We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop bar and pool were great:)”
Review of D&D INN

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
D&D INN
Ranked #599 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooftop bar and pool were great:)”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is smack in the middle of Khao San road so plenty of people around, the rooms are very nice if you book the superior standard which are not much more expensive then the standard ones. I say this because a friend of mine booked the standard room and was very disappointed. However our room was a good size and very clean, the decor was very stylish and I was impressed by the 32" flat screen TV! The reception was always helpfull and the staff overall were very good. The rooftop bar and pool was a definate plus. You are only a short tuk tuk drive away from the reclining Buddha and other attractions like the Royal palace with the emerald Buddha. All in all this is pricey for khao San road but after a few weeks backpacking a bit of "luxury" was just what we needed!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    527
    488
    183
    247
See reviews for
124
570
193
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Located right in the heart of Koh San rd, great location. Basic quiet, clean room. Room smelt like old socks !! but appeared to be clean. Breakfast average- but wide selection. Wake up call reliable ! Fine place to stay for stop over/ one or two nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to experience Bangkok on our way to the islands. The hotel was very expensive for us as back/flashpackers but in compairison to other hotels close by it was a decent price. We paid the extra 100 baht to have the superior as they face away from the strip the hotel is on so I can't complain about any noise at the night time. The room was big and clean with two small windows and a tiny balcony, modern, but with only one plug socket which was infuriating. 500 baht deposit is required for the room key and 1000 deposit for the safe key...it is a lot of money and is a pain but you have to understand with been central Bangkok they would lose money with the drunks losing keys all the time!! Ours was refunded on checkout with no qualms. The location is good If you want clubs and bars and there are many food options on the doorstep. The pool is amazing but loungers are taken up by 1pm, you can also get massages etc. I would happily stay here again ifnindeed as I had no problems, they let us use the pool for the full day after we had checked out and also held our bags for free. No problems at all :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blissackerman1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

It seems that EVERY tourist to Bangkok, especially 1st-timers, ends up on (in)famous Khao San Rd, and for years this was considered the best hotel on Khao San;
this is certainly not true anymore; small (but nicely appointed) rooms w/dodgy bathrooms (erratic, exposed wiring, incomplete cleaning, etc) w/no opening windows & air con that was either Arctic or jungle, no in-between
i was traveling w/Thai friend, and they treated him as practically a criminal before allowing him to check in w/me; a local resident "farang" friend wanted to visit w/us- in the daytime- and they very rudely and adamantly refused
it is right in the middle of Khao San Rd, which might be a good thing, except that sleep can be very hard to come by (the hard, uncomfy beds don't help either!)
the breakfast "buffet", free w/the room, is overpriced at that- to call it execrable and mediocre
would be to lavish too much praise on what was absolutely the worst breakfast i have ever eaten in Thailand (and i have had some bad ones; one of many reasons i don't eat much Western food here anymore)
the rooftop pool & garden area is truly beautiful, w/stunning views and a very peaceful feel;
that alone is the ONLY reason i didn't give this place an even lower rating
there are 2 other newer hotels across the street (which i forget the name of; i stayed in one last year), 1 is just directly across from D&D, the other (where i stayed for 3 nights) is about 50-100 meters south, behind the 7-11, alsio on the east side of the street- and both are preferable options to this place...
if you must stay near Khao San, why not go 1 block over to Soi Rambuttri?
several hotels & guesthouses w/better value, less noise, better food & service that doesn't make you feel dirty or criminal... (see my review, Rambuttri Village)

Room Tip: from my conversations w/other guests at breakfast (after we stopped complaining about the terrible f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

So a friend recommended that my girlfriend and I stay here when we came to Bangkok at Christmas 2011.

What we didn't realise was that she was a backpacker when she came here - not particularly the type of place that we were looking for, and definitely something that I will not be doing again!

The rooms are small, and ours didn't have a window... The shower doesn't work very well and the TV reception is terrible.

The roof up at the top has a bar which is nice, as well as a pool.

Breakfast was very limited and not great so we opted to eat out for most of our meals.

Also being located down an alleyway, it leaves you susceptible to being harassed by the locals trying to sell you suits etc.

The location is good if you're looking to party - loads of travellers from all nationalities partying the night away, we were actually there on Christmas Eve, and at 4:30 in the morning had people screaming down the corridors and banging on peoples' doors. Idiots.

It's also quite far away from the airport, but at 350BT it's only pennies to get there.

I would not stay at this hotel again, however would probably recommend it to travellers / students on a shoestring budget and just looking for a place to dump their stuff so they can meet people and go out drinking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

They give me a smelly, dirty, humid, no-window, cockroaches-friendly room.
The breakfast was nothing mediocre.
Very noisy during the night for the music in the streets, even more in the morning (there were constructing works in the building next to the hotel).
Nothing else to say.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Myself & my boyfriend stayed here for our last 3 nights in Thailand with 4 of our friends. We wanted somewhere decent and comfortable to stay in the Khao San Road vicinity. However, we were planning on staying out most nights and so when they told us that the only double basic rooms that were available faced the street and were notoriously loud, we were not fazed.
The rooms were basic and we could've gotten more for our money elsewhere in Thailand but this was reasonable for Bangkok. It was perfect for us as we spent most of our nights out until the morning (missing the loudest part of the day) and then slept off our hangovers when it was quieter in the day.
The staff were the worst we've had in Thailand. The reception staff are very rude and blunt and seemed irritated when we would enquire about hotel facilities. The doormen/security made inappropriate sexist comments whenever myself or one of my female friends would walk past, when my boyfriend asked them to stop they swore at him and continued to make the rude comments.
Also unlike other (better quality) places i've stayed in Bangkok it is not free to store bags for the day after you check out.
Good location right on Khao San Road, but there are better places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aw414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#358 of 868 in Bangkok
1,299 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#380 of 868 in Bangkok
1,042 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#171 of 868 in Bangkok
1,297 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#343 of 868 in Bangkok
447 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Park
Dang Derm in The Park
#602 of 868 in Bangkok
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D&D INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D&D INN

Property: D&D INN
Address: 68-70 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#150 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D&D INN 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your D&D INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d And d Inn
d&d Hotel Bangkok
d Hotel Bangkok
d d Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing