We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goodish Cheap Accomodation - Lovely Massage!”
Review of D&D INN

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
D&D INN
Ranked #679 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed November 29, 2006

Having arrived in Bangkok early morning all myself and 5 friends wanted to do was get our heads down and catch some rays!!!

We headed to the D & D as it was recommended by many friends who had also stayed here.

The reception area is lovely & cool with air con and the staff are most helpful, even opening doors, etc. Makes the difference!!

Upon arrival we requested 2 rooms - 1 for 3 people and 1 for 2 people. As we were early arrivals only the room for 3 was available, but it was fine, we all just wanted sleep!!

We arrived at the room and were happyish with the room, it was typical of the price we paid - around 450 baht. The rooms we got were standard rooms with air con. (if you plan on staying, I would suggest paying that little bit extra and going deluxe!). The mattress if you can call it that was bad, it was like laying on a bed base not a mattress, good if you have a bad back, but this was bad, mind you we were that shattered we could have slept on anything (well within reason anyway!!).

The reception kindly rung the room when the other room was available.

Overall the stay at the D & D inn was ok and cheap and ideal for us first time backpackers! It was a good location to get lots of cheap bargains off the road.

Myself and 2 others tried the restaurant later in the evening and were happy with what we ate, although the spring rolls were a little frozen in the middle!!

The annoying things about the D & D inn was the bird that chose to sing from 5am and the maids telephone on the corridor kept ringing and ringing. Also the roof pool was closed due to refurbishment, would have been nice to go for a dip, but hey ho suppose they have to do works when they can!!

Myself and the other 4 girls all had a foot massage in the salon upstairs - it was my first time and for an hour long massage for only 250 baht it was the best thing ever!! I would defo recommend this.

On our return leg of our trip we checked in at the D & D inn again, this was in the early hours at 2.30am. We were worried that we wouldnt get a room, we did try to reserve a room online but didnt receive a reply. Luckily a room was free, however they did try to make out only a deluxe was available, after a bit of nagging it did appear there was a standard room available!! We checked in and had a few hours kip before the building work started at 7am! Not good!

Breakfast is included in the price which is good, but get there before 9.30am as otherwise all you will be left with is pineapple juice and toast!!

A baggage store is available which is good if you need to go sightseeing, this way you don’t have to lug your bag with you. It is free before 10am, after this time think its 20 baht, always nice to leave a tip though.

Overall I would recommend a stay here if you are travelling, if you aren’t then pay a little extra and stay some place nice.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SELBYLOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2006

the rooms came without windows, which was bearable. took the most expensive room there was. cos the slightly cheaper one smelt awful.

however it was with the service staff which totally ruined my trip there. room charges are paid upfront, and i had a bkk fren over one night. she was not well, so we informed the hotel staff that we have a guest, just to rest for 15 minutes. so, my friend took an aspirin, and while i was in the bathroom, the security and the receptionist came up and insisted that we pay 500 baht as my friend is staying over for the night. it was barely 15 minutes and we were preparing to leave the room to continue our shopping. FYI, my friend was not staying over and she was really unwell.

in the end, they forced us out of the hotel, at 1am. and we left, unhappily of course, but no point arguing with them, since we were in a foreign land with a different culture after all.

when we left, my friend discovered that her mobile phone was missing. the phone in question is worth about US$500. brand new, so we kept calling and it was ringing. but no answer. we went back to the hotel ( after all the unhappiness, its the last place i wanted to be). asked the cleaners, the receptionists.

AND, you know who took the phone? THE SECURITY GUARD. he was supposed to monitor our packing while we were asked to leave, and he took advantage of the messiness of the situation and took the phone.

He gave us back the phone eventually after we heard the phone ringing on him. HOWS THAT? he didnt know how to switch off the phone. haha. btw, after we found the phone, there was another group of tourists who were having some arguements with the service staff there, go figure.

anyway, this incidents completely ruined my khao san experience. i have been there 4 times, and each time for as long as a fortnight or more. I love thailand, and the thai culture. and the pple, but these events tarnished my impression completely.

but it doesnt mean that i am never going back to khao san. perhaps just never ever in my life, back to D&D.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lupcheongmuimui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2006

I was in Thailand for 3 months this summer and everytime i went to bankgkok the d&d was the place i stayed!!! and everyone i know who went to thailand this summer also stayed there due to excellent reccomendation!!!

Ok so we loved the d&d!!! cant believe people have bad things to say about the place!!! to be fair.. if u get a standard room it aint the nicest...but for like 2 or 3 euro extra a nite u can get a delux room!!! theyre sooooo nice!!! all new and clean wth tv(with movies) n fridges n real nice showers!!! also theres a nice roof top pool, which is good cuz bangkok's so busy!! so its nice to have somewhere to go relax and take in some sunshine!!!

The d&d is perfect... backbacker style prices with expensive style rooms & service!!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank beautifulsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sweden
19
Reviewed February 28, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2006

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank traveller_kerava78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wales, UK
115
Reviewed December 31, 2005

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2005

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank 318Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#357 of 891 in Bangkok
1,340 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#366 of 891 in Bangkok
1,103 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#179 of 891 in Bangkok
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Park
Dang Derm in The Park
#524 of 891 in Bangkok
35 reviews
Banglamphu
Mango Lagoon Place
Mango Lagoon Place
#512 of 891 in Bangkok
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D&D INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D&D INN

Address: 68-70 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#161 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $26 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D&D INN 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your D&D INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d And d Inn
d&d Hotel Bangkok
d Hotel Bangkok
d d Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing