We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very adequate”
Review of Watana Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Watana Mansion
Ranked #490 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I have stayed here in three consecutive years. Every room in this hotel has a little minor problem, they are slightly worn down, but if you do not mind the looks, it is a perfect hotel. Bed is good, bathroom has what it takes, open 24 hours, with your own keycard. The hotel kind of doubles as a brothel, by the way, but who cares.
This year I stayed here for the last time. I was tricked out of 500 baht in the hotel shop. Having given 1000 baht, for some stuff costing 180, an older woman at the counter passed the bill to the regular seller, who happened to be counting the register. She gave me back 320, claiming I had given her a 500 B note. Adding insult to the trick, she pointed to a 500 B note which was in the register, knowing very well she had passed my note to the other attendant. Well, she had me there. You do not feel like staying there in those circumstances, so I regretted to have to leave the place.
Completely adequate hotel, if you do not spend all day indoors, but need a comfortable place to sleep. Just be careful in the shop, show them big notes very clearly, so that they are recorded on the camera, and let them know you are aware of what you are giving them.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helloworld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Watana Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 148 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2010

Super economy hotel. It is one of the best in its class. Convenient to public mass transit, taxi stand in front, ATM machine and convenience store on premises. Nice pool. Good balcony veiw.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladykatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I stayed in this hotel twice, first with my sister and the other time with my extended family. The hotel is quite old and shabby. There is actually bed bugs on my cousin's room. The breakfast selections were only either porridge or American Breakfast everyday. The staffs was friendly but could not really speak fluent English. I got problem communicating with them. However, the rate is very cheap and got airport transfers as well.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VieLuLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

As already stated in previous reviews, staff is not helpful. Although, I would define them as indifferent more than rude. I don't find them to be more so than other hotels in Bangkok. The service in the restaurant is terrible but the food is fine. It can be infurating at times particularly when coupled with their limited English. That said, I still stay here because I like the location i.e. not Koh San Rd.
Also, the TV stations are very limited.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelllerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

PLUS - I like this hotel for the value and its convenient loction. MRT station walking distance. Nice little 24 hour market. Maid and laundry personel friendly. Clean but old rooms.

NEGATIVE - I'll never get over the 'not give a hoot' staff. They seem so jaded every year I have stayed there.This includes both the front desk and the below par eatery. This is really a put off.

If I go here I just dont go with high expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khunjimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

I found the rude and unfriendly staff not to be worth the savings. The only positive experience with staff was the maid who was quite kind. The food service staff was the absolute worst. The ft. desk wasn't much better. The room safe was constantly messing up through no fault of my own. It was just a piece of junk. Every time someone had to come up to open it by key and reset it, it was a negative experience accept for one time. though it may have been convient to eat downstairs at times, the slow and unfriendly service caused me to refuse. The room service is done by the same staff so that was also a lost cause. You'll feel better if you book some where else.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank streeteats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

If you are looking for something really budget for about THB 700 a night for a room with twin beds, this is something worthwhile.

There is free breakfast with every night's stay and free 30 minutes of Internet usage. There are 2 options for breakfast, either an American or local breakfast. Most of the times, they would serve an American breakfast. It might seem a little miserly, but sufficient for the size of Asian stomachs. If you are not a fan of coffee, you could also request to have tea instead. As for the internet provision, the computers are quite updated. Some of the computers are running in Windows Vista. The computers are just on a bar beside a 24-hour supermarket. There are no problems at all. Best, they are all flat-screened monitors.

My first room had a faulty safe. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to change a room immediately.

There is a bath tub but do prepare extra towels as there is no shower curtains. The room's conditions are quite comfortable. It might look retro and old-fashioned. Not to worry, there would be a daily change of towels as well as soaps. Thumbs up for the housekeeping. :)

The location of the hotel is quite convenient especially for its closer proximity to Sutthisan MRTA station and to a bank which offers foreign currency exchange easily. Also, it is along Ratchadaphisek road, which is one of the major roads leading to the north of Bangkok. It is relatively nearer to Chatuchak Park by being 4 MRT stops away.

Down the Ratchadaphisek road, there are shopping malls to satisfy one's hunger. Malls such as Robinsons as well as Carrefour are decent places to have meals and shopping.

As for taxi meter hire to the airport, the staff are efficient in hailing cabs direct to Suvarnabhumi airport. It took less than 10 minutes after the call made. By the time I was at the lobby, the taxi driver was there ready to transfer our baggage into the boot.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Edwina_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Din
Bangkok 68
Bangkok 68
#285 of 879 in Bangkok
345 reviews
Din
Ratchada 17 Place
Ratchada 17 Place
#769 of 879 in Bangkok
54 reviews
Double DD House
#377 of 879 in Bangkok
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buddy Place
#574 of 879 in Bangkok
7 reviews
All Together Suite
#661 of 879 in Bangkok
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watana Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watana Mansion

Address: 209 Ratchadapisek Rd Soi 17 | Dindang, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Din
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #490 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $21 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Watana Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Watana Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watana Mansion Bangkok
Watana Mansion Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing