We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean basic room, close to nightlife”
Review of D&D INN

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
D&D INN
Ranked #641 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The place featured in a scene in Leonardo DiCaprio's The Beach, this hostel is right in the middle of what then became known as the backpacker's ghetto. As its name implies, it really is more of an inn than a hotel so don't expect the kind of grand one would expect from a hotel (such as a nice lobby, hotel services like getting a cab for you, etc). Nonetheless, the place provides the basic comfort that every traveller needs - a clean, reasonably spacious room, clean restroom and working hot/cold shower, aircon, a place where you can leave your luggage if you are in checking in early or checking out late.

More importantly, however, what is best with the place is its location, IF you are do not mind the noise and IF you prefer to be really close to where all the drinking spots are, as well as the many interesting stalls selling food, books, clothing, fake certificates (hmm though I wonder what use that would be to a tourist), massage - both in Khao San and its more tame sibling Rambuttri. Also a quick 10- to 15-minute walk and (I guess, a short bus ride) away from Sanam Luang (royal field), National Museum and of course, the Grand Palace, Wat Pho and pier to Wat Arun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TengCorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by a fellow traveller and it was perfect... location is right in the middle of Koh san road, so right in the hustle and bustle but the rooms are newly refurbished and are great value and include breakfast. there was a large bathroom and flat screen TV in the room.

the roof top pool are is amazing with a bar right beside it and the views are just out fantastic, you can see over the whole of bangkok.

overall it was great and would definately return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The only two good thing about this hotels are swimming pool on the rof of hotel and location at the Khoasan road(main street in Bangkok,soecualy for partys).
Everything alse in bad.Smeel,cleanlinnes,rooms,service is terrible.Abot sleep-you can't sleep there(to much noice from the street).You can get much better in Bangkok.We pay about 20eur for two/night and stay there for two days in Oct.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Givencys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived in Bangkok with no accommodation booked, we walked up Khao San road until the heat got too much for us and ended up at the D&D inn.
We shared a twin room, it had its own bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. There was no window in our room but we didn't care - we literally only used the room to sleep in and shower.
It was clean, the air con worked and the location was great for Khao San road backpackers!
A nice surprise was a free breakfast at a hotel across the road - we had eggs and toast.
The free breakfast made up for the price of the room - yes it was cheap by standards in Australia but there are far better priced rooms if you look around.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Definitely one of the best budget accommodation in the Khao San Road area. It is the second time I have stayed here and will consider coming back to experience the craziness of Khao San Road. The rooms are sufficient and reasonably priced. Consider spending a little bit more money to get one of the nicer rooms. You could hear a little bit of the music going on outside late at night but it wasn't too bad at all.

If you want to experience Khao San Road on a budget, stay here for value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fflaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here 2 times during my travel to Thailand. First time I had room with street view. I need to say nighttime was noisy at the room. Second time I stayed with no window room. I even didn’t know they have rooms with NO widow. Very simple room. Breakfast for free. Nothing special. The best thing are: pool on the roof and location.
I would recommend this hotel for young backpackers

Room Tip: Ask for room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voss v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

D&D is my stay when I'm in Bangkok. Friendly staff, a roof top swimming pool to relax and you are just right in the heart of Khaosan Road.
Room are mostly basic, but they do differ from room to room. Try to get a room on the backside which is a lot less noisy!
Prices are right for what you get and the service. It is clean, considering the location.
Breakfast is included and you have a good choise of food.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shyam64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#355 of 890 in Bangkok
1,331 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#365 of 890 in Bangkok
1,083 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Park
Dang Derm in The Park
#598 of 890 in Bangkok
28 reviews
Banglamphu
Mango Lagoon Place
Mango Lagoon Place
#474 of 890 in Bangkok
121 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#183 of 890 in Bangkok
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D&D INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D&D INN

Address: 68-70 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#154 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $25 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D&D INN 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your D&D INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d And d Inn
d&d Hotel Bangkok
d Hotel Bangkok
d d Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing