We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Awesome Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Lodge Soi 9

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Soi 9
Ranked #455 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location and Awesome Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I find it hard to imagine a more convenient location in BKK than City Lodge, especially at this price. It is literally meters from the Nana BTS station, which makes it very easy access to the rest of the city. Rooms are a bit worn to be sure, but are of totally acceptable quality. Air conditioning works and showers are hot with good water pressure. Furthermore, the staff here are extremely friendly and helpful, and security is good. I am a light sleeper at the best of times but despite it's location close to the Sukhumvit and BTS station I slept very well here and did not find the noise a problem at all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilypetals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABFrenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your kind comments regarding the team, which we have passed on. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    119
    85
    21
    11
See reviews for
9
35
86
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

A great hotel at an unbelievable price. The location is perfect if you want to travel within Bangkok city.

Only bad thing I have experienced that they have not allotted us the room before 11:00 Hrs. I understand as per Hotel policy check In time was at 14:00 Hrs. But it looks really looks bad that you make your customers sit only because the room service is not done. We have waited 3 hrs in the lobby after a hectic Flight.

Need some human touch in their service.

Room Tip: Try not to take BTS side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyUrHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABFrenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you found the City Lode Soi 9 to be value for your money and are sorry if you had to wait for your room upon arrival. The hotel runs constantly high occupancies, so we are sorry if the reason why you had to wait may not have been communicated properly. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed here many times for business stop in BKK,,lovley staff,,great uppgrades and great price for a room with a good bed,,bath and a office desk...can also use the amari hotels pool just some 100 meters away

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABFrenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review, much appreciated. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location is good as it is next to BTS Nana Station. The only complain I had is that the standard room is very small and carpet looks dirty. Toilet is just next to the hall so you will hear other guests conversation. In their website and agoda it shows that there are complimentary coffee and juice and pastries next to the reception but whenever we check we don't see any. Why is that?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ice724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABFrenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We were sorry to read that we did not quite meet your expectations in terms of cleanliness despite the good location and will address this. Please accept our apologies if this has inconvenienced you. We appreciate very much your input in regards to the breakfast. As it appears, have just started to provide a full breakfast at the adjacent "Game" since a month for guests booking rooms including breakfast or wanting to have breakfast on the premises. As such some of the comments in regards to the free breakfast corner we used to have were still displayed until recently. They have now been removed. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I decided to rename my review like this because it is possible to stay at this hotel maximum 1 or 2 nights and depend which room you will get!!!.

I slept 1 night in the standard room which is just next to the BTS line thus you will enjoy the noisy of the trains passing by all the times.The second night i requested to move in the superior one.Despite no train noisy i discovered that all the toilets are connected with the corridor trough a small window which allow you to hear other talking and vice-versa !!!!.The price is low but the standard too. For the same price you can go the an other City Lodge located at Soi 19 which offers you better location and condition.THe breakfast served at "The Game "bar ( the owner probably own both places) is terrible !!!! do not poison yourself.

Only advantage is the location and the friendly stuff which really knows how to welcome the guests.

Room Tip: Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABFrenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations in terms of accommodation and breakfast at the City Lodge 9, but appreciate your kind comments about the service. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I had a couple of nights at City Lodge Soi 9 on my way back from Ko Samui - just needed a conveniently located hotel at a reasonable price. Think I paid around £23 a night or so. This hotel is very "no-frills" compared to the others I've stayed at in Bangkok. However, I chose it as I was arriving very late at night and just needed somewhere near the sky train in an area I knew.

It is literally at the bottom of the steps from Nana station - so if you are traveling with luggage you don't have to worry about battling your way along Sukhumvit Road (although there are quite a few steps at Nana station to tackle).

The hotel room was a bit worn out and past it. But it seemed clean enough - the bed was very comfortable and pretty much I only needed the room for a decent night's sleep.

If I was staying in Bangkok for any length of time I would choose somewhere else. But as I was just using this room as a base for about 36 hours it was fine.

Other good point about this hotel is that it is only a couple of steps away from Check Inn 99 (bar/restaurant) which is well worth a visit if you're in Bangkok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABFrenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to read that we were able to contribute to a pleasant and convenient stop-over in your favourite area of Bangkok. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel is very expensive when compared to rooms quality. Large rooms with very old fittings and smelly carpets. The only old thing about this hotel is it's location for night life.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_3768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABFrenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations for the price you paid for the room, but are happy that you enjoyed our location. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Studio Nana by iCheck inn
Studio Nana by iCheck inn
#347 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Sukhumvit
iCheck Inn Sukhumvit Soi 11
iCheck Inn Sukhumvit Soi 11
#568 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Sukhumvit
On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Moments In Bangkok Guesthouse
Moments In Bangkok Guesthouse
#239 of 1,129 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Sukhumvit
A7 Hidden Hostel
A7 Hidden Hostel
#420 of 1,129 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Sukhumvit
Eleven Avenue Suites
Eleven Avenue Suites
#102 of 1,129 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Soi 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Soi 9

Property: City Lodge Soi 9
Address: Sukhumvit 9, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #455 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Soi 9 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal base for enjoying the attractions, shopping and nightlife of Bangkok, City Lodge Soi 9 is centrally located on the corner of Sukhumvit Soi 9 - close to the entrance of ’Nana’ skytrain station and a short walk to the ’Sukhumvit’ underground station. Many shopping centres, including the Emporium and Siam Paragon are just minutes away.All 28 guest rooms are equipped with an international direct telephone, satellite TV and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your City Lodge Soi 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Soi 9 Hotel Bangkok
City Hotel Soi 9
City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing