. You’ll only get a few (one?) dining options and a terrible lobby bar, but the food is not bad and staff is responsive. This hotel is more about short-stay cruise-holiday tourists in need of a one-night stay, rather than anything else. Don’t expect to do your Olympic swimming workout in the tiny pool, but the pool at the JW isn’t that much bigger. Breakfast choice is OK and the staff here again is quite responsive. The hotel representative at the airport was in the right spot, on time, and brought me to a good Mercedes car for the transfer to the hotel. Wifi in the room worked well after typing in the provided codes. So far, so good! Room-service was honest to inform me my food would take 45 minutes, but at least it was still warm when it arrived and the Tabasco I ordered was included. The food was OK. Level of English understanding at the reception is reasonable for Thai standards. At the restaurant and room service, English command is far from Oxfordesque however, so don’t get too upset if you get sate when you had asked for steak, as happened to me.

Now the stuff that made my 3-night business stay here a bit less optimal. First of all, the dark room design. Yes, sure, this is all about personal taste and preference, but the dark wood, stone floor, ceiling spotlights, black curtains, etc. make the room a bit depressing. Others may call it ‘trendy’ or ‘chique’. Up to you, see the pics. There are plenty of TV channels to pick from on a new gigantic flat-screen, BUT: the signal reception is terrible. The modern big TV screen only makes that worse. When I called reception to inform them signal was bad, a mechanic was in my room within 5 minutes trying to fix it. But in the end, the reception called me back to tell me the poor video quality was due to “the storm”. Well, I don’t buy that because the “storm” was not bad at all and they could be honest and blame the poor quality of their satellite equipment. Bottom line: fancy new TV + poor base signal = no TV fun. By-the-way: I would not book here with a child. The dark room with stone floor is not very child-friendly and there seems to be no kids channels on the TV.

Anyway, I came for business, not TV. Back to the room. Spend a bit more and you’ll get a very big room with a nice big bathroom. A good bed for a decent sleep, but the aircon was quite noisy and the shower head produced a rather disappointing flow of water. It takes a while for the water to get warm. Oh, and today I wanted to take a relaxing bath, but while filling up the huge and tempting tub, the water appeared a bit yellowish, spoiling my appetite. That may well be a general Bangkok issues however and not necessarily an issue the hotel could deal with. 2 bottles of complementary mineral water were provided and the minibar was quite well equipped. The only real issue was with the connecting door to the room next door. WHY is there a connecting door between these 2 rooms? And WHY is it not properly sounds-proofed? I could hear the couple next door with a toddler speak, shower, flush, cry, sneeze, open/close doors, etc. Not their fault, but an annoying issue with the room.

Conclusion? Having stayed at the JW for a night a year back, it’s of course a different league. If you fancy more (better?) food options, you can always go eat there as it is just half a minute down the road. For a simple night’s sleep or a shower, the Majestic is a reasonable hotel pick and good value for money.

Room Tip: Spend a tiny bit more for a Grande Deluxe room or better. It’s big with a good bathroom. Avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacifico W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have never stayed at the hotel however I just wanted to review the restaurant. My friends and I have been going to the Sunday brunch for quite some time and it is excellent. For only 300 baht you are served a large buffet with 7-8 choices of hot entrees (Asian & western) along with a carving station; pasta station (outside by the pool); salads; cold seafood selections; a vast array of desserts with coffee or an individual pot of tea - all for 300 baht! Service is excellent with polite and attentive staff. I have been several times in the last year and I have never been disappointed at all. If you either live in Bangkok or come for holiday I highly recommend it. On the 7th floor in the hotel. Once stuffed you and then go down to the lobby and listen to the piano player do his thing and doing it well at that!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank songoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

They missed our airport pick up and the room was not ready on arrival, well after noon. They offered upgrade for 1 night but we should have changed the room next day back to what was paid for. The difference was not the size of the room but furnitures in the room.

Breakfast was with only few choices of fruits, no fresh juice and not anything that included pork.

In some of the hotel listings the Majestic Grande appears on 5 star list but the place is actually a poor 4 stars. In need of renovation, old smelly wall to wall carpets, facilities and furnitures seem to be from early 80's.

On the plus side, excellent location to skytrain and walking distance to Central Super market. They are also shortly opening a Kebab restaurant at lobby.

Room Tip: Get the upper floors as there is really no view from below floors other than next buildings walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_deer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have stayed here again, and as always, after a long flight, this time a less than slow traffic jammed ride in from the Airport I felt peace and quiet. An ultra smooth check in, a swift rise in the lift to the 22nd floor and I could shower, have a beer and relax.
The hotel is ideally sited for the Sky Train to all the shops, although Sukhumvit is increasingly developing its own shopping malls, the bars and nightlife (both high and low) and many fine local restaurants.
The staff were excellent; the breakfast enough to make lunch unnecessary, and the lobby bar a great place to meet.
I will be back later this month.

Room Tip: The higher the better although were the hotel fully booked the lifts may bea bit slow/busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Scorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

as an overall the hotel is not bad, but it is yet much below the standards of the hotels you can find in that region. and most important, the plumbing is very bad and needs definitely a hand up. First the flush in the toilet doesn't work properly, and second the douche is very bad with not enough power. The breakfast is average. an overall average hotel and you can find much better in the same range and at the same price in Bangkok

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tirilalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#90 of 890 in Bangkok
2,743 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Hotel Icon Bangkok
Hotel Icon Bangkok
#111 of 890 in Bangkok
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
#265 of 890 in Bangkok
1,595 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#96 of 890 in Bangkok
1,274 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Grande Hotel

Address: 12 Sukhumvit Soi 2, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#123 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#134 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#135 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $71 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Grande Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The welcome is Grande at Majestic Grande. Feel truly welcome in this stylish boutique hotel, with 251 rooms, located in the heart of Bangkok. The Majestic Grande combines contemporary decor and state-of-the-art technology with a warmth of hospitality which is uniquely Thai. For friendly service and the best of comfort and facilities, whether travelling for business or pleasure, the Majestic Grande is your ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IBC Hospitality, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Grande
Majestic Grande Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing