We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of D&D INN

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
D&D INN
Ranked #510 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Seattle
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

Just stayed at the place and it was a pleasant stay. The swimming pool was just refurbished and a totally getaway. The place is very comfortable with many facilities like garden like restaurant, beauty salon, cooking school, 24-hr internet on top. We stayed there for 2 nites in the standard room. The room was kinda old, but clean and with sufficient breakfast I think is worth paying for. This is the 5th time on Kaosan and is still the best place on Khao san.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    503
    455
    162
    228
See reviews for
105
530
180
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

Didn't like the Khao san area really. No escape in the room at D and D. small room, no window, air con was good and quiet, and hot shower was good. the bed had a plastic cover which i thought was for accidents but looking closer was to hold the mattress together! the pool area was ok and there's a free breakfast which was average also. the price is ok and there are a lot of guests at all times. the staff were fine for such an establishment although i didn't have ay issues. I wouldn't stay again but more to the fact didn't like the area which i think is too dirty and smelly and the food around was surprisingly bad. much better suited to younger backpackers!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldishbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

In a great location, right in the heart of Bangkok's markets and night life. A beautiful pool on the roof of the hotel, with a nice bar downstairs next to a large fish pond. Ideal for travellers, the rooms are standard with small TV's and no fridges!

  • Liked — The roof top pool
  • Disliked — The after 1pm check in time
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Leyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

After a 25 hour flight we thought this place for 750 bath a night would be OK to start off the backpacker trip but the bed was just ROCK hard! Just couldnt sleep in there. Search for it on youtube and you will find a funny clip showing how hard the beds are :) Its not a bed, its a nylon, hard rubber thing.

No but seriously. This place was crapy. The staff was just being rude and unfriendly, room was poorly cleaned. And the first room we got had a really noisy AirCon sounding like Scania diesel engine starting up in the morning.

I would not recommend this to my worst enemy. Good location though, but there are numerous places just around the corner. Especially on a street named Soi Rambutri, just off Khao San Rd

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom_and_molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

The roof top is the only reason i would stay here. It's great. The rooms are basic, but ok & are good value. You can't check in until 1pm, so we flew 10 hours & then had to wait 2 hours to check in & only to find they had not cleaned the room from the last people..ewww.
We found that the going in & out via the back of the D&D was much better, once we were over kohsan road. There you will find great little cafe's & better massage places. Take your own towel for the pool.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

Stayed here many times in 2008, it was a little backpacker luxury, so I booked it again in 2009...BIG MISTAKE. After selling this place to my partner as a lovely clean, softbedded hangout, I arrived and the bed was rock hard, the room was not clean and the view was straight out onto the Khaosan Rd which is cool, but not if you want to sleep before 5am! I called to reception re the bed I had booked a standard room. I was told that there is a luxury room, none were free, a standard room, and well below standard room! Ha! Brilliant a sub-standard room.....and it was! The pool was green and slimy and the food awful! I would say however the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

I stayed a couple of days, but didn't feel I was using the amenities and it was the first actual single bed, outside of a dorm, that I have encountered on my trip. Room was clean and okay size. Noisy at night from other guests coming and going, but not road noise. Good deal if you like to swim and party. I left for something cheaper. Found it annoying to retrieve my luggage, which I had stored for only one day and had to wait 20 minutes because the bag had been moved elsewhere. Recommend for partiers and swimmers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braceletsgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#338 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#369 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#188 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#354 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#348 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D&D INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D&D INN

Property: D&D INN
Address: 68-70 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#138 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D&D INN 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your D&D INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d&d Hotel Bangkok
d And d Inn
d Hotel Bangkok
d d Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing