We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Ranked #335 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Brazil
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Not much good to say about this hotel unless you want pay sex at the surroundings. The safebox is at the reception, the bed is uncomfortable, the linnen couldnt be worse, the pillows also. Not much to say just dont stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarntawan, General Manager at The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Ifarj,

Thank you very much for your comments and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Since October 2012, the Tarntawan Place has installed safe deposit boxes in all rooms, changed the T.V.'s to Flatscreen ones and replaced old linen. A selection of pillows is available from Housekeeping, should you prefer softer or firmer ones. Sometimes it just helps to talk to somebody during your stay.

Once again, thank you very much for your comment.

Regards

Lukas Habersaat
General Manager
Tarntawan Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    138
    68
    14
    7
See reviews for
7
109
175
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a lovely, small hotel just off a main road, but surprisingly quiet for it's location, just up the road (walking distance) from the Patpong market area and other pubs and bars. We stayed for a total of 3 nights (2 together and then 1 night on our return to Bangkok from elsewhere). On both occasions we stayed in a deluxe room, which was spacious & clean, had a flat screen TV and a lovely bathroom with powerful shower. Incidentally, the first 2 nights we stayed in a room at the front of the hotel and we were not disturbed at all by any noise from the main road or any comings and goings from the hotel. Breakfast was included in the price of our room and this meal could be taken at any time of the day which was a nice touch and meant that the breakfast area never seemed to be crowded and you were never rushed to eat at a certain time of day.
We found the staff here to be second to none, all very helpful and informative and always smiling!
As our flight was not arriving in Bangkok until 7pm and we wanted to go on an all day excursion to Ayutthaya the next day, we had emailed the hotel beforehand to see if they were able to arrange this excursion for us and we had a confirmation email before we flew that said the excursion had been booked for us and the cost would be added on to our bill at the end of our stay. Needless to say when we arrived, the excursion for the next day was mentioned and the reception staff were all fully aware & told us what time we would be picked up! (There was no confusion with the tour operator on the day of the trip regarding payment and the trip was paid for when we checked out).
We really cannot think of any issues with this hotel and we would definitely stay here again when returning to Bangkok

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Return visit and pleased to report that management continue to listen to customers' comments. There is now a safe installed in the rooms.
Breakfast is still the best in its class as is the level of service.
Great location and I enjoyed my visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnANicl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a wonderful little hotel this is, lovely, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, good food,and close to everything, what more could one ask for. We loved it and will only stay here when in Bangkok. We found the hotel to be very good value and the staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: we found all rooms to be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussy_Feeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The location of this friendly hotel makes it perfect for night owels... easy walk to the popular bars and clubs, and to the nearest sky train station that will take you to the most modern of shopping complexes where any shopaholic can get an amazing experience.
The rooms are kept extreemly clean and room staff very attentive and helpful and an excellent laundry service operates. A 24 hour room service provides a good selection of hot and cold food and drinks and the option of breakfast in your room is a great feature.
The staff are superb,... cant do enough for you, and always with a smile.
There are no issues if you want to entertain a guest or guests in your room, a simple security system operates that safeguards your interests and that of your guest at no extra charge on your room.
The dining area could do with a bit of a make over ! the chairs and tables are not comfortable to sit at and there is a dreadful background music system that plays there... but thats a small issue when the whole experience is taken into account.
Overall this is a perfect place to stay for short or longer periods. Shouls have 4 stars !!!!

Room Tip: Room 412 is home from home for me !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidLU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The location is indeed very convenient, close to Metro/Skytrain.
Staff is very professional and helpful.
Rooms are spacious and very clean, providing all the conveniences you can expect.

However this hotel needs an update in order to qualify as a (3) stars hotel.
Had a chance to talk to the owner, who actually confirmed that they are in the process of entering into a renovation program for the hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is my second time in this hotel, last year i stayed in the suite but this time i booked deluxe room which was better, more space,battroom very comfy, good shower pressure,clean bed . As usual the service is perfect especially the stairlift guy who has been there for 14 years, always happy to chat with you! Nice breakfast,very convenient location.

Room Tip: Deluxe instead suite....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Tawana Bangkok
The Tawana Bangkok
#230 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#185 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#393 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
De Arni Bangkok
De Arni Bangkok
#461 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Silom
Rose Hotel
Rose Hotel
#417 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Silom
Wall Street Inn
Wall Street Inn
#503 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok

Property: The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Address: 119/5-10 Surawong Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Tarntawan Place Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#158 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#209 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarntawan Place is a well established, modern hotel. The rooms are stylishly appointed, spacious and light, creating a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Our personalized service and attention to detail ensure a special comfort and charm. Situated in a quiet courtyard off Surawong Road in the heart of Bangkok's business and entertainment district, the Tarntawan Place is within walking distance of international banks, shopping centeres and major airline offices. The Skytrain overhead railway (Sala Daeng Station) and Subway (Sam Yan and Silom Stations) are both just a few steps away.The famous shopping and nightlife areas of Silom and Patpong are just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarntawan Place Bangkok
Hotel Tarntawan Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing