We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

KU DE TA Signature Restaurant - CLOSED
Cuisines: Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Silom
Description: The showpiece restaurant, and the multi-sensory epicurean entrance into the stylish pleasures of the world of KU DÉ TA. Regally occupying the prime and generous space at the front of the 39th floor, Signature introduces its guests to the unique aspects of the KU DÉ TA experience: hand-carved ceilings, elegant banquettes, and a panoramic view of the Bangkok cityscape. Chef Jonathan Maza has crafted a Modern Asian dining experience that has roots in Japanese cooking but which boldly explores ingredients and techniques from different regions within Asia. Complemented by an extensive new-world inspired wine list, rare sakes and Japanese cocktails, Signature delivers a layered and luxurious experience that you can customize with your personal tastes.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

What a view, what a service and what a good food. This was really something. I can't describe how much we liked this place. It has everything. Try it you like it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Director of Restaurants at KU DE TA Signature Restaurant - CLOSED, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Bob M,

I Take this opportunity to say thank you very much for the 'Wow' review you left about your dining experience in our Signature restaurant. We value your feedback very highly and its great for the team to receive such positive comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    17
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic food , good knowledgeable staff.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We had done ku de ta in Bali more than 3 times and every time it was a great experience the food , and the ambience, it's difficult to compete with a view of the sea rolling in!! But this in bangkok was such a wonderful surprise. Our cocktails were very good, they have a huge selection, very innovative . My first course was sea bream , beautiful to look at and delicious!! My partners salad with king prawn was as good. My beef slices in mushroom sauce sounded like the many I have had , but this had a special something , my partners main dish was a fish cooked in a light sauce excellent . The desserts were a work of art! A sight to behold , and just wondrous on our palate!! mine was ginger ice cream with a wafer, and the other was a chocolate dessert.the only grouch we had was the servings of our food, except the desserts was a bit too small. Slightly bigger portions would be great!! A warning , if you are hungry order 3 starters to share!! For 2 with one cocktail was about us$ 200 .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Director of Restaurants at KU DE TA Signature Restaurant - CLOSED, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Worldtraveller2359,

Many thanks for writing the review of our Signature restaurant here. We are very happy you enjoyed the quality of the meal with us. Whilst dining at Signature we try to bring you the freshest highest quality ingredients at a price point that as competitive as we can make it, we hope you felt and agree that your meal represented good value for money judging on these criteria.
We welcome your return to our establishment at any time and thank you again for taking the time to voice your opinions through trip advisor.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Imagine you're having a dream. It's night. You're floating high,high above Bangkok. Down below you can see the lights of the city- tiny neon signs, illuminated buildings, strings of sparkling red and white pearls denoting the main highways, the tiny green and white navigation lights of the boats on the silver river. And, whilst you're floating above the night-time city, you are at the same time in a restaurant. One in which the staff are dressed like characters from Star Trek of the Jean Luc Picard era ( this bit isn't clear in the dream : I'm strictly a James T Kirk man myself), and you're wishing you'd remembered to bring your glasses, not only to read the menu, which is small shiny writing on a grey backdrop, but also to see the food when it arrives, some of the portions being small, and others absolutely tiny. And then, you manage to dig your fork into a molecular amount of ceviche, which you bring to your mouth and insert into your gaping maw . You close your lips over the minuscule victuals. And then! And then an explosion of flavours erupts on your tongue, overloading every sense your brain can register, and you wake with a start. You find yourself in an über-stylish restaurant high above nighttime Bangkok, with waiting staff in Star Trek uniforms and tiny portions of incredible food, and you realise it's not a dream at all. It's rock solid, cold stone real. And there's the rub. This restaurant is not about eating a meal in the sense of stifling pangs of hunger. It's about art, it's about intense flavours, it's about food as you'd never experience it at home, it's about the stunning views over the city. And it's about service. Service which is attentive to the point of obsession. More chefs, waiters and maître d's than you can shake a stick at. It's being accompanied to the toilet and finding the end of the toilet roll folded into a point for the benefit of the next customer. It is, in a word, extraordinary. And you should definitely try it. Don't expect to be sated unless you have really deep pockets and can afford to buy everything on the menu, or you have a small appetite. We ordered everything on the dessert menu between 6 of us to make up for under-ordering the preceding dishes. But, do expect to be blown away by culinary art and artifice in its full glory. It would be hard to single out one dish for praise because it's all fabulous. Some of the desserts lovingly crafted by pastry chef Jason were stunning,especially the fruit concoction with a sort of sake mousse ( I think but I could be dreaming ). But, for me, the tiny ceviche with a kick like a mule was the stand out experience. Highly recommended, not just for the food, but for the all-round experience. But, don't expect all this to come cheap. We paid just short of 19,000 baht (about £360) for 6 including drinks and service. Not bad for London, expensive for Bangkok. But then, how can you put a price on fine art?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertsclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Director of Restaurants at KU DE TA Signature Restaurant - CLOSED, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Robertsclubman,

I wish to take the opportunity on behalf of the team at Signature restaurant to thank you for writing such a in depth and descriptive review of our restaurant. The team and I are very happy to have read this account of your experience at KUDETA and I can say from the chef to the front of house we are very pleased you went away with these positive feelings.
We invite you back in the future for a repeat visit and look forward to another review of such imagination!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fusion excellence”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Amazing fusion restaurant overlooking the city of Bangkok (40th floor)
Menu interesting and with high variety of food (fish, meat, veg). High level of service by waiters at a reasonable price!
I tried the excellent oysters trio, yellowfin, strip loin in an interesting Asian style and a surprising dessert mixing berries white chocolate and salted tofu!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Director of Restaurants at KU DE TA Signature Restaurant - CLOSED, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Roberto D,

I wish to thank you for your trip advisor review on our venue here.
We are very happy you found the food and flavor combinations to your taste, albeit the service and view from restaurant.
Its our pleasure to invite you back to dine with us anytime!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fabulous Experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Had one of the best dinners in Bangkok, the food is delicious, the staff is so nice and professional. Will be back next time I'm in Bangkok.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank 684ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Director of Restaurants at KU DE TA Signature Restaurant - CLOSED, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear 684ruth,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our Signature restaurant. We are very happy you enjoy both the food and service. As suggested, please revisit the next time you are around in Bangkok.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KU DE TA Signature Restaurant - CLOSED also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing