We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibrik Resort by the River
Ranked #310 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Arrived at midnight having arranged an airport pickup. Was a little worried when the driver could not find the place and had to use his cell phone to ask for directions. But it all worked out. We had the room right on the river. Could not have asked for anything better. Excellent breakfast of fresh fruit and coffee. The river traffic provided a constant show. Easy walking distance to the river taxi station at Wang Lang and therefore the rest of Bangkok. Would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 112 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were priviledged to first stay at this gem shortly after its opening in 2004. So today when someone asked my advice on accommodation in Bangkok I jumped onto Tripadvisor so see how this very special little place is doing. I had mixed feelings when I saw its much lower than expected ranking. Firstly I thought it has gone to the dogs, then when I read the reviews and saw what the "complaints" were I thought to myself, thank goodness, the place is still the exact same. Its just that expectations were maybe too high after some reviews and readers not suited to this experience were dissapointed. Nevertheless one appreciates each reviewers honest opinion, what is important to one, is less so to another.
Ibrik has never claimed to be 5 star - but you get the 5 star location at the river, minutes from the top ranked tourist locations if you use the cheap local river ferries. You get the real "old" Bangkok experience without having to pay for a 5 star hotel. You learn to use quick and cheap river ferries to everywhere. Ferry connection to Sky train is a breeze as well. We did not have the budget to stay in a river view room in any of the hotels on the "right side" but here we found something much closer to the water with the most stunning views at Ibrik - just look at the photos.Even if I could afford a 5 star accross the river I would never have had this view and proximity to the river. Lots of restuarnts nearby - you just have to explore! Real Thai people living right next door, you see whole families at night making those suits people ordered from smart hotels, to be ready for the next day, you see the Thai family life. My criteria for chosing this paradise on the river was - where can I find a nice hotel room on the river in central tourist attraction area without paying the earth - and this is it!

We used a taxi organised by Ibrik management to collect us from the airport, thus he knew exactly where it was. After that, we never needed a taxi again, we used ferries, tuk-tuks and Skytrain.

I looked at todays price 3,500B - still a bagain, try to find similar accommodation at that price in Istanbul on the sea/river for instance.You must be joking..You also have to keep in mind that you pay first and foremost for location, location, location.

So I just want to say - Ibrik is only for adventourous, independant people who want to explore the real heart of Bangkok, who want to learn to utilise the local means of river transport, who want to stay where Thai locals stay, does not mind a few minor things like language barriers and standard size beds and appreciate a special place when they find it. Someone who wants the real Bangkok experience. If this is not you, then look elsewhere, the place is already fully booked most of the year anyway! Keep it free for those who appreciate its specialness.

Room Tip: Sunshine room has a double bed and large balcony with fantastic river view
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank HoutBayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Booked this after having had more than a few stays over the other side of the river in bass-pumping night-club range.

Beautiful little property right on the water. Delightful rooms, if smaller than the pictures would suggest, but more than roomy enough for a comfortable stay. Moonlight room had THE BEST shower- roof open to the evening air (very atmospheric; not in sight of any prying eyes however). Sunlight was fantastic, facing onto the chao pria with a view to the grand palace. Staff the most polite and helpful we have ever encountered. Brilliant breakfast (with excellent coffee) to fuel your excursions into the city. 50m from the pier which is only a 3b ferry away from the corner of the grand palace and a truly amazing market with mindblowing food stalls. VERY quiet- best sleep ever had in bangkok.

A bit difficult to find the first time- would recommend the pickup service (a bit overpriced, but honestly, after a long flight, makes the whole thing so much easier and stress free). Relatively expensive stay, but well worth it for the experience that we had.

Would definately recommend to couples looking to experience bangkok without having to live on the doorstep of a nightclub.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timcutfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I took my niece to Thailand for her high school graduation present and our first stop was Ibrik Resort in Bangkok. We booked the River Room and our wonderful "American" breakfast was right on the Chao Praya River! Great room (clean, comfortable beds, view of lit up grand palace at night), good bathroom, staff was welcoming and helpful, AC in room worked great. Convenient to ferry to cross the river to attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladycheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Be sure to carry a copy of the Thai cab instructions with you .. you can always walk in from Wat Rawkang after you have been here once but you need a little help finding the place the first time.
Once you do, you know you have found something special. You may not even feel you need to leave... you can just lie on your bed or sit on your porch and watch Bangkok go by - your entire wall facing the river is like one giant entertainment screen. (This worked well for me as I was not feeling well when we arrived.)
There is a little early evening noise from the place next door, but the party boats and noise close down early, so don't really interfer with a good nights sleep.
A wonderful breakfast is served with a smile on the porch in the morning. In fact all the hotel employees ( or owners, or whatever they are) are extremely sweet and helpful. They understand more English than they speak.
When you are ready to get out, it is a super location - just hop the 3 bhat cross river boat for the Temple of the Emerald Buddha and Grand Palace and Wat Pho ( Temple of the Reclining Buddha). You are also near the Royal Barge Museum and Wat Arun on the same side. And you can catch the downriver tourist ferry to see the city from its original highway.
At night the one door over very elegant Thai restuarant has free music and dance entertainment (at least on Saturday night). It was very elegant and beautiful.
For things farther away it is easy and not expensive to arrange a taxi.
So all together we found our 3 nights very pleasant and convenient.
We stayed in the River Room on the first floor. The Sunlight and Moonlight Rooms are on the second floor. Sunlight faces the river and Moonlight faces the alley.. all rooms have terraces.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMBA_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We got Ibrik by the River recommended by a friend as a nice boutique hotel - and we got not disapointed.
The location is just great and the service is very good.
It was very hard to find by Taxi drivers even after printing out the Thai directions - after tw o days we could direct the drivers by our own.
The staff is very good and likes to fulfill all wishes.
The only thing that could be improved is the additional bill as we dropped by accident a water glass into the river.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freemagicsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We had to stay there because of the location and it was fun fun fun! We had the upstairs room with the large terrace, the double bed and the shower only.
Room (Sunshine): very small but OK for a one-night-experience, bathroom working but small, too, AC: wonderful
Location: if you are a bit adventurous and you don´t mind to stay in a small room, THIS IS IT! The neighbourhood is charming, there are almost no "farangs" and it is just lovely and quiet. Not so the river: you hear the river, the ferries and the boats. But hey! We knew this beforehand!
Breakfast: one word: royal! We loved it!
Staff: wonderful, just "Thai".
Value: well, it is expensive and you do not get what you have in other hotels at this rate. But the location is worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#152 of 891 in Bangkok
355 reviews
Theatre Residence
#409 of 891 in Bangkok
12 reviews
Aurum The River Place
#285 of 891 in Bangkok
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#188 of 891 in Bangkok
332 reviews
Banglamphu
Siam Champs Elyseesi Unique Hotel
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#20 of 891 in Bangkok
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibrik Resort by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibrik Resort by the River

Address: 256 Soi Wat Rakang, Arunamarin Rd., Bangkoknoi, 10700 | Arunamrin Rd, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $89 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibrik Resort by the River 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok Boutique Hotel in Thailand The smallest resort in the world ...just three rooms in all .... River room .. the whisper of Chaophraya river Sunshine room .. indulgence to the bright sunlight Moonlight room .. a soft touch of tranquility Guest Room Facilities : All 3 rooms are non-smoking rooms. All rooms have private en suite bathrooms and private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ibrik Resort by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibrik Resort By The River Hotel Bangkok
Ibrik Resort Bangkok
Ibrik Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing