We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are ok, but in a bad area”
Review of City Lodge Soi 9

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Lodge Soi 9
Ranked #483 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms are ok, but in a bad area”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed at City Lodge Soi 9 four nights in total. The hotel is ok, but the area is very bad: loads of prostitutes everywhere, some dodgy and dirty people around the hotel selling drugs or Valium, and drunken tourists looking for both... Actually I should have stayed at City Lodge 19, which looks definitely in a nicer part of Nana area!

Room was ok, clean and nice. Staff was ok too, except a lady at the reception during the day that wasn't friendly AT ALL. Careful at night as the guy at the reception doesn't understand english, which is a bit difficult if you want to stay longer, or even if you want to have some informations as he's not gonna be able to understand ANY basic thing. I saw few cockroaches at the reception, that's not very nice as well, especially for an hotel! But no insects in the room, don't worry.

Price is ok, even if you can find cheaper (almost half price) 2 BTS stations away from there. Nice bathroom, TV with foreign channels and good bed.

A special mention to Gook, the nice and friendly young receptionist, who has always been kind and helpful, with a good level of english and a real proper Thai smile. She's the hotel sunshine!

Room Tip: Avoid the street side, as it's really busy day and night with the cars, buses and motorcycles. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemtokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for comprehensive review. We appreciate the comments made about Khun Gook and will certainly share your kind words. We have however duly noted your remarks about the other receptionists and appreciate your feedback.

We appreciate your comments about the location as well. Whilst it is very convenient due to proximity of the sky train, the hotel is indeed surrounded by the nightlife typical to this part of the city, and should not come as a surprise if you select this particular location for your stay in Bangkok.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    120
    87
    21
    11
See reviews for
9
36
87
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This place couldn't be easier to find, just step off the sky train at Nana, look over the balcony and the sign almost smacks you in the face. The room is of a reasonable size. Comfortable enough to spend your nights in. My room was right on top of the sky train platform but didn't present any problems for noise. Reception staff were friendly and check in, check out were very simple. Best part of this hotel is it's location. Great night life and daytime bars/shopping in the area but having such close access to the BST, it's so easy to see much more of Bangkok. This place is already in my plans for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davelaw45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your review highlighting the convenient location of City Lodge Soi 9.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

excellent location to the Nana Sky Train, the station is literally just outside. The rooms were average sized with a king sized bed and large flatscreen. Our room overlooked the station platform though and consequently was quite noisy and we couldn't open the curtains. the staff were helpful with good english too. I would stay here again for a night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pritchs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was happy to learn that you found our location to be convenient and mostly that you would stay with us again on a future short visit to Bangkok. Appreciate your time.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is the second time I have used City lodge Soi 9.
The first time I had a up graded room because I stayed a certain amount of time, this time stayed the same time but room wasn't upgraded and found the room to be very small with a hard mattress, but the worst thing was all the street noise at night and the noise from the BTS Nana station.
I think most of the upgraded rooms must be away from the main street as last time I was there seem reasonably quiet...but not this time in the basic rooms.
I found that both times I stayed there was very little water pressure for the showers or bath tub, and also the water heater did not always work.
The rooms were always kept very clean, and the staff generally seemed quite friendly... but not great at understanding English.
But must say the location is great and the availability of the public transport fantastic to.
I suppose we get what we pay for, so for the price I suppose it is a good value hotel.

Room Tip: Try to keep away from the Sukhumvit Road side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for your loyalty. I was happy to read that overall you find the City Lodge to be good value for money. We have indeed rooms on both the road side and at the back side, which are quieter. I have noted your comments about the water pressure and the heater, as well as our English proficiency, for future improvements.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Right next to Nana BTS and many bars and restaurants in the area. I had a room with a view of BTS but it was quiet and the bed comfortable. Hot water in the shower was a little erratic but the room was clean. Was not impressed that the room safe required a fee for use. Nor did I like being asked to pay in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodzamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback further to your stay with us at the City Lodge. I was happy to read that overall you had a pleasant stay. I have however duly taken note of your remarks. The lock for the safety box is provided free of charge, however a charge of THB 3,500 appears in case once would loose the key. If a guest has a credit card to guarantee the stay, like in most hotels we just take an authorisation, which would also cover for the amount of the safe. However if a guest only has cash, we then take an equivalent deposit which is then reimbursed. We are unable to identify what happened in your particular case, however will re-brief our team to avoid any misunderstanding. Please accept our apologies if this has been the case.
Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice comfortable and clean hotel in a great location on Sukhumvit Road right next to the Nana BTS station. Walking distance to many night life attractions and restaurants.
Quiet rooms even those looking out onto the BTS rail.
Can book with or without breakfast. Breakfast is take next door in the sports bar and is basic, juice, tea or coffee, toast and eggs any style, bacon or snags if you want.
The big shopping malls are only one or two stations away.
Stayed there many times from one night to three weeks.

Room Tip: go for the superior room for a couple, but standard ok for a solo traveler
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sir-Grahame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment and mostly for your loyalty as a frequent visitor to the City Lodge. We are happy to read that you are satisfied with our locatino and facilities.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Clean room and sheets. Staff knowledgeable and friendly, with 'can do' attitude. Would have been good to have tea making facilities in superior rooms. Breakfast either downstairs with mini menu or for extra £7 full breakfast at Amari round the corner.

Lovely, helpful staff - on each and every occasion so far - well done to all concerned. Will certainly use again.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room as some overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to read that you enjoy our location and the service provided at the City Lodge Soi 9. This is much appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Business Inn
Grand Business Inn
#371 of 867 in Bangkok
177 reviews
Sukhumvit
On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Studio Nana by iCheck inn
Studio Nana by iCheck inn
#335 of 867 in Bangkok
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
#722 of 867 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Sukhumvit
Amari Boulevard Bangkok
Amari Boulevard Bangkok
#249 of 867 in Bangkok
1,206 reviews
Sukhumvit
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#676 of 867 in Bangkok
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Soi 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Soi 9

Property: City Lodge Soi 9
Address: Sukhumvit 9, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #483 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Soi 9 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal base for enjoying the attractions, shopping and nightlife of Bangkok, City Lodge Soi 9 is centrally located on the corner of Sukhumvit Soi 9 - close to the entrance of ’Nana’ skytrain station and a short walk to the ’Sukhumvit’ underground station. Many shopping centres, including the Emporium and Siam Paragon are just minutes away.All 28 guest rooms are equipped with an international direct telephone, satellite TV and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Soi 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Soi 9 Hotel Bangkok
City Hotel Soi 9
City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing