We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Ranked #353 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed July 11, 2011

It's a nice place with a great location, but the rooms are really quite dated. Cigarette burns all over the floor. Everything is badly in need of a renovation. I mean CRT TV's!? Really!? The Thai grace and courtesy seem lacking from times I've stayed here before. The cleaning was so-so and the maids forgot the flowers and newspaper and robes and such. To get that required several calls to the front desk. I'm shocked they still use the shampoo etc. in the little bottles wrapped in paper which sheds everywhere. The 'best' view is rubbish as well. Of course I'll stay here again as everything is generally nice and for the location. 24 hour breakfast included is nice too. They even threw in some vouchers for local places such as a jet-lag 2.5 hour session at a place down the street.
Maybe the 'angels' are on a vacation from this 'city of angels.' Disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adaeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 405 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

Do not stay here if you are travelling with an Asian boyfriend....he will be treated like an hourly stay Thai prostitute....and not like a guest of the Hotel

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank GayTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I last stayed at this hotel 2 years ago, and It was an enjoyable stay with excellent service from the staff, so on return last weekend the same faces were there, doing the same thing providing warm and genuine service, not something from a text book, but REAL caring Attention.
I work in Hospitality sio I am aware of what is well experienced people, operating a Hotel as apart from something out of a book, All staff take ownership of the Place, I like staying there thankyou

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Returning after more than a year.
Same great welcome - the staff are great. The airport pickup was efficient and friendly.
The only issue is that the rooms are slightly dated - however they are very clean and still comfortable - still my choice in Suriwong/Silom Area

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolSteve70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Just one night in Bangkok to check out the action before moving on and i found this place to be perfect for us. The staff were more than helpful and the room was clean and well furnished. After meeting friends in Pattaya we returned with 10 others for just a day before flying out. With all our bags we returned to Tarntawan to ask how much to hold our luggage for the afternoon and the said it would be free! Not much is free in Bangers! So we came back later and they let us use the luggage scales and organized a minibus to the airport. We tipped everyone well and i wouldn't even look for another hotel if we return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed for 1 night in a suite. 4500.- !!!!! incl breakfast.
Stayed there 6-7 years ago and, how I remember it, much better than today, and I don't think anything been done to the place since than.
Bad cleaning.
In a draw we found some other guests belongings !!!!
Empty plastic bottle behind the table beside the bed AND a lipstick !!!!!!!
10.15 in the morning we got a call asking when we will check out !!!!!! (checkout time 12.00)
Basic American breakfast.
Took forever to get warm water in the shower on the 8 th floor.
Bed linings basic polyester, not the soft nice you should expect in a room for that price in Bangkok.
Good location. Friendly staff. Free internet.
They charge as if the hotel would be a 4 star hotel but it's far away from that.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richme1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Stayed here on the recommendation of Spartacus guide - rooms are in need of an update, although a very good size and comfy bed. I loved the idea of breakfast being available for free as standard from room-service 24hrs a day - particularly useful for travellers doing stopovers with strange flight times.

The staff are what really make this place - extremely friendly and helpful, although I was a little disconcerted to find I'd been charged an extra night for a late check-out - especially as I'd been assured it was free of charge. On challenging the receptionist this was later rectified, but I'd advise to check your bill carefully on check-out.

There are definitely better places to stay for the money in Silom - check out FuramaXclusive Sathorn a few blocks away; awesome rooms and better facilities for the same price (if not cheaper).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#196 of 889 in Bangkok
906 reviews
Silom
The Tawana Bangkok
The Tawana Bangkok
#230 of 889 in Bangkok
902 reviews
Banglamphu
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
#209 of 889 in Bangkok
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Silom
Silom Serene
Silom Serene
#272 of 889 in Bangkok
509 reviews
Silom
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Montien Hotel Bangkok
#391 of 889 in Bangkok
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok

Address: 119/5-10 Surawong Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Tarntawan Place Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#158 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#220 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $61 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarntawan Place is a well established, modern hotel. The rooms are stylishly appointed, spacious and light, creating a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Our personalized service and attention to detail ensure a special comfort and charm. Situated in a quiet courtyard off Surawong Road in the heart of Bangkok's business and entertainment district, the Tarntawan Place is within walking distance of international banks, shopping centeres and major airline offices. The Skytrain overhead railway (Sala Daeng Station) and Subway (Sam Yan and Silom Stations) are both just a few steps away.The famous shopping and nightlife areas of Silom and Patpong are just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarntawan Place Bangkok
Hotel Tarntawan Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing