We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, immaculately clean but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Ranked #355 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times now, as I like to be close to the airport before I fly home. The rooms are immmaculately clean, and the staff are generally friendly and polite. Personally I wouldn't eat there, but that is down to the amount of varied restaurants that are right on the doorstep. With the traffic problems in Bangkok, it is great to be right in the centre of the city and only a 5 minute walk to the Skytrain which gets you around. It also has free wifi throughout.

The downside is that it is extremely expensive compared to many other better quality hotels, who have adjusted there prices during the economic downturn.

I did have a problem there, due to me having a late night flight, and hadnt realised that they charge a 1/2 day rental if you want to stay 4 hours after check out (2pm) and a full days rental if you want longer than that (i wanted 6 hours, which is 1/4 of a 24 hour day). This hadnt been made clear, and considering the hotel was mainly empty I would have expected some leniancy, but it took an email complaint to the director to get this reversed, and then been told to expect it next time, which I will have to think about as British Airways flights are always just after midnight.

All in all, it is a good hotel for a first time short visit to Bangkok, but if you are staying more than one night, then I would definitely look around for a hotel with more facilities (spa etc) and with views.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 401 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

Bangkok has some truly great hotels at a reasonable price. This, I'm afraid is not one of them. We booked this hotel simply on the recommendation of someone we know who said that he could get mates rates on it. We ended up paying approx £50 per night, with a full rate of £60 per night. At £60 per night we'd seen both Lebua and Banyan Tree available for the dates we were there and there really can be no comparison. Even with the discount, I'd rather pay the little extra and go somewhere special.

The pick up from the airport was also expensive, costing 1000 baht whereas you can get a transfer for less than half that.

As for the hotel its very average. Only three weeks after staying I struggle to remember the rooms. Functional but not special. Little by way of view. Not impressive or inspiring exterior, slightly less salubrious area than some. Breakfasts weren't great.

Seems to me that it depends what you want. Its certainly gay friendly (but is that really a problem finding one in Bangkok?). It's also secure enough for those who, erm, have short term guests to their rooms at night as they have security checks going in an out of the hotel. As a young couple for a few nights before heading to Thailand's beaches, it wouldnt be the hotel I would recommend.

On the plus side, free wifi!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Nice and quite hotel in the middle of Bangkok's entertainment area. The service is excellent and breakfast is served 24 hrs.
Security in top.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlemmingVordingborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Tarntawan is the centre of the entertainmnet area of Silom/Surawongse but it is set back from the road and so is gratifyingly quiet.
Patpong market and the gay areas are close by, as are some shopping malls and Lumpini Park....an excellent location.
I've been staying there regularly for more than ten years and will return next month. The staff are friendly and helpful and always welcome me warmly. The rooms have been refurbished and are well-maintained. The hot-water system now works well.
There are free computers in the lobby. I always take breakfast there and appreciate the fact that it is freshly-made for me- so often, hotels provide only a buffet.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles1000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

It's been a little while since my last visit but none of the charm has gone. This a great little hotel the staff are wonderful and it was good to see so many people I knew from my last trip many of the staff even remember my name. The rooms are of good size depending on what you choose.I stay in the Deluxe Surawong room that looked over the courtyard. Got lost in the King Size Bed and the Bath was great to soak after huge day shopping or partying, The night markets and train station are all in easy working distance so are the clubs, There buffet breakfast is a plus. I felt very safe here and the staff spoke good english. Thank to all the staff for making my stay special

Room Tip: Deluxe Surawong Room was great it look over the court yards and come with extra benfits like fruit d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a case of first impressions is NOT the lasting impressions! As "peterxhosa" says, the little alley where it is situated looks rather downmarket and a little grotty from the outside, but boy, once you step into that reception area you realise you have stumbled onto a hidden jewel. I will never stay anywhere else ever again in Bangkok. It is absolutely the best experience I ever had in Bangkok. (Off course you can book into expensive 5 star hotels and other luxurious establishments in Bangkok and have a better time) but value for money is absolutely the main reason for staying in this nice and cosy hotel. After all, you only sleep for a short while in your room when you visit Bangkok, you don't stay in your room, and this hotel provide everything you need for a comfortable, warm welcoming and pleasurable stay. It is only a pleasure to stay here and I can only recommend this hotel to everybody (specially gays) I agree to everything "peterxhosa" says in his review. Well done Tarntawan!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniegaypretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Sssh, don't tell anyone about this hotel. I want to be able to get a booking there again. I have been staying at the Tarntawan for the past 10 years and is my favourite hotel for busy work trips to Bangkok (for leisure the Peninsula gets my vote). From the outside it looks a little grotty and it is hiiden down a rather downmarket little alley, but it is a wonderful hotel. What makes the Tarntawan special is its staff and service ethic. They same to have had the same staff for many years and the hotel remains dependable with no surprises. You can have breakfast whenever you want it, there is free wi-fi in the rooms, free newspapers and a nice restaurant. There is no attempt to guage visitors with extra hidden charges. I always feel at home here and heartily recommend it. But don't tell your friends, let's keep it a secret between us.

Room Tip: The "front" rooms are a little more expensive, but are worth it for the extra luxury touch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterxhosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#199 of 887 in Bangkok
899 reviews
Silom
The Tawana Bangkok
The Tawana Bangkok
#232 of 887 in Bangkok
896 reviews
Banglamphu
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
#217 of 887 in Bangkok
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Silom
Silom Serene
Silom Serene
#261 of 887 in Bangkok
507 reviews
Silom
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#233 of 887 in Bangkok
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok

Address: 119/5-10 Surawong Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Tarntawan Place Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#158 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#220 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $59 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarntawan Place is a well established, modern hotel. The rooms are stylishly appointed, spacious and light, creating a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Our personalized service and attention to detail ensure a special comfort and charm. Situated in a quiet courtyard off Surawong Road in the heart of Bangkok's business and entertainment district, the Tarntawan Place is within walking distance of international banks, shopping centeres and major airline offices. The Skytrain overhead railway (Sala Daeng Station) and Subway (Sam Yan and Silom Stations) are both just a few steps away.The famous shopping and nightlife areas of Silom and Patpong are just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarntawan Place Bangkok
Hotel Tarntawan Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing